Aidan O Shea's interview!

Don't know the lad, don't know what kind of character he is but he is spot on about his criticism of the RTE analysis.
IMO it is incredibly lazy and am really looking forward to seeing what sky can do to improve it.
I am sick of the same 3 auld lads on the Sunday Game harping on about how the game has changed and they want to see more kick passes instead of analysing the modern game and the game that has just been played.
They should be pulling up stats like how many times a ball is carried into a tackle (O'Shea might not like that one), how many interceptions from players and just in general analysing the match rather than comparing it to football 30 years ago.

Also, I think O'Shea is dead right about the plaudits the hurlers get over the footballers, just in general, no particular match or incident stands out at the moment. This might be just a fact that last years hurling championship is standing out in my mind.

bobby_shane (Dublin) - Posts: 106 - 16/04/2014 14:12:38    1575974

Have lost count how many times I have read on this forum that GAA players don't open up to the media. The odd time a guy does he's told to "shut up and concentrate on playing his football".....would love to see more lads coming out and telling us what they actually think, good, bad or indifferent! I commend the boy's honesty!

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 16/04/2014 14:24:53    1575980

"Shut mouth catches no flies"

Christy Browns Da, My Left Foot!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 16/04/2014 15:19:52    1576008

Sportsfan, none of us in Mayo want him to shut up and not talk to the media. But we can see the makings of fine footballer and we'd love to work on his footbal to maximise his potential. He's smart enough to not let any media stuff interfere with that.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 16/04/2014 15:36:47    1576016

I agree with him about the present structure of the championship. It has far outlived it's usefulness but unlike the Sky deal will probably take another 30 years before we have a fair and properly structured championship. maybe if we Dubs win 8 out of 10 like Kilkenny in hurling something would happen!!!

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 16/04/2014 16:42:58    1576058

I tend to agree with him . Personally I think there is a nasty and snobbish undercurrent to a lot of the RTE analysis and a lot of their bashing of players , managers and counties is well below the belt . It's an amateur game and most of the competitors are trying their best with the (mostly limited) resources at their disposal - no need for personal attacks . They seem to have an unhealthy influence on the direction of the sport as well with regard to the recent agenda for rule changes while completely choosing to ignore the elephant in the room - definition of the tackle and the standard of refereeing . Time to change the tune!!! Also their website leaves a lot to be desired with regards GAA content and as for the Aertel pages! I understand there's a bit of logistical and financial restraints concerned with sending a camera and a reporter round the country but could they not have someone type a few up to date scores on games on their website?

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/04/2014 18:38:19    1576116

He's dead right about a lot of stuff - most of Aiden's generation see the championship structures and even the intercounty model as being flawed. Even as an amatuer association if we are to compete with other sports we need a streamlined championship and in the future that will mean a mix of the strong counties, at least two Dublin teams (only in football), and regional teams representing less populated areas - a Super 24 perhaps?

RTE need to freshen up. O'Rourke and Spillane are unbearable but the reason gaelic football comes in for so much criticism is because there are real technical problems in the game. Every game I watch it's clear that 15-a-side is just too much, why haven't we looked at 13-a-side? Why are we still punishing players for touching the ball on the ground? Why are there so many running mauls in the game, so much charging and over-carrying? The black card deters rugby tackling but it doesn't reward good tackling, why not introduce a 3 step rule?

Take FIFA, every rule change they have implemented has been sound and well thought through and contributes to a very fluid, simple game. We've a lot of catching up to do.

HighKing81 (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 17/04/2014 12:49:00    1576301

Take FIFA, every rule change they have implemented has been sound and well thought through and contributes to a very fluid, simple game. We've a lot of catching up to do.

The GAA should take the most corrupt sporting organisation in the world as an example of how to run a sport? I think you're joking, but i'm not 100% certain? You're right about soccer becoming simple though, almost to the extent that it can't be compared to other sports in terms of athleticism anymore. I've better advice for the GAA, look at everything FIFA do and then go and do the exact opposite. That's how we'll keep our ship in order.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 17/04/2014 13:09:21    1576312

Some interesting posts from those who read the article in it's entirety. He is correct about a few things, some counties will never ever win an all ireland in it's present format but then again some countries will never win a World Cup in soccer and that doesn't stop them entering. Should amalgamations be looked at so as to create an even championship. As for RTE there is a laziness in the type of coverage they bring, short passing has over taken kick passing for decades now and that panel is still yearning for the style of yesteryear, looking back on it misty eyed when in fact alot of those games were error riddled spectacles. Dunphy is at the same in soccer forgetting that each team has cover the smallest detail to make their team perform at their best, this thing of throwing in a catch and kick merchant is gone if he is lacking athletic ability, the nous to be a team player within a system and and a sharpness in the thought process. The punditry is akin to get war fare specialists who served during Cromwell's time to dissect what the British army are doing now in Afghanistan. Different times so the pundits should be those who have been involved in the game recently.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 17/04/2014 13:16:20    1576316

If they split Dublin in 2 I would never go to watch a Gaa inter county game ever again.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/04/2014 14:09:42    1576334

17/04/2014 12:49:00
HighKing81

He's dead right about a lot of stuff - most of Aiden's generation see the championship structures and even the intercounty model as being flawed. Even as an amatuer association if we are to compete with other sports we need a streamlined championship and in the future that will mean a mix of the strong counties, at least two Dublin teams (only in football), and regional teams representing less populated areas - a Super 24 perhaps?

RTE need to freshen up. O'Rourke and Spillane are unbearable but the reason gaelic football comes in for so much criticism is because there are real technical problems in the game. Every game I watch it's clear that 15-a-side is just too much, why haven't we looked at 13-a-side? Why are we still punishing players for touching the ball on the ground? Why are there so many running mauls in the game, so much charging and over-carrying? The black card deters rugby tackling but it doesn't reward good tackling, why not introduce a 3 step rule?

I am at a loss as to why you watch the game at all , is there anything positive you like , you have fundamentally changed the game , three step rule , pick off the ground , 13 a side , and you quote rugby and soccer as the way forward , really ! ! Your amongst those that want a hybrid game pulling from other codes , constantly noticing the so called better aspects and wanting to apply them to our sport as if its that easy . Our game has its flaws but I wouldn't be looking at one of the most corrupt organisations who have as good as produced a non contact sports as my inspiration for ideas .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/04/2014 14:13:30    1576337

If they split Dublin in 2 I would never go to watch a Gaa inter county game ever again.

Agreed , how do divide loyalty ? Take tradition accomplishments and just walk all over , some will stoop at no ends to satisfy their own yearnings .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/04/2014 14:48:00    1576357

All for a fella having a point of view but I agree with very little of what he had to say.

I don't see pay for play coming in as the money simply isn't there & the GAA would be very aware that money given to "stars" is denied to clubs. It also opens the door to a type of elitism which I can't see garnering much favour.

What I could see happening is players being allowed to benefit from sponsorship deals & better levels of support & medical care for all county players.

As for the franchise idea, not in my lifetime or my children's either.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/04/2014 17:41:10    1576482

Fair play to him! Too many players in recent years are afraid or unable or are obeying orders and thus have said nothing of any note when interviewed! Great to have a young man speak his mind.
Its amazing all the responses to his article on this forum!

Are people mindreaders or what?
A bit of fresh air has been added thanks to the towering midfielder form Mayo! Well done lad!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 17/04/2014 20:58:27    1576558

Anyone got a link to the full article - I only read the one on HS . Seems he said a lot more .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 17/04/2014 21:17:36    1576568

RebelCork

"I've better advice for the GAA, look at everything FIFA do and then go and do the exact opposite. That's how we'll keep our ship in order."

Yes, FIFA are horribly corrupt but they have looked after the technical side of the game and done everything required - remember the back-pass to the keeper? Studs high challenges? Restrictive offside rulings? All gone from the game.

Damothedub - I haven't suggested anything different to what the Football Development Committee recommended over ten years ago. Remember when you had to take free-kicks from the ground? Big improvement nowadays. As for the 3 step rule, it's very necessary I believe - as a defender you just don't get enough opportunities to tackle cleanly, the black card compounds that. The alternative would be to go with the Aussie tackle - something that would be fundamentally alien to our game. Gaelic football is a diamond in the rough but it still needs a lot of polishing. I don't watch rugby by the way.

As for O'Shea's comments on regional teams - again this was all suggested by the FDC over ten years ago. It's the way forward. Very few counties can compete in both codes. Demographics have to be taken into account. The championship doesn't get really competitive untill the quarter-final stage, that's not good enough if you're going to compete with rugby and soccer. Two Dublin football teams (not hurling), is realistic, might be the best thing to every happen to Dubin GAA. Dublin is already an amalgamtion of several counties and the city anyway.

HighKing81 (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 18/04/2014 10:49:14    1576646

Yes, FIFA are horribly corrupt but they have looked after the technical side of the game and done everything required - remember the back-pass to the keeper? Studs high challenges? Restrictive offside rulings? All gone from the game.

Diving, biting, racism (and that's just one players's antics!) and a generally boring product are still problems in the game. Can you name any other sport where one player is able to do all that and still remains a hero to so many? It's comical. Where's their brilliant rule changes to stop this? But look, i suppose since nobody's passing back to the keeper or getting injured from studs anymore then FIFA must be doing a brilliant job. Laughable to suggest the GAA could learn anything off soccer.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 18/04/2014 11:58:40    1576673

I hope AOS reads the various articles that are being written about the thoughts he has expressed in the interview and realises that regardless of what you actually say, people will spin it to suit themselves or whatever angle they want to push. The general consensus in them is that he himself wants to be paid, even though he specifically stated he expects nothing of the sort in his time. I read another article which stated that this is the reason mayo lost the final to dublin and why he didnt win POTY! Because the guy gave an honest interview and didnt talk a load of crap like everyone else does? It is a sad state of affairs when someone actually speaks their mind and doesnt give us the party-line that this is the way they are treated. But that is the world we live in and he should have known better. however, I do hope he remembers each journalist that did so, and never gives any of them an interview for the rest of his career.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/04/2014 15:54:30    1576764

Ive been an avid supporter of the almagamation of counties,especially the weaker ones,for a long time.Call it franchises or whatever but I was glad to see some prominent player agreeing with this.It will happen,no doubt about it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/04/2014 16:08:01    1576778

Just read the full interview now . Don't think there was a whole lot controversial in it . Don't agree with his franchise or amalgamation vision - who would pay in to watch that? Ultimately these thing will be decided by the will of the GAA paying punter , if there's a need for it it would happen but can't see it . Other option of course would be if there was a huge influx of TV revenue but only the UK market could realistically fuel this and again while the Sky deal may spread viewership I can't see it capturing the imagination of the UK public . He's entitled to his views though but I wonder how much of them are his own or how much he has been influenced by the vision of the GPA .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 18/04/2014 17:36:46    1576803