Stop favouring the Dubs! - Leinster & Central.

I have been a frequent commentator on this issue, more so regarding league fixtures than championship, but yes the majority of this problem lies with Leinster Council although as I says previously I was less than impressed with the conduct of the Dublin County Board or Leinster Council regarding the recent U21 final. Leinster Q/Finals do not need to be in Croke Park and grounds like Portlaoise, Nowlan Park, Wexford Park (and hopefully in the not too distant future a revamped Pairc Tailteann) have capacity to deal with these fixtures even with the Dubs involved, indeed I would argue that depending on the opposition that Dublin could play semi finals outside of Croker too although this would be less common. The issue with league games really ticked me off, the recent phenomenon of Dublin playing 5 out of 7 league games in Croke Park, aided by the wilting Lilly's in Kildare, made a mockery of the competition and should never have been allowed to happen. Dublin could play their part here too by declaring a desire to play outside Croker, this year offers a perfect opportunity so maybe it's not just other counties who should raise their voice, Dublin's voice is louder than most and carries weight and by bringing even one match down the country would give one town somewhere a hell of a days takings, no it won't end the recession but it would ease the stress off the shoulders of many in business in some town.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/04/2014 11:45:51    1575892

chriscart580

A Few Points:

1. Dubs Fans Want to play away from Home but Leinster Council/Gaa do not give them the opertunity
2. Dublin Play Laois or Wicklow this year which i would expect them to win. So that would only give them one away game before back in Croke Park. Hardly going to Drag the Country out of recession now is it?
3. Unless in League, O'Byrne Cup or U-21 i wouldn't want Meath to Play Dublin anywhere else other than Croke Park.
4. People say its an Advantage to Them. It is Not. They are just a great Team (Kills me saying that)
5. If they played away from home they would still probably bring more Fans than the home team so people saying the number of Fans in Croke Park gives them a lift are forgetting that it would happen in any ground anywhere in the country bar maybe a few.

Someone made the point that there is not a ground in Leinster that has the Capacity to hold Dubs fans + Other fans for an away day for the Dubs and judging by the League Attendences they are correct. Most of the Fans in Croke park for League games were Dubs. That will multiply come Championship so 25000 Capacity will not be enough.

No Matter what people are saying or thinking this Thread has been brought up over and over again. Just because it's worded Different doesn't mean it's the not the Same Thread. I for one still live for the great Days when Meath beat Dublin in Croke Park, Not that it happens much these days but Hope is a great thing

great post and that was me made the point I think haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/04/2014 11:46:05    1575893

@Richieq

Very unfair on Kildare what you are saying. Kildare CB is in debt, if playing Dublin in Croke Park or playing a double header against someone else on the same billing is financially better for them, why wouldn't they wanna play in Croke Park.

Dublin are one county, have little influence on the hierarchy in the GAA. Hence the poor ticket allocation for last years AI Final.

Why would Dublin declare an interest in travelling down the country!? Dublin fans don't mind travelling, but selectors and the county board don't have to declare an interest in anything. If we are told we are going to travel, we will travel. It's out of our hands. Stamped addressed envelope to Leinster Council please......ask them why Dublin aren't travelling?!

Note: Plenty of Dublin fans have been on the road for hurling the last few years. So we do a fair bit of travelling. And away league football games.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 16/04/2014 13:16:16    1575950

I am generally not too bothered about this. This in an advantage that Dublin have had for as long as I can remember if you are considering the key games though I do understand the argument for taking them away for early round championship games but then these are probably the ones they are going to come through fairly handy so apart from local economy boosts and giving the opposition a better chance it may not make a massive difference to their appearance in a Leinster final.

If there is a case to be put against Dublin playing the majority of their games at home then probably the wrong time to do it is now when they have had a bit of recent success and the hype around them is massive thus making it look more like sour grapes.

With regards the hype, yes they are a fine team but they also have weaknesses but as ever with Dublin a couple of wins and the excitement grows, All Irelands are won in June and more often than not they are left doing a post mortem as to how they lost a match around QF/SF stage which are always going to be in Croke anyway.

I reckon come the end of the summer when they have not lived up to the hype a lot of the objection to them playing at home will have died down.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 16/04/2014 13:41:42    1575959

sure was only 2 weeks ago that the opposing team were giving out that the under 21 final was not played in dublin haha
we cannot win

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/04/2014 14:42:27    1575989

Dubliners: We're damned if we do, and we're damned if we don't!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/04/2014 14:54:54    1575996

Think this has come to its natural conclusion

The same conclusion as the last 10 times this exact topic has been discussed

The exact same points, the exact same logic, the exact same conclusions

Until the next time this comes up...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/04/2014 15:20:32    1576009

Keep hoping Naysayer!, maybe light a few candles :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/04/2014 15:29:27    1576011

Here is a question, if dublin crave these away games like people say, then why dont they get onto their county board about it?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/04/2014 15:33:28    1576012

Naysayer

The hype is completely justified.

Just like the lack of expectations in Antrim is completely justified.

This Dublin team won a treble last year and have won 2 of the last 3 All Ireland titles

They are playing in their 4th National final since 2011

Hype is going to happen... because that's what comes with outstanding performance

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/04/2014 15:35:56    1576015

Here is a question, if dublin crave these away games like people say, then why dont they get onto their county board about it?

Because we don't have to... we play plenty of away games every year across both codes.

You'd swear we played every game at home

The overwhelming support for Dublin playing away from Croke Park is coming from the country - not from within Dublin by Dublin supporters

Thus making is far more logical for said supporters voicing their opinions on a national level to enforce change

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/04/2014 15:43:32    1576023

the master
we dont crave an away game we get our fair share of them in the league like every other team
we just are not in opposition to playing a championship game outside of croker

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/04/2014 15:44:06    1576024

Master

But we're in the minority. We need the 30 odd other County boards to do it.

The inaction of the culchie County boards isn't the fault of the Dublin County Board. If the country County boards wanted Dublin on the road it would happen as yous have the power. It's 30 odd against 1!

The question I've asked is yet to be answered for some reason so I'll ask again, why do the 30 odd County boards not do anything about it when it's clearly in their power?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 16/04/2014 15:52:49    1576030

WE arent craving away games, if thats where we are drawn to play then we will. Heres another question themaster. If so many people like yourself are in opposition to dubs in croker DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT! Hassle your county board, start a feckin petition hell go door tp door if you have to. Just for the love of god stop flogging a dead horse here.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/04/2014 15:55:27    1576032

hill16no1man

sure was only 2 weeks ago that the opposing team were giving out that the under 21 final was not played in dublin haha
we cannot win

Incorrect again!!!! We were giving out about it being played in Portlaoise, twisting reality again I see....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/04/2014 15:59:58    1576037

The question I've asked is yet to be answered for some reason so I'll ask again, why do the 30 odd County boards not do anything about it when it's clearly in their power?

It is not in their power, Leinster Council for years now have rebuked any suggestions about venue changes for Dublin or anyone else, money dictates not common sense or fairness. They have ignored Meath for years about getting games into Navan and that was well before the health & safety crowd raised concerns and ultimately shut half of it down, Leinster Council want the Dubs happy, they will never admit to that but that is the scenario and those that get promoted into Leinster Council soon change their tune from fighting for their counties interests and realise what side their bread is buttered on and the importance of the big blue cash cow, just the way it is so don't be thinking counties can change this, they can't not at present anyway

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/04/2014 16:07:45    1576042

Leinster Council want the Dubs happy, they will never admit to that but that is the scenario

Hear say and unfounded rubbish.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/04/2014 16:20:18    1576047

Oh m

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/04/2014 16:33:31    1576053

Oh master I've tried, believe me, but I got no answer from Kettle, think he was on his tea or something, now put it away until the next time :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/04/2014 16:35:22    1576054

As a matter of interest purely (because I genuinely don't mind the Dubs being in Croker), presuming that most Dubs here are old enough to have attended away championship games, what was your favourite venues outside of Dublin and why?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/04/2014 16:42:16    1576057