Stop favouring the Dubs! - Leinster & Central.

So master you want to debate just for the sake of the debating? Be my guest!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 15/04/2014 21:07:58    1575742

Should be "Stop Targeting the Dubs!" - between the GAA HQ and Leinster and everyone else bleeding us fans dry. Somehow we are supposed to stop playing In Croke Park to stimulate economic growth in Rural Ireland!! The only people Sky want on their TV is Dubs, the only ones who keep the show on the road. I just hope the DCB see sense and put the County first. GAA would be nothing without Dublin

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 15/04/2014 21:12:57    1575744

Nothing better then playing the Dubs in Croker in full of a packed hill.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 15/04/2014 21:19:20    1575748

MesAmis, Im not sure. It is probably more of a GAA thing than individual county boards. To me it makes no sense on any level, and is probably costing them more to put it on in croke park than it would in a smaller ground. I think it would add something to the league if I am honest. A smaller ground almost full would add to the atmosphere massively.

joxer, imagine having to do that every second week, every time you play a quarter, semi or final and every time you play dublin - welcome to the world of the non-dublin gaa fan

superbluedub, if you think it is going round in circles then dont worry yourself with it.

realdub, isnt that what every thread on this site consists of? I dont remember the posters of HS doing anything other than debating issues for the sake of it... All of a sudden this becomes an issue when a topic arises that cuts close to the bone. The reality is Im not even having a go at dublin at all, nor was the guy who started the thread.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2014 21:28:09    1575749

dubs home ground is parnell park end of story bro

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 15/04/2014 21:47:31    1575763

1575749 MesAmis, Im not sure. It is probably more of a GAA thing than individual county boards. To me it makes no sense on any level, and is probably costing them more to put it on in croke park than it would in a smaller ground. I think it would add something to the league if I am honest. A smaller ground almost full would add to the atmosphere massively.

joxer, imagine having to do that every second week, every time you play a quarter, semi or final and every time you play dublin - welcome to the world of the non-dublin gaa fan

superbluedub, if you think it is going round in circles then dont worry yourself with it.

realdub, isnt that what every thread on this site consists of? I dont remember the posters of HS doing anything other than debating issues for the sake of it... All of a sudden this becomes an issue when a topic arises that cuts close to the bone. The reality is Im not even having a go at dublin at all, nor was the guy who started the thread.

Master, the truth is it isn't close to the bone, Dub posters get fed up with this topic because there is nothing we can do about the situation we are in and nearly all Dub supporters want away matches in championship.
Theres nothing wrong with constructive criticism but you don't usually get it in a debate about the Dubs and croker, hence most Dubs just like myself just think here we go again.
I think counties should make representation to GAA and let their voices be heard , I would agree more grounds around the country should be used for big matches and it should be looked at. The distance some fans are asked to travel at times certainly doesn't make sense ,but its the GAA hierarchy that stand accused not us.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/04/2014 22:00:18    1575773

A Few Points:

1. Dubs Fans Want to play away from Home but Leinster Council/Gaa do not give them the opertunity
2. Dublin Play Laois or Wicklow this year which i would expect them to win. So that would only give them one away game before back in Croke Park. Hardly going to Drag the Country out of recession now is it?
3. Unless in League, O'Byrne Cup or U-21 i wouldn't want Meath to Play Dublin anywhere else other than Croke Park.
4. People say its an Advantage to Them. It is Not. They are just a great Team (Kills me saying that)
5. If they played away from home they would still probably bring more Fans than the home team so people saying the number of Fans in Croke Park gives them a lift are forgetting that it would happen in any ground anywhere in the country bar maybe a few.

Someone made the point that there is not a ground in Leinster that has the Capacity to hold Dubs fans + Other fans for an away day for the Dubs and judging by the League Attendences they are correct. Most of the Fans in Croke park for League games were Dubs. That will multiply come Championship so 25000 Capacity will not be enough.

No Matter what people are saying or thinking this Thread has been brought up over and over again. Just because it's worded Different doesn't mean it's the not the Same Thread. I for one still live for the great Days when Meath beat Dublin in Croke Park, Not that it happens much these days but Hope is a great thing

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 16/04/2014 08:59:00    1575783

Just seen a Pathe News clip of the 1934 All Ireland Final between Dublin & Galway on the journal.ie, commentator refers to Dublin as the "home team", looks like the GAA knew their cash cows in the 30's too, I had to laugh

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/04/2014 09:03:11    1575784

From what I recall Dublin beat Tyrone in Omagh!!! That's not CROKE PARK.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 16/04/2014 09:39:16    1575799

chriscart580

A Few Points:

1. Dubs Fans Want to play away from Home but Leinster Council/Gaa do not give them the opertunity
2. Dublin Play Laois or Wicklow this year which i would expect them to win. So that would only give them one away game before back in Croke Park. Hardly going to Drag the Country out of recession now is it?
3. Unless in League, O'Byrne Cup or U-21 i wouldn't want Meath to Play Dublin anywhere else other than Croke Park.
4. People say its an Advantage to Them. It is Not. They are just a great Team (Kills me saying that)
5. If they played away from home they would still probably bring more Fans than the home team so people saying the number of Fans in Croke Park gives them a lift are forgetting that it would happen in any ground anywhere in the country bar maybe a few.

Someone made the point that there is not a ground in Leinster that has the Capacity to hold Dubs fans + Other fans for an away day for the Dubs and judging by the League Attendences they are correct. Most of the Fans in Croke park for League games were Dubs. That will multiply come Championship so 25000 Capacity will not be enough.

No Matter what people are saying or thinking this Thread has been brought up over and over again. Just because it's worded Different doesn't mean it's the not the Same Thread. I for one still live for the great Days when Meath beat Dublin in Croke Park, Not that it happens much these days but Hope is a great thing
_________

Good post.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/04/2014 09:51:35    1575808

fingalman

Bejaysus I don't remember Dublin winning a championship game up in Omagh against Tyrone, certainly not in the last few years anyway, when was that game?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/04/2014 09:55:35    1575810

Master, obviously I agree with the OP, hence my other post, nothing to do with close to the bone, ridiculous thing to say when most of us would love to travel to away matches. Going back over the same old ground time and time again does not make for good debate, it makes for boredom. How you have the appetite to go on and on and on about the same thing astounds me. I don't disagree with your sentiments I just don't need to repeat myself a million times, enjoy this original debate :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/04/2014 10:01:45    1575813

Chriscart

Ye good post, I have to agree with you, nobody was complaining about the Dubs in Croker when Kerry and Tyrone were cleaning up so why do it now. Also as I've said before, there's nowhere else I'd want Meath to play Dublin, Croke Park is the only venue for championship games between us two.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/04/2014 10:03:43    1575814

Thats because Meath never look for excuses when Dubs beat them and vice versa. If you're good enough it doesnt matter where its played. And for years dubs werent good enough. Now we are good enough and its become a huge issue. I understand the gripe for sure but its misdirected frustration at the dubs.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/04/2014 10:27:29    1575824

Dublin's opening game against Wicklow or Laois should be outside Croke park. I don't think anyone would object to that and as the OP says, the fall in crowds over last few years in Croke Park defeat the argument that only Croke Park could hold the crowd. Either game would pack out either Portlaoise if it was Laois or Dr. Cullen Park or Nowland Park if it were Wicklow.

The recession and the fact that Dublin have won All Irelands make it highly unlikely that early round Leinster games - other than maybe against Meath - would get over 50,000, let alone fill the place as they did for years.

So no objections from Dublin, but it is the Leinster Council's call not Dublin's.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/04/2014 10:42:38    1575836

Have to pick you up on this point as you are using the term "GAA fan"

Dublin played once in wexford park and twice in O'Moore park (where we finally beat Kilkenny) in the Leinster Hurling Championship last year. We had one "HOME" game in parnell park and then the final was in Croke Park..

This year in the league we had two home games in Parnell Park and three away games.. In the relegation decider we had to play Waterford AWAY again, the same team we had already played in Walsh Park and who finished below us...

So in the last 10 Competitive games Dublin have played excluding the league final which was in Croke Park, 7 of them have been in away venues and 3 in Parnell park.

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 16/04/2014 10:47:55    1575839

Nothin' better than beatin' de Dubs in Croker. It's only recently become a rarity that this happens. As for the point of the thread, the GAA need to take a serious look at their whole approach to IC fixtures. Was at the Kildare/Offaly, Dublin/Westmeath double header last year in Croker and could not understand why Kildare/Offaly was played there. Brought no more than 10K (probably less) and should have been in Tullamore or Newbridge, where you would have a better crowd and atmosphere. Donegal Vs Cavan in U21 played in Armagh just doesn't make any sense at all. Probably loads of other examples out there. These days in the championship, no reason for Meath to be Croker against anyone apart from Dublin or Kildare as the numbers don't justify it. Even Vs Kildare could probably be played in Tullamore/Portlaoise with no bother.
Fact is folks is that the Dubs are the only crowd puller in Leinster at the moment and aside from Nowlan park there isn't a ground with the capacity outside of Corker in Leinster to take their supporters.
I'd expect no more than 45K at the Leinster final regardless of opposition to Dublin and that's 90% Dubs.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 16/04/2014 10:50:30    1575842

Master

But why aren't the county boards doing anything about it? If they all got together then it wouldn't take long to sort out a situation that put the Dubs on the road. If all the county boards in Leinster wanted the Dubs outta Croker then the Leinster Council would of course act upon that.

Same goes for the county boards in the rest of the country. Therein lies the power if they want change. Central council would have to comply.

The question really here is why the 30 odd County boards aren't doing anything?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 16/04/2014 10:59:52    1575854

Galway hurlers are the opposite, in that it nearly takes an act of god to get a home game in the championship in Salthill. The Leinster Council won't allow that either. I think they are the barrier to this - I am sure Dubs fans would love nothing more than an away game, as it is great fun, and mixes things up a bit. Dublin fans can't be held to blame for the fact that they are the capital, and have more people than anyone else, and so are used as a cash cow by the GAA. That being said, I do think they should play away (if necessary) in the early rounds in Leinster, as it would be a great fillup for both their fans, and the team they are playing.

Simply put I love nothing more than playing Mayo in Salthill (last year excepted) - but I would hate to have to play them there every single time. I would miss Castlebar, and the craic there, the trip up etc.

The arrangement as it stands has Dubs fans as pawns - so people should leave them off!

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 16/04/2014 11:02:05    1575859

I have been a frequent commentator on this issue, more so regarding league fixtures than championship, but yes the majority of this problem lies with Leinster Council although as I says previously I was less than impressed with the conduct of the Dublin County Board or Leinster Council regarding the recent U21 final. Leinster Q/Finals do not need to be in Croke Park and grounds like Portlaoise, Nowlan Park, Wexford Park (and hopefully in the not too distant future a revamped Pairc Tailteann) have capacity to deal with these fixtures even with the Dubs involved, indeed I would argue that depending on the opposition that Dublin could play semi finals outside of Croker too although this would be less common. The issue with league games really ticked me off, the recent phenomenon of Dublin playing 5 out of 7 league games in Croke Park, aided by the wilting Lilly's in Kildare, made a mockery of the competition and should never have been allowed to happen. Dublin could play their part here too by declaring a desire to play outside Croker, this year offers a perfect opportunity so maybe it's not just other counties who should raise their voice, Dublin's voice is louder than most and carries weight and by bringing even one match down the country would give one town somewhere a hell of a days takings, no it won't end the recession but it would ease the stress off the shoulders of many in business in some town.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/04/2014 11:37:40    1575885