Derry V Dublin: 2014 NFL Div 1 League final

that cute enigmatic little smile of his

Ahh here...

clondalkin's love for ROC pales into insignifigance beside my admiration for JMcG

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/04/2014 15:54:24    1575046

Not at all Muck

I think it's quite obvious that Dublin's subs are better than Donegal's and have a far bigger impact on games

They'd easily start for Donegal.

I think it's obvious that we have the better panel of players and if it's a close game this will prove to be very helpful

Your starting 15 wont last the pace against Dublin and you dont have the bench to strenghten your hand

Dublin do.

I think it's obvious that Donegal's lack of depth showed them up very badly last year...

Jim Gavin is a far more decorated manager and has brought Dublin to a NFL final in 2014 - Donegal got relegated in 2013 as AI champs

The black card will greatly reduce Donegal's defensive setup against a team like Dublin

We've got a lot and far more accomplished since 2011

Donegal are nowhere near the team they were in 2012...

Playing DIV 2 football has gone to your head I think...

You have better forwards in your panel true, but our backs are better.

David Moyes would be successful with the players at Gavin's disposal. JMcG has achieved great things with a much smaller pick.

The black card hasn't affected us at all, we got one in the 7 games of the National League

Any team would have been badly affected by the injuries we had last year, Take ROC, Connolly & MDMA out of that Dublin team & you would crumble.

Yes Dublin are better than 2011 but Donegal have strengthened since 2012, are a couple of years older & wiser & have lost only Ryan Bradley.

All to play for.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/04/2014 16:01:47    1575051

Hahaha v good...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 16:07:47    1575055

jimbo, a lot of what you say is true, we don't have the same squad depth and perhaps we aren't the same team as 2012. But have you seen players like Ryan McHugh, Odhrán MacNíallais and the rejeuvenated Christy Toye in action this year yet?

If, and it's a big if, Dublin slept-walked for a first half in the Championship against Donegal, and surrenedered a similar lead as they did yesterday against Cork, would you be as confident that Dublin would claw it back?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 14/04/2014 16:09:40    1575058

Lockjaw

jimbo, a lot of what you say is true, we don't have the same squad depth and perhaps we aren't the same team as 2012. But have you seen players like Ryan McHugh, Odhrán MacNíallais and the rejeuvenated Christy Toye in action this year yet?

If, and it's a big if, Dublin slept-walked for a first half in the Championship against Donegal, and surrenedered a similar lead as they did yesterday against Cork, would you be as confident that Dublin would claw it back?

Donegal IMO are incapable of going 10 points clear of Dublin.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 16:17:04    1575066

Lads... ye shouldn't be concerning yourselves with Dublin

We'll only meet you in a qualifier... because you boys wont be winning Ulster this year

Donegals defense was blown away a few times last year... you're no supermen and playing in Div 2 wont expose much at this time of year

Even at your most defensive... Dublin found a way with a less talented pool of players

Caution is required lads... you're nowhere near 2012 level... and I don't think this team under Jim McG will ever be again

You peaked... and you've only gone down.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 16:21:11    1575068

Muck

Jim Gavin has had years with those players

Mnay of the current setup have gone through his U-2

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 16:28:58    1575074

Muck

Jim Gavin has had years with those players

Many of the current squad have gone through his U-21 teams

He's played a big part in crafting them into the players they are today

I'd have Jim Gavin any day of the week over Jim McG... by far and away a far more accomplished football man

No doubting Jim Mcs qualities... but it's not the football I want to see.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 16:33:01    1575077

I don't know why this has turned into a Dublin v Donegal debate, as clearly it's Dublin v Derry.

I can understand that many would love to have seen a Dublin v Donegal All Ireland final in 2013 ( 2011 Champions v 2012 Champions ), as despite what critics said after THAT 2011 SF game, It was actually a very Intriguing battle in many ways. To see Dublin score 8 points in a All Ireland Semi final was unheard of, and for that reason alone that game stands out.

But all that aside, Derry will be favourites to beat Donegal on May 25th and then favourites to win Ulster. This Derry team has improved considerably this year, and I think they are clearly the best team in Ulster at the moment.

I would still be cautious about writing Donegal off completely though. An up and coming team emerging from Division 2 would be a tad green to challenge for an All Ireland lacking experience and all.
Donegal however have 17 or 18 past Ulster and All Ireland winners

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 14/04/2014 17:51:27    1575125

Hopefully its a great final.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/04/2014 18:16:26    1575137

I'd have Jim Gavin any day of the week over Jim McG... by far and away a far more accomplished football man

It's a bit like comparing Guardiola and Mourinho. Maybe Guardiola's the more attack-minded and'principled' (though a lot of people dispute that, Pep's teams dive a lot etc) but Mourinho's maybe the more impressive considering he's managed relatively weaker teams. I still think McGuinness' achievement in 2012 was awesome by the way. I remember someone complaining to the Irish News when Mickey Harte was appointed Tyrone senior manager - "Mickey Mouse could've managed that Minor team to an all-Ireland" and maybe it's a bit like that with Gavin. He seems a pretty solid manager and very composed but Dublin are so talented right now it's hard to judge in a way. I don't mean that with any malice, he's made some good tactical moves as well. Horses for courses and all that, if McGuinness was managing this current Dublin team he'd probably not have a 2011 Donegal style..I think...

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 14/04/2014 18:29:23    1575146

hurlingdub referring to Derry players 'lying down'. Does he by any chance mean Cailean O'Boyle (punched on the side of the head as he caught a high ball and taken off concussed) or Mark Lynch (punched in the face as he was looking in the direction he had just played the ball)? I would be a great admirer of Philly McMahon, he's a fine player and a tough bit of stuff but he maybe needs to rely a wee bit less on Bernard Dunne for advice.
At the same time, Philly got his punishment on the day; that game is history, forget about it. The only reason I comment is that the phrase 'lying down' is grossly unfair on the Derrymen involved. Philly is a strong boy - if he punched me in the head I think I would go down. Maybe hurlingdub is made of sterner stuff!

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 14/04/2014 18:46:49    1575151

Garymac82 , agreed Donegal is for another day for both of us , as for Derry have said allready Im delighted to have you guys in the final , I dont believe in revenge blah blah , the match weeks ago will have very little relevance either , delighted to have Derry as we have not played a lot recently and something different to pose different problems for our squad , another game against Mayo I will be honest not overly appealing , bit more of an unknown quantity factor v Derry and that should have us on our toes .
Constantly new questions every time we play , will the real Dublin please stand up , the first half impersonators or the second half machine , looking forward to it we need somebody to give us a game in HQ for the full duration , this league campaigin while ultimatley a success has me scratching my head , questions too many for my liking .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/04/2014 19:24:32    1575178

Yeah, strange league campaign by us - Jekyll and Hyde stuff, very odd. Happy out tho!

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 14/04/2014 20:08:49    1575212

Great comeback by Dublin when it looked like curtains, as I said in my predations for NFL div 1 winners I predicted Dublin down to the fact that they have 2 teams that could compete in the all ireland series . It really is an embarrassment of riches that only other counties can be envious of. That being said I don't think cork will disappear like that again come championship time.

I digress, the topic is in relation to the final, Derry showed in the game in Celtic park that they could hold their own but our full back line was exposed that day on a tighter pitch, I'd fear for the worst in the Croker open space, McKaigue and McBride need to get tighter and Gerard O'Kane needs to stick to Alan brogan like glue. O'gara won every ball played into him. The only way we could stop this was in the centre and with doc now missing they'll suffer in primary possession and breaking up play though I have been impressed with Niall Holly's performances.

We need to be disciplined and keep our hands on the ball to have any chance, Derry are showing a team spirit and unity I haven't seen in a long long time.

It's another game before Donegal , a good run out in Croker , a good taster for the lads , and we still have one of the most naturally gifted footballers in the country in Sean Leo mcgoldrick

Let's hope it's a cracker.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 14/04/2014 20:48:19    1575237

The game against Cork didn't really tell us anything we didn't already know,

1. Going forward Dublin are magnificent & will destroy anyone who lets them play. They also have a raft of subs to bring into said forward line. So far so scary.

2. They are very ordinary in the backs & can be got at. Neither do they have the subs to improve things if injuries, suspensions or form dictate a change.

The really are a Jekyll & Hyde team as the two contrasting halves on Sunday showed.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/04/2014 08:32:01    1575291

Have to say last years div two final was as poor a contest as Id seen quality wise , I predicted both Westmeath and Derry would struggle against any div 1 opposiotion , in that context Im surprised to see Derry in this years final , also fair play havent been watching too many of their games but theres obviously been huge improvement . You are playing a different animal in a different venue in two weeks , how much Derry have improved will be revealed , think its a great game for both teams at this time of the year .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/04/2014 08:51:03    1575295

Again, a big if, but if your defence was as porous as it was on Sunday against a tuned in McFaddeen, Murphy and McBrearty I wouldn't be so sure.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 15/04/2014 10:19:53    1575330

Lockjaw

Again, a big if, but if your defence was as porous as it was on Sunday against a tuned in McFaddeen, Murphy and McBrearty I wouldn't be so sure.
_____

Don't be ridiculous man...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/04/2014 10:35:34    1575344

all this talk about dublins full back line being the cause of corks lead at half time is rubbish
some people on here are obviously being brian washed by the tv cameras it seems as anybody in croker on sunday will tell
you the reason cork were getting all the scores was down to our midfield.
neither mccauley or o mahony were tracking their men back
the way cork attack thy play a running possesion game where they run striaght at the defence from the middle of the park.
in the first half mccauley and o mahony didnt evn attempt to track their men back
which left the full backs helpless as you left with a decision of sticking with the man your marking or going out to close the guy
down coming in on goal,theres not much you can do in that position.
just because hurley or the others in the full forward line finished off the score hardly means its directly o carroll or the other corner backs faults. apart from the own goal and the point where o carroll misjudged the flight of the ball they were hardly at fault.
indeed in the second half once midfield got going phily mcmahon and johnny cooper both became free to burst forward time and again.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/04/2014 10:56:17    1575360