Derry V Dublin: 2014 NFL Div 1 League final

Muckross, going by your earlier comment, are you of the school of thought that Dublin dont have footballers, just athletes?

Really?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/04/2014 08:44:36    1574719

Liamwalkinstown

Muckross, going by your earlier comment, are you of the school of thought that Dublin dont have footballers, just athletes?

Really?

Liam, you have lost me there.

I think Dublin are a fine team & the best in the country at this moment in time.

They have a great combination of talent & athleticsm that will blow any team away in the right circumstances.

Do I think they are unbeatable? No I don't. I think the biggest danger to them is the hype that will inevitably come with performances like yesterday's.

They looked fantastic in the second half but during the first half they looked anything but,especially in the full back line, & Cluxton was also poor. I don't think the race for Sam is over yet.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/04/2014 11:08:15    1574800

I seen the second half of the Mayo Derry game from the Cusack stand and it looked like Derry were cuter . Their movement off the ball was excellent and there was always a man running off the shoulder , you would have thought it was Mayo with the 14 men. Derry took some classy scores and they dug in in the first 10 minutes after going down a man. Dublin have to sort out mid field Cluxton was forced into short kick outs in the first half and Cork exerted pressure from the off which meant that the forwards were starved of ball. Cork were very unfortunate to have the penalty awarded to them for what looked to be a slip by Brogan. The worrying thing for Dublin was how easy it was for the Cork forwards in the first half as the marking was non existent. I still think that Dublin will win but only if they play the 70 minutes turning up for the last 30 is not going to be good enough. Still the last four teams in the league all played attacking entertaining football. It was great to watch and will be interesting come the final stages of the AI weather the teams still play this loose attacking style or will shore up the defence.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 14/04/2014 11:18:08    1574811

Ulsterman if Derry physically got the better of Dublin in Celtic Park why were there so many of them lying around on the ground for a good portion of the second half?

I hope you are not suggesting that they were only pretending to be injured in order to disrupt play and waste time :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/04/2014 11:21:30    1574814

whisper it......but.........i am slightly concerned by Cluxton lately
no better man to prove me wrong if course and I still wouldnt swap him for all the tea in china, but, i just have seen a few things this spring have me slightly concerned. Hopefully it will prove unfounded

Tell ye what tho, as good as we look and as good as we are, we are an injury to MDMA away from a huge problem

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/04/2014 11:22:49    1574816

Just fatigue hurlingdub.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 14/04/2014 11:27:24    1574821

Can't see how yesterdays game would get the hype machine going. There were too many negatives to focus on.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 14/04/2014 11:32:26    1574825

Former- poster - WHAT YOU TALKING ABOUT WILLIS...!!!

Be careful what you wish for Former-poster.

We haven't hit top gear yet or fielded our strongest 15.

I really hope we meet you in Leinster and put an end to your jibber jabber.

Oh how the once mighty Meath have fallen to resort to We are not afraid of the Dubs etc etc.
All talk. Let us see who loses sleep after we meet eh.

Ye have to beat Kildare first...!!!

Incorrect, we have to beat Carlow first and if we cross that bridge we have to beat one from the trio of Louth, Westmeath or Kildare. Unlike some counties we are not presumptuous or cocky and take it all one step at a time. Oh and we were never afraid of the dubs, not this decade, the 00's, the 90's, the 80's, the 70's etc etc so we are not resorting to anything there. On the matter in hand I expect a very interesting league final with an ever improving Derry side up against the dual champions. Both sides in confident mode after yesterday's games and the league in general and both capable of good football and high scores, a win would do wonders for Derry as they prepare for Donegal but one feels that Dublin's strength in depth and powerful finishing will see them through

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/04/2014 12:30:19    1574861

Former poster

The usual Meath huff and guff... its all you have left...

We're not afraid of ye... yeah yeah ok

What do you want a medal...

If you don't fear us I can tell you now... we certainly don't fear this current meath team

I'd be more worried about Kildare if I was you man... a team more than capable of beating Meath

Far more on your level

Enjoy Div 2 again next year as we prepare for another National final

Talk about preparation for the summer ahead...

Also our Lucky goal in the 2nd half came about from an excellent Dublin move right from our half back line

Cork were very fortunate to be 8 points up at H/T today

Their 2nd goal was a shamble OG.. and Dublin kicked 5 poor wide's in that first half... very kickable scores

Cork were 10 points up today and ended up losing by 7...

We don't expect anyone to fear us... but having to listen to Meath lads trying to sound tough is starting to get tiresome

Because quite frankly... it sounds a like you're trying a little too hard...

We believe yiz...

For a man that doesn't appear to rate Meath or their chances that's some effort of a rant, go away for a trot around Dollymount or Howth and get a bit of fresh air into you, it sounds like you need it

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/04/2014 12:32:34    1574864

No contest unfortunately. Dublin by 7. Derry have made huge strides, but they won't live with the Dublin forwards.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 14/04/2014 12:43:14    1574875

To beat Dublin:

Tactically avoid a shoot-out at all costs. From Dublin kick outs push up high and compress space. In general play, funnel men back (blanket/puke style if you will), disrupt, tackle with extreme intensity and discipline. Counter attack like bejesus and be very economical with chances that are presented.

Repeat for 75 minutes.

Is there a team in Ireland fit/good enough to do this?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 14/04/2014 12:59:26    1574892

Lockjaw

To beat Dublin:

Tactically avoid a shoot-out at all costs. From Dublin kick outs push up high and compress space. In general play, funnel men back (blanket/puke style if you will), disrupt, tackle with extreme intensity and discipline. Counter attack like bejesus and be very economical with chances that are presented.

Repeat for 75 minutes.

Is there a team in Ireland fit/good enough to do this?

There is a team that could do this but their name slips my mind at the moment, starts with D..............

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/04/2014 13:12:57    1574907

Dublin will need to improve

But with players now starting to come together with more to follow

The team is stating to take shape... we'll have our U-21's back and I think we've found a few new lads that can make an impact in 2014

This Dublin team has a huge heart and whatever happens... our heads will not drop

Not this panel of players...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 13:18:50    1574911

Off course Dublin will win at a canter.

Sure everyone said Derry were joint favorites to go down, and they were right there....
They also said we wouldn't beat Mayo (especially after losing a man) and they were right there.......

Only a team like Dublin can come back against Cork. Its not as if we were 12 odd points down against them and nearly salvaged a draw......in Cork.

So as the experts say, we haven't a hope!

jamesjoyce (Derry) - Posts: 126 - 14/04/2014 13:29:51    1574918

I don't think Donegal have the panel to beat Dublin anymore

It's not 2011 anymore

They don't have the bench and once Donegal starts to make changes they become weaker

If anything Dublin become stronger

That's the big difference and if we meet and it's close with 15 minutes to go...we'll pull away

Donegals subs wouldn't get near the Dublin panel. Dublin's subs would start for Donegal....

Plus Gavin is a far better manager

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 13:36:31    1574926

Derry were favs to be relegated b4 the league started so tremendous credit to the team to reach the final,were progressing so another big game is a bonus to the players.With championship approaching its better than training games or challenge matches,id expect Derry to be huge underdogs but they will give it a go nothing to loose,the dubs are starting to find form so its a enormous challenge they blew cork away in a superb 15mins yesterday.We defeated kerry in 08 in the final so its not mission impossible.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 14/04/2014 13:53:37    1574943

I don't think Donegal have the panel to beat Dublin anymore

It's not 2011 anymore

They don't have the bench and once Donegal starts to make changes they become weaker

If anything Dublin become stronger

That's the big difference and if we meet and it's close with 15 minutes to go...we'll pull away

Donegals subs wouldn't get near the Dublin panel. Dublin's subs would start for Donegal....

Plus Gavin is a far better manager

Jimbo Jimbo,

The only thing I agree with you on is that it isn't 2011 anymore, as for the rest of it, I think yesterday has gone to your head a little.

A wee lie down in a dark room will work wonders.

I told JMcG what you said about him, he smiled that cute enigmatic little smile of his

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/04/2014 14:56:00    1574993

Jimbo, take a look at man city at present. All the players in the world, but they still lost on the big occasion. 6 months back if you were told liverpool would beat them in a shootout for the title with kompany at fault for 2 goals and aguero ineffective, you would have laughed out loud. The moral of this story - a lot can change in 6 months...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/04/2014 15:14:35    1575012

Not at all Muck

I think it's quite obvious that Dublin's subs are better than Donegal's and have a far bigger impact on games

They'd easily start for Donegal.

I think it's obvious that we have the better panel of players and if it's a close game this will prove to be very helpful

Your starting 15 wont last the pace against Dublin and you dont have the bench to strenghten your hand

Dublin do.

I think it's obvious that Donegal's lack of depth showed them up very badly last year...

Jim Gavin is a far more decorated manager and has brought Dublin to a NFL final in 2014 - Donegal got relegated in 2013 as AI champs

The black card will greatly reduce Donegal's defensive setup against a team like Dublin

We've got a lot and far more accomplished since 2011

Donegal are nowhere near the team they were in 2012...

Playing DIV 2 football has gone to your head I think...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 15:19:08    1575016

that cute enigmatic little smile of his

Ahh here...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 15:21:59    1575021