Derry V Dublin: 2014 NFL Div 1 League final

Lost 2 league games to cork which we probably deserved a draw from and against a Derry team with a 3rd string team, We have put one right today and will put the 2nd right in two weeks time.

Too hell with the begrudgers talking about a luck about the shot that came of the post for the first goal without mentioning cork extremely lucky 2nd goal.

if Dublin can bring that 2nd half performance to put together even a 50min or 60min performance there is not one team in Ireland who will beat them

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 13/04/2014 20:43:18    1574639

Now now Dubs learn some humility and manners; you won well today but Cork going down like fallen angels helped you along the way as well. I recall before the 2008 All Ireland quarter final with Tyrone the Dubs were boasting about the massive hammering they were going to dish out to Tyrone and well....the rest is history. As the Dubs found out a few weeks back Derry don't do mind games, intimidation and fear at all and are not the type of team to roll over and lie down to anyone especially Dublin. Derry can play seriously good football but they are also probably the toughest players in Ulster and never lose physical battles to anyone. They are big mountainy men from the Sperrins but with a touch of Messi about them. It will be a lot closer than people believe.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/04/2014 20:49:20    1574645

MichaelO.

I think they're significantly better than you do !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 13/04/2014 20:51:25    1574647

All this talk of Dublin being awful in the first half.

It was never a 8pt game at half time that score flattered Cork

They got a ridiculously fortunate goal and Dublin kicked some very bad wides.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 13/04/2014 20:56:27    1574652

Former poster

The usual Meath huff and guff... its all you have left...

We're not afraid of ye... yeah yeah ok

What do you want a medal...

If you don't fear us I can tell you now... we certainly don't fear this current meath team

I'd be more worried about Kildare if I was you man... a team more than capable of beating Meath

Far more on your level

Enjoy Div 2 again next year as we prepare for another National final

Talk about preparation for the summer ahead...

Also our Lucky goal in the 2nd half came about from an excellent Dublin move right from our half back line

Cork were very fortunate to be 8 points up at H/T today

Their 2nd goal was a shamble OG.. and Dublin kicked 5 poor wide's in that first half... very kickable scores

Cork were 10 points up today and ended up losing by 7...

We don't expect anyone to fear us... but having to listen to Meath lads trying to sound tough is starting to get tiresome

Because quite frankly... it sounds a like you're trying a little too hard...

We believe yiz...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/04/2014 21:02:56    1574657

Spillane in his book recalled the Irish Compromise Rules trip to Australia way back in the 80's. The Aussies were dishing out their usual rough stuff and the order went out from the sideline for Brian McGilligan of Derry to start "lamping them". I believe Brian duly obliged, was there ever a tougher bloke played the game? The Derry waaaaans only come out of the caves in the Sperrins in the spring in time for the football, seriously tough footballers.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/04/2014 21:12:34    1574662

Just to clarify the lead-up to Dublin's second goal was indeed a good move but fortunate it came back off the post and into McAuley's arms. It could easily have went wide. That's the fine margins that can make the difference.

Cork's goal was the result of bad goalkeeping. Lucky yes but it came as a result of a Dublin mistake.

I'm not sure I'd buy into the argument that Cork weren't worthy of their half-time lead. They dominated midfield and Hurley was giving O'Carroll a serious roasting. The full-back line was badly exposed. I would think those would be the obvious weaknesses which Dublin will be working on for the next game.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 13/04/2014 21:12:56    1574663

I'm only joking I've nothing but respect for Derry they were great today and Mark Lynch is class , I definitely think with Bradley back they'll have a major say in Ulster this year , even if he doesn't start what sub to bring on.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/04/2014 21:13:39    1574665

Dubs still on for another treble ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/04/2014 21:18:05    1574669

Former- poster - WHAT YOU TALKING ABOUT WILLIS...!!!

Be careful what you wish for Former-poster.

We haven't hit top gear yet or fielded our strongest 15.

I really hope we meet you in Leinster and put an end to your jibber jabber.

Oh how the once mighty Meath have fallen to resort to We are not afraid of the Dubs etc etc.
All talk. Let us see who loses sleep after we meet eh.

Ye have to beat Kildare first...!!!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 13/04/2014 21:25:31    1574676

Wasnt Derry very lucky that Mayo lost today.
who knows they might get lucky again

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 13/04/2014 21:31:02    1574680

Frmer poster

MDMc still had to kick it into the net

Which he did very well... in his own awkward sort of way

A Cork man didn't have to bother with their own fortunate effort

It was in fact an OG

Dublin scored plenty more after that goal by the way... plenty more.

It was far from a lucky win

I just hope we click like that against Meath because we haven't had to get out of 3rd gear beating you lads over the last number of years

It's been good enough sure but kinda boring...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/04/2014 21:31:28    1574682

Derry have been excellent but if we hit form we will win another league title, nice way to be heading into the summer. But another first half like that during the championship and we're f*&%$d.

Defensive plans will be built around looking after one Mark Lynch. He seems to be incredibly good and could be a match winner bigtime.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 13/04/2014 21:36:26    1574688

Big task, they'll be confident with the way they're playing and how the game went in Derry previously, they won't fold like Cork either.

I still fancy us though. Too much firepower and some of the key lads are coming back - Bernard should hopefully start, Flynn and Connolly were flying today, O'Gara improving with every game. Hopefully we'll see Brennan, COS and flash Jack back in some way shape or form as well. If we defend like we did in the first half again though Derrys big runners will have a field day.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 13/04/2014 21:36:46    1574689

bluedubstar

MuckrossHead

fingalman

Can't wait to see us hopefully play Donegal in the AI semi final and blow their defensive system away.

I passed your message on to JMCG. He smiled.

Nervous was he? ;)

Not that I noticed, too busy coming up with a fiendishly clever plan to confound the blue clad hordes.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/04/2014 21:41:12    1574690

It was far from a lucky win

i like being lucky ;-)

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 13/04/2014 21:43:00    1574691

Amazing football today. Amazingly naive as well at times even though you couldnt fault the honesty of the football. The major lesson of today is that you cannot beat Dublin by a shoot out. Cork were not the only team to prove this. Kildare were blown apart by loose football last year. The only chance you have against dublin is to defend as tight as you possibly can, and take every chance that comes your way. There will be some teams who have made a mental note today and will not repeat this mistake. Cork included.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 13/04/2014 21:44:52    1574695

should be a good game

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 13/04/2014 21:47:36    1574696

The Dublin defence opened up like the Red Sea today at times and Cork steamrolled right through it so it can be done; you can get scores against them and Derry's backs will stick far closer to Dublin's forwards than Cork did. Dublin are very fit and that played a big part today as well but Derry matched their fitness in the League game and actually physically got the better of Dublin up at Celtic Park; they are one of the very few sides that haven't lost that battle against Dublin and won't either in Croker. However I do expect Dublin's greater firepower to see them through in the end.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/04/2014 21:54:20    1574701

Ulsterman

Spillane in his book recalled the Irish Compromise Rules trip to Australia way back in the 80's. The Aussies were dishing out their usual rough stuff and the order went out from the sideline for Brian McGilligan of Derry to start "lamping them". I believe Brian duly obliged, was there ever a tougher bloke played the game? The Derry waaaaans only come out of the caves in the Sperrins in the spring in time for the football, seriously tough footballers.

Oooooh those big nasty Sperrin metal men are going to be so tough. Poor wee Dublin boys are shakin' in their boots. City slickers are no match for the big mountainy wild men!!!
would you ever give it a rest Ulsterman. This is a sports forum not chat room for fairy tales and bullsh@&€

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/04/2014 08:19:36    1574706