Mayo - Where to from here?

.......We will be in august and september though - which is a far better time to be producing your best than April...

Touch of aggorance there Master (something everyone is quick to accuse the Dubs of). You're assuming you'll be playing football in September

We already gave those lads enough to think about when we blitzed their lauded kickout system in the league

Kicking a ball from a tee or knocking it out of someone's hands for 25 minutes is hardly blitzing. In fact the only blitzing done in out last meeting was in the last 10 minutes and it was all Dublin.
I thinks James Horan would disagree with you that they didn't need another game against Dublin/Cork. I think a National League Title would have been far preferable to a trip to NY. Just an opinion.

A69

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 14/04/2014 13:18:40    1574910

It was the manner in which they lost, they played 14 men for most of the game against a good Derry team but will show you in 2 weeks Time how good they really are. The master coming out with unbelievable nonsense.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/04/2014 13:32:49    1574922

I think Mayo's problem is McHale Park. It's one of the smaller inter-county grounds and Mayo play most of their games there. It's almost 1500 square metres smaller than Croke Park so lads that play well in McHale don't necessarily have the legs for the bigger pitch.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 14/04/2014 13:32:56    1574923

Master

Finally, you already played against derry, you didnt beat them by 15 points as I recall...

I agree this talk of us handing out a beating to Derry by 15pts is disrespectful and gives guys like the Ulsterman ample opportunity to accuse us dubs of arrogance and whatever else he likes to accuse of.

Derry are a good hard working side who seem to be all pulling in the same direction and who will come to croke park with no fear and have a good go. Dublin show up with some level of consistency I think they will win, I believe we are coming to the boil at the right time and all our front line players are starting to appear now.

I don't think you can read too much into the first league game between these two sides similar to the first mayo V Derry game as there will be so many changes to the Dublin team that started in Celtic park.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 14/04/2014 13:38:30    1574929

Was at Croker yesterday. Disappionted after first match and was going to leave but delighted I stayed on. What a performance from Dublin!!. Dub fans must be walking on air, real 'Roy of the Rovers' stuff. Not only do the have skillfull players all through the team but they have lightening speed, strength in depth and most importantly buckets of determination. It would be churlish not to recognise this. They play a very attractive brand of football and are a great advert for all that is good in the game. There is a long road to travel between now and Sept but I still cannot see any team taking Sam away from the Capital.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 14/04/2014 13:52:49    1574940

Was at Croker yesterday. Disappionted after first match and was going to leave but delighted I stayed on. What a performance from Dublin!!. Dub fans must be walking on air, real 'Roy of the Rovers' stuff. Not only do the have skillfull players all through the team but they have lightening speed, strength in depth and most importantly buckets of determination. It would be churlish not to recognise this. They play a very attractive brand of football and are a great advert for all that is good in the game. There is a long road to travel between now and Sept but I still cannot see any team taking Sam away from the Capital.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 14/04/2014 13:52:49    1574941

I am very proud of the Mayo team, to come back from one All Ireland defeat to contest the final the following year speaks volumes for their strength of character and never say die attitude, to be in contention for a third year is simply amazing. Getting beaten especially by a better team is no shame its how you react is the true test of character. I think that unfortunately we are 3 forwards short of winning the big prize but we are overachieving with the group of players we have.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 14/04/2014 14:03:05    1574951

Aido69
Touch of aggorance there Master (something everyone is quick to accuse the Dubs of). You're assuming you'll be playing football in September

I never made that assumption at all, I said we will be producing our best form in august and september - we may well be knocked out but that is when we are geared to reaching our peak. And the word is 'arrogance'...

Kicking a ball from a tee or knocking it out of someone's hands for 25 minutes is hardly blitzing. In fact the only blitzing done in out last meeting was in the last 10 minutes and it was all Dublin.

Well I was more referring to the zonal marking and total domination of the middle third. I didnt see anyone geting kicked in the hands, I did see someone getting kicked as he was walking away though.

I thinks James Horan would disagree with you that they didn't need another game against Dublin/Cork. I think a National League Title would have been far preferable to a trip to NY. Just an opinion.

Well you see, we have to go to NY anyway, it isnt a choice...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/04/2014 14:10:11    1574955

Well you see, we have to go to NY anyway, it isnt a choice...

Which is a shame really, because you're not in form at the moment, and a football match is not what you need eh?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 14/04/2014 14:21:18    1574967

I didn't see anyone geting kicked in the hands, I did see someone getting kicked as he was walking away though

Master I never said anyone was kicked in the hand. Read back over what I said. I don't know where you where but I was watching from behind the goal on the Hill and McLoughlin was at Cluxton more than once. That's why he kicked out at him. Your "total domination" was hardly total? It's irrelevant anyway at this stage and has been done to death already.
I'm aware you have to go to NY . My point is that a match against a Division 1 side in Croke park with a National Title on the line would be good prep for the Summer. You on here saying you didn't need one hardly stacks up after yesterdays defeat. I don't think JH would agree with you either. And I genuinely look forward to meeting yous again later on in the Summer.(in Sept:-))

My apologies for the spelling mistake. Must try harder. You might want to run spell-check yourself before you start correcting posts.

A69

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 14/04/2014 14:45:07    1574986

Think the master is talking nonsense. Of course Mayo wanted to win that game, 100%. It was very dissappointing to all involved, fans, players and mgmt that they lost. A final against Dublin would have been great preparation for the championship, invaluable to lads like harrision, sweeney etc.
I think mayo would have had a chance agasint the Dubs despite the awesome performance the put in yesterday. The fact they lost is not a huge deal either in the grand scheme of things. But the fade out and the cluelessness of how to breakdown the defensive wall derry erected in the last 20 minutes has to be a worry. Derry wanted it more and tactically had Mayo. Also having an extra man for the 2nd time in 3 weeks and again we didnt seem to us it properly. Surely Keith higgins has to be the spare man ?? He was taken off yesterday as he wasnt playing well. The fact why was he not playing well is the question. I think nearly everyone accepts he is being played out of position but i can understand horans thinking in giving it a good try. I think keith needs to be in the half back line maybe releasing keegan to the half forward line who is ,more comfortable when in point scoring range. Major work needs to be done on AOS carrying the ball into bodies and getting turned over and we need to work out how to stop people running thru the middle since the black card. Loads to work on. Hard to see us getting to september again, having said that i think mayo are still the team most likely to put it up to dublin. Well done Derry!!

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 14/04/2014 14:58:08    1574996

Think the master is talking nonsense. Of course Mayo wanted to win that game, 100%. It was very dissappointing to all involved, fans, players and mgmt that they lost. A final against Dublin would have been great preparation for the championship, invaluable to lads like harrision, sweeney etc.
I think mayo would have had a chance agasint the Dubs despite the awesome performance the put in yesterday. The fact they lost is not a huge deal either in the grand scheme of things. But the fade out and the cluelessness of how to breakdown the defensive wall derry erected in the last 20 minutes has to be a worry. Derry wanted it more and tactically had Mayo. Also having an extra man for the 2nd time in 3 weeks and again we didnt seem to us it properly. Surely Keith higgins has to be the spare man ?? He was taken off yesterday as he wasnt playing well. The fact why was he not playing well is the question. I think nearly everyone accepts he is being played out of position but i can understand horans thinking in giving it a good try. I think keith needs to be in the half back line maybe releasing keegan to the half forward line who is ,more comfortable when in point scoring range. Major work needs to be done on AOS carrying the ball into bodies and getting turned over and we need to work out how to stop people running thru the middle since the black card. Loads to work on. Hard to see us getting to september again, having said that i think mayo are still the team most likely to put it up to dublin. Well done Derry!!

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 14/04/2014 14:59:25    1574997

The black card hasn't been kind to Mayo alright...

Look at the damage Jack McCaffrey did in the league game compared to the AI final... no more less talented players blocking his runs.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2014 15:07:49    1575007

Ah_Here

Surely Keith higgins has to be the spare man ??

It's not the team with 15 who decide the spare man, its the team with 14 men, they mark the 14 they want to mark and then the 15th is left free.

commercials1 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 14/04/2014 15:28:37    1575026

We want the Mort

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 14/04/2014 15:51:15    1575044

Did Horan not say before it started that he was targeting the league this year?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 14/04/2014 16:39:03    1575080

Did Horan not say before it started that he was targeting the league this year?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 14/04/2014 16:39:37    1575081

Mayo for the record only reached the semi finals because Derry played 14 subs against them. For what its worth i think Mayo will recover from this defeat yesterday and reach the All Ireland semi final. Lets be honest apart from Dublin the overall quality is as poor as its been for decades.

The likes of Kerry,Cork,Tyrone no where near the level they were while how likely are Donegal to retain their 2012 form? TBH this is why a side like Mayo with average panel of players can reach two finals. Their is hope for any side with a decent system and workrate in place Horan has shown that with Mayo maybe Derry,Monaghan etc are the next to step up.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 14/04/2014 17:31:26    1575113

13/04/2014 16:29:54
GaryMc82
County: Derry

A team needs to go back to the drawing board every 2 or 3 seasons, to restructure and tweak how they play. Mayo haven't made substancial changes since 2012.

You can go back by another year.

2011 team v Kerry All Ireland semi final

Robert Hennelly, Tom Cunniffe, Ger Cafferkey, Keith Higgins,, Donal Vaughan, Richie Feeney,Trevor Mortimer, Aidan O'Shea, Seamus O'Shea, Kevin McLoughlin, Alan Dillon, Andy Moran, Enda Varley, Alan Freeman, Cillian O'Connor.

In bold should all make their starting 15 in the championship this summer while Feeney,Varley will be subs. Its 2009 since they won or even reached the Connacht U-21 final you would have to wonder where this Mayo side will go once Horan steps down. He's has got the very best out of the best group punching well above their weight.

Some Mayo supporters won't know how good they had it until hes gone..

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 14/04/2014 17:42:07    1575121

Gaa_lover
County: USA

Mayo for the record only reached the semi finals because Derry played 14 subs against them. For what its worth i think Mayo will recover from this defeat yesterday and reach the All Ireland semi final. Lets be honest apart from Dublin the overall quality is as poor as its been for decades.

The likes of Kerry,Cork,Tyrone no where near the level they were while how likely are Donegal to retain their 2012 form? TBH this is why a side like Mayo with average panel of players can reach two finals. Their is hope for any side with a decent system and workrate in place Horan has shown that with Mayo maybe Derry,Monaghan etc are the next to step up.

You can go back by another year.

2011 team v Kerry All Ireland semi final

Robert Hennelly, Tom Cunniffe, Ger Cafferkey, Keith Higgins,, Donal Vaughan, Richie Feeney,Trevor Mortimer, Aidan O'Shea, Seamus O'Shea, Kevin McLoughlin, Alan Dillon, Andy Moran, Enda Varley, Alan Freeman, Cillian O'Connor.

In bold should all make their starting 15 in the championship this summer while Feeney,Varley will be subs. Its 2009 since they won or even reached the Connacht U-21 final you would have to wonder where this Mayo side will go once Horan steps down. He's has got the very best out of the best group punching well above their weight.

Some Mayo supporters won't know how good they had it until hes gone..

Two very interesting posts there. Raises some intriguing points.

What strikes me is that since 2011, the Mayo team really has not changed. It is remarkably similar to today's team. A golden rule in any team sport is that you must not let a team grow old together. You simply have to freshen things up every now and again. Perhaps Mayo's achilles heal is that they have failed to do this. They've been poor at u21 level in recent years, perhaps the talent is not there to come in and compete for places with the established players. Contrast the current Dublin team with the AI champions of 2011 for example. The likes of Kilkenny, McCaffrey, Mannion, etc have re-energised them.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 14/04/2014 17:55:17    1575126