Proposal to ban GAA jerseys in universities.

cavan97

Lets look at another scenario. I heard the NWRC in Limvady had a dress code policy of no soccer shirts allowed for students. I don't know if it applied for Rugby and GAA or in fact all sports. However it was a measure that they took. Were they Right or were they Wrong? Please do not reply with Jim Allister's name. To me he is irrelevant to this thread. If he didn't say it, someone else would. Should everyone just wear what sporting jersey they feel like or are affiliated to? IMO, In an ideal world yes. But in Northern Ireland this is can be aligned to your religion and to your political views. It might not seem that way to you, but you can see how it could be viewed to other people. Wearing your club crest on a GAA hoodie might have a totally different meaning to you than how it would be perceived to another person. Its a very complex and sensitive issue.

Offence is taken not given in other words? Why should universities- supposedly bastions of free thought and free expression enforce a dress code? Universities should be challenging peoples perception of the world, not sheltering them from being offended. Even in Northern Ireland.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 08/04/2014 20:20:01    1572620

"Please do not reply with Jim Allister's name. To me he is irrelevant to this thread" - Take a look at the article on this site to which this thread is related to and see which politician is mentioned.
As to your other comments - personally I don't care who wears what jersey, GAA or otherwise. But when you talk about sensitivity and intimidation, the question of GAA jerseys is a smokescreen. The real reason isn't the 'proliferation' of such jerseys. More a question for some it seems of too many Catholics about the place.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 08/04/2014 20:47:02    1572639

I can see the angle that this is coming from given many places up here including work places do not allow sports tops of any sort though it is not adhered to strictly.

My personal opinion is that the world is going mad in terms of political correctness but at the same time these idiots have something they can probably at least put an argument up against.

Unfortunately this is being driven by twisted bitterness as opposed to the equality legislation that it is piggy backing on.

The other thing is that the majority of educated Protestants are more and more focused on getting on with a quality of life rather than giving a monkeys about a fashion faux pas like GAA tops.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 08/04/2014 21:49:57    1572672

A few points on this;
1. A Dublin Jersey should not be worn anywhere outside of Dublin....
2. Ulster GAA jerseys have lost their intimidation value since the post 2008 decline...
3. GAA jerseys on women should be outlawed in Ireland, Spain, Australia and Crete....
4. O'Neill's really need to get into the Sash market....huge gap there
5. Martin McGuinness should have worn his Derry top last night if he had any cop on...Liz could have worn the recent London edition

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 09/04/2014 09:07:02    1572706

Fair employment regulations should apply and that means no sporting tops, not sure where that'd leave the sports department in a university though.

In saying that FE regulations in wearing of poppies etc are regularly flaunted as you are only allowed to wear them to and from work, not in your place of work and I've seen them actually being sold in some places, so if Jim wants to tighten up then he should be prepared not to see news readers etc wearing their poppy in late October, early November.

Can't have it both ways Jim.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 09/04/2014 10:55:48    1572765

That's pretty much the problem well summed up Bricktop - we have idiots here that are just looking to continually strike a blow against 'the other side' under the guise of equality, offence etc.

My issue with all this is that proportionally the air time that these issues get is much higher than the proportion of people who actually give a rats a$$!

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/04/2014 11:12:22    1572778

Wouldn't take much notice of this. Typical political point scoring amongst unionism to see who can get the more die hard loyalist vote when it comes to elections. Allister likes to hear himself talk!

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 09/04/2014 11:45:05    1572800

Yes but why do all these students feel the need to wear a GAA jersey to college, is it because they are so incredibly proud of their county/club, or is it about making a statement, personally I feel it is the latter. While it's been a while since I was in college, it was a rare sight to see anyone wearing a GAA jersey in NUIG, and this fashion trend is most definitely an exclusively Northern Ireland trend. Personally I feel that anyone who wears a GAA jersey to anything other than a match should be arrested by the fashion Police.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 09/04/2014 18:27:48    1573095

I've attended 2 Dublin colleges and many people (myself included) wear jersies in, are they all trying to make a statement against unionists. Its a lazy option, you dont need to button it up or iron it, and they're just comfortable garments that are easy to wash. They also go equaly badly with all forms of other clothes, so can be worn with anything.

Perfect student wear really. Jim Allister is just trying to stir it up and gain the votes of hardcore loyalists.

Its also funny how the unionists have for years bleated on about "No Surrender", "We are the People", and about the brave and unflinching character of the loyal, loyal sons of Ulster. But supposedly they are now scared of the sight of a GAA jersey.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 09/04/2014 19:01:36    1573104

5 years at uni lads, (6 if you count the year where all i had to do was hand in work without going to class)people wear jerseys of all types. It's not reserved for male catholics. Take a walk down the mall at jtown you will see girls in NI tops, lads in rugby tops, folks in gaa tops. Theres a reason they are worn....its the lazy option. Rolling out of bed sticking the trackies and footie top on is very easy. Thats why there are so many sports tops worn...nothing to do with intimidation.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/04/2014 20:02:22    1573131

Cavan97: just for the record I think you've made some good and interesting points.
As you say, no one here agrees with MacCallister or TUV that's a given. However wearing a GAA jersey in some contexts in the North has different implications than down here as we all know so there's really no point using the 'sure it's only a jersey' argument. Although I'd find it sad I can fully appreciate that many Protestants there may feel uncomfortable surrounded by GAA shirts. Again no one is suggesting this is right or justified but just a fact. I know that on occasions while abroad I've seen groups of lads wearing Rangers, NI shirts and while they weren't doing anything wrong it made me feel on edge just a bit- perhaps a poor reflection on me and my obvious prejudices! I guess some may feel the same about GAA shirts.
Apart from that I'd echo the comments of others: wearing a GAA shirt unless your playing or at a minimum going to support your side is pretty tacky. You see them plenty in Australia at it and it used to really irritate me! Lucky for me being from Wicklow, this is not a problem I'm faced with too often!

stanley (None) - Posts: 434 - 09/04/2014 20:05:44    1573136

If people feel uncomfortable around GAA jerseys it is because they are listening to people like Jim Allister who have been working away trying to create the idea that the GAA is a sectarian organization.

Personally I do not particularly like them as a fashion item but I think young people in the years after they have flown the nest still have a pride in the place they are from and this tends to be the driver for wearing them - an attachment with home if you like.

I have lived abroad and they are rife particularly around the like of Bondi Junction - I cannot see any difference in the reasons for their appearance there and around universities.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 10/04/2014 13:55:26    1573406

FWIW, I think any adult wearing a lovely multicoloured polyester sports top of any hue is severely lacking in taste and maturity.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 10/04/2014 14:05:21    1573411

bricktop
County: Down

FWIW, I think any adult wearing a lovely multicoloured polyester sports top of any hue is severely lacking in taste and maturity.

Thats every sportsperson over 18 then

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 10/04/2014 14:30:16    1573419

'Yes but why do all these students feel the need to wear a GAA jersey to college, is it because they are so incredibly proud of their county/club, or is it about making a statement, personally I feel it is the latter. While it's been a while since I was in college, it was a rare sight to see anyone wearing a GAA jersey in NUIG, and this fashion trend is most definitely an exclusively Northern Ireland trend. Personally I feel that anyone who wears a GAA jersey to anything other than a match should be arrested by the fashion Police'

As you seem to have spent so much time in the north (NI to you of course!) you'll be well aware of the importance of symbols to nationalists and unionists. Tell everyone then about the poppy wearing, as an example, in workplaces that goes on for 2 weeks or more, particularly the need to take it from their coat and stick it on their jumper/shirt as the uppity fenians cant see it hanging on their coats in work.

I still wear GAA tops out and about (not for a boogie though i hasten to add!) regardless of the views of both the 'thought' and 'fashion' police.
I wear it because im a proud GAA man, a proud Belfast & Antrim man and a proud Irishman. Jim Allister and his ilk have tried for years to erode our nationality and harangue and mock anyone for displaying any semblance of it at any given opportunity. I have yet to hear, in my 40 odd years on this island, about anyone wearing a GAA top being involved in a sectarian assault. The same cant be said the other way round though unfortunately.

Im sure youse are all well aware of the croppie expression, well im afraid this croppie, like many others, doesnt lie down anymore, in fact has never lain down. I'll argue my case and fight my corner against all bigots and whats worse their appeasers!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 11/04/2014 11:17:33    1573715

Tom1916
County: Armagh

Well if you're actually playing sport at that particular time, other than that I stand by my comments especially gawdy orange ones.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 11/04/2014 11:26:49    1573721

So what happens when UUJ are playing a match? Is it only UUJ he wants the ban to apply and not for example Queens or St. Mary's?

And only a bigot would take offence!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 11/04/2014 14:55:40    1573827

bricktop
County: Down

Well if you're actually playing sport at that particular time, other than that I stand by my comments

So its ok if you are actually out on the field of play but not on the bus to and from the game. Got you now.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 11/04/2014 15:46:16    1573851