Sent off or not sent off

Yesterday it appears Dublin had a player sent off with 2 yellow cards but made a substitution, - 24hrs later there has been little or no comment, I'm not critising Dublin , but the media,

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 07/04/2014 21:40:51    1572053

We should in fact be criticising the officials should we not?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/04/2014 21:50:12    1572067

It's hardly the worst thing we've done v Tyrone relating to sendings off……….

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13724 - 08/04/2014 08:31:00    1572088

Jim gavin cleared this up after the game, they asked the 4th official could they replace ROC and he gave them the go ahead as they thought he was sent off on a black card.

D Byrne was on the pitch for less than a min when the situation was rectified play was stopped for most of that min aswell.

Just imagine the consequences if he had of kicked a point while he was on the pitch!!!

Imagine the uproar.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 08/04/2014 09:08:01    1572093

Indeed jackthedub. In fact I can go one better, imagine the uproar on this boards if it had happened against dublin!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/04/2014 09:43:47    1572105

In fairness to the linesman or whoever was asked by the Dublin bench it isn't surprising to think that they didn't feel ROC should've been sent off!

Awful decision.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13724 - 08/04/2014 09:45:19    1572106

The Master

Cork made 7 sub's against the Dub's in the league, don't remember too many dub giving out about that!!!

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 08/04/2014 10:07:37    1572117

Indeed jackthedub. In fact I can go one better, imagine the uproar on this boards if it had happened against dublin!

-----
Well we haven't been up in arms over the fact that ROC got the ball and the Tyrone player hit the deck holding his face to get him sent off. Nor have we been up in arms over ROC's first yellow which was a case of mistaken identity. MDMc pushed Harte in the chest. Harte went down holding his face. Duffy gives ROC a yellow card. Thanks for affording us the opportunity to bring these matters up though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 08/04/2014 10:13:40    1572121

-----
Well we haven't been up in arms over the fact that ROC got the ball and the Tyrone player hit the deck holding his face to get him sent off. Nor have we been up in arms over ROC's first yellow which was a case of mistaken identity. MDMc pushed Harte in the chest. Harte went down holding his face. Duffy gives ROC a yellow card. Thanks for affording us the opportunity to bring these matters up though.

--------

There hasn't been much comment about P harte's cheap shot were he dropped the knees into cooper when cooper was on the ground, this is what caused macauley's to retaliate by pushing harte in the chest not the face. You would have taught he was layed out with a dig the he hit the ground holding his face,,,

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 08/04/2014 10:25:59    1572128

Stop lads, a bad decision isn't a bad decision when it goes against us. Remember that Dublin get all of the calls their way usually, it would be wrong of us to complain.

It was a mistake that was quickly fixed. Had no effect on the game.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 08/04/2014 10:39:33    1572141

Hardly that big a deal and better to get the mistakes out of the way during the league.

I am still confussed as to the use of this black card - I still see an awful lot of professional fouling going unpunished to the point if the thing was being brought in tight then a good lot more players would have walked. If you are not going to bring it in tight and make a statement then it is not going to serve the purpose it was intended for so then why bother?

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 08/04/2014 10:59:37    1572150

mesamis and joxer I did not see all of the game so I will not comment on other incidents but R O C's 2nd yellow was fully deserved as he mistimed his tackle and struck the Tyrone players face before knocking the ball away. This is very clear from the video of the game. One thing that surprised me was that play was stopped for over minute after this incident but the referee only added on 2 minutes additional time.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 08/04/2014 11:18:06    1572158

Me too Naysayer, apprently the cynica foul count was 27 to 9 in favour of Dublin, yet the blackcard hardly reflects this!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/04/2014 11:28:55    1572163

Naysayer, the black card has been effective to some extent in opening the game up. However, it still depends on the good will of the players and teams involved. It does nothing to tackle the real cynicism of diving and time wasting. Indeed it could be argued that it encourages some of that where players are deliberately trying to get opponents black carded and sent off. It will be interesting to see how it operates in the two league semi finals, and the bigger games in the Summer.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/04/2014 11:33:02    1572167

I think people are too quick to call 'cynical foul'. Every time you see a tackle that results in the attacker hitting the deck there seem to be calls for a black card, attackers are getting cute and drawing fouls more often now as well. There is such thing as a genuine attempt to win the ball you know.

And before people start having a go at me, I only caught the last 20 mins of the Tyrone game so there may well have been a lot of cynical fouls, I'm not to judge. The point I'm making is in general.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 08/04/2014 12:23:11    1572203

I think that's the foul count in total brend not cynical fouls persay and as we all know there's a difference.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/04/2014 12:38:06    1572216

I am talking professional fouling which of course can be called cynical but I am referring specifically to where a foul has been committed say to stop an attack when the field would otherwise have been opened up for the attacking team or players getting through for clear scores and the like. I have saw an awful lot of that go unpunished in the last number of weeks.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 08/04/2014 12:40:09    1572220

When Peter Harte was shoved backwards his head accidentally collided with another players shin/knee (possibly McCurry). It was only then did he hold the back of his head - he did not grab his face on his way down. Don't let the truth get in the way of a good story lads....

The initial challenge by Harte was stupid and uncalled for, it was a yellow card in my opinion.

maor_uisce (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 08/04/2014 13:42:52    1572275

have to say swimming instructors must be doing great buisness since january as mayo and tyrone certainly have been getting lessons
in the pool going by their diving skills.
the fourth officaial was to blame for david byrne being on the pitch as he told jim gavin to replace o carroll.
I notice there wasnt a thread or any article in the newspaper pointing out that rory o carroll was wrongly sent off
considering peter harte done johnny cooper on the ground twice then mccauley pushed harte to the ground
and amazingly o carroll gets the only yellow card out of the whole incident for having the same hair colour as mccauley
theres a ref,two linesmen and four umpires and not one one of them could spot the differance between mccauley and o carroll
thats how bad the match day officatiing has been this year

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/04/2014 15:49:55    1572416

surely it wouldn't have mattered whether the second card was yellow or black. whichever it was, if he was already on a yellow he was gone. 2 yellows = Red, yellow+black = Red. so they coukldn't possibly have replaced him.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 08/04/2014 18:50:11    1572576