All Ireland Minor Football Championship 2014

that Roscommon minor team will have a bigger following than the seniors
especially with Fergal O'Donnell in charge

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 29/06/2014 13:54:56    1610711

Ros1
I agree with you, Geoff also said that st pats would win the hogan cup that no 1 would get close to them ,and the pobalscoil Chorca duibhne took them apart in the final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/06/2014 14:32:10    1610722

i think rossies didnt deserve yesterday win even tough im a rossie person i thought leitrim deserved it more and made bad choices nd kicked wides but still they had more passion then roscommon and if they did win they could have put it upto 2 mayo.

who will win de connacht final be tough final both even this year but im still going shouting for mayo fr de connacht final.

niamhy94 (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 29/06/2014 19:04:32    1610902

29/06/2014 19:04:32
niamhy94
County: Roscommon

i think rossies didnt deserve yesterday win even tough im a rossie person i thought leitrim deserved it more and made bad choices nd kicked wides but still they had more passion then roscommon and if they did win they could have put it upto 2 mayo.

It seems you were at a different game than the rest of us Niamh? We were the better team throughout lead by one point at half time would have been more but for a Leitrim penalty against the run of play before the break and we won the 2nd half 0-8 to 0-4. We also missed another two goal chances which includes Evan McGrath hitting the crossbar.

We were full value for the five win and it sets up and very interesting and even looking Connacht minor final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3758 - 29/06/2014 19:50:39    1610940

who is left in it.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/06/2014 11:12:58    1611348

Mayo v Rocommon anyway in Connacht for the third year in a row.
I think its Donegal v Armagh in Ulster and its Connacht v Ulster this year.

Anyone have the make up in Leinster and Munster ?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 30/06/2014 11:55:04    1611405

Roscommon into an All-Ireland quarter final after winning 1 game. Against Leitrim.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 30/06/2014 12:27:34    1611449

Donegal and Armagh in Ulster,Mayo and Roscommon in Connaught, Cork and Kerry in Munster and then Offaly,Dublin,Kildare and Laois left in Leinster...them semi finals to be played this weekend.

Viva2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 30/06/2014 14:44:17    1611595

Whats your point Squareball ? Leitrim are Connacht Minor league champions haven beaten the 4 other counties and were a match for anyone with this years squad. Connacht has produced 3 different All Ireland winners in the last 7 years and imo has had the most consistently competitive provincial competition in those 7 years and this years looks no different.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 30/06/2014 17:03:19    1611699

square_ball_69 has no point other than having major issues with Roscommon. Fine win for our minors on Saturday against a talented and confident Leitrim who were unbeaten this year. As been said already we were full value for the 5 point win and more than capable of winning a Connacht title but Mayo in Castlebar is as tough as it gets at this grade.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 30/06/2014 20:03:38    1611806

we have a very good minor team in galway too
but michael daly our best player was sent off 2 yellow card very very harsh
changed whole game but galway had pleny chances to win game in first half
but all is not lost as under 21 grade has been very good for galway
with two good minor teams last 2 yrs
we have won 4 under 21 allirelands with teams who were beaten as minors in coonnacht
hope springs eternal they say

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 30/06/2014 20:30:30    1611829

Is that a true stat about rhudson about 4 Galway U-21 teams winning All-Irelands but not winning their provincial at minor level? Interesting if it is.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 30/06/2014 21:26:13    1611867

If you can't see my point I feel bad for ye. Irrelevant how good or bad Leitrim are this year, fact is the entire system is totally unbalanced

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 01/07/2014 21:27:53    1612391

if connacht really want to develop young players
at least bring in a round robin or back door for minor
evry team would get more gammes players more matches
young lads deserve btter than tthe present set up
in that way the two best teams will get to final and another game in all ireland series

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 01/07/2014 21:55:49    1612410

Munster final and Leinster semi finals are on this weekend,who fancies who?
Kerry to beat Cork and Dublin and Kildare to win their games.

Viva2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 02/07/2014 12:56:25    1612602

Kildare will beat laois .offaly and dublin not on until next thursday evening in tullamore.its a very gpod offaly team and will give the dubs loads of it .offaly to win by couple of points

liffo (Offaly) - Posts: 649 - 02/07/2014 17:12:15    1612746

29/06/2014 19:50:39
The_analyser

29/06/2014 19:04:32
niamhy94

It seems you were at a different game than the rest of us Niamh? We were the better team throughout lead by one point at half time would have been more but for a Leitrim penalty against the run of play before the break and we won the 2nd half 0-8 to 0-4. We also missed another two goal chances which includes Evan McGrath hitting the crossbar.

We were full value for the five win and it sets up and very interesting and even looking Connacht minor final.

im not giving out about roscommon being a better team then leitrim but at least the leitrim did put up a performance against roscommon which i am happy about . ill still support half bit of ros but mostly mayo when the boyfriend is from mayo and no some of the panel like, but i knw this is championship but would tell me how longford was in the connacht minor league anyone i asked didnt knw

niamhy94 (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 02/07/2014 19:59:18    1612864

Kildare had a comprehensive 3-11 to 0-5 win over Laois in the semi final and now await the winners of Dublin or Offaly. With home advantage I think that Offaly can win this one.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 08/07/2014 12:16:37    1615655

Can the losers of Dublin Offaly get through a back door or is there place in the quarter finals secured for the provincial runner up in leinster??

Viva2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 08/07/2014 12:54:50    1615687

the loser from Dublin Offaly are out, the back door in Leinster only applies in the 1st round. It's a pity something can't be looked at to balance up the minor grade but there doesn't seem to be a willeness to do so.

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 08/07/2014 13:29:29    1615707