All Ireland Minor Football Championship 2014

Sam......

Don't mind seeing yellow buses.

Think it's a template the all attacking Dublin style will wear down. Makes for a fascinating watch though!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/07/2014 19:28:47    1628688

So who's your money on to be in the Semi finals by the end of the weekend? I'm going for Dublin,Mayo,Kerry and Donegal. Can see Dublin and Donegal getting a good challenge though!

Viva2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 01/08/2014 12:57:52    1629377

well done to donegal winning they took there chance in the horrible conditions in sligo which i saw when i was at the game and roscommon missed to many chances as well and they could have it roscommon but didnt take there chances when they had it but all credit to donegal best of luck in the rest of the championship

niamhy94 (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 02/08/2014 21:19:41    1630177

So the semi finals are confirmed,the four provincial winners it is! Could be a possibility of a double double in the semis with both minor and seniors of each counties playing!

24th August - Mayo vs Kerry
31st August - Dublin vs Donegal

4 best teams in the country,yet to see all four flex their muscle so its set to be two great semi finals!

Viva2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 06/08/2014 14:46:15    1632483

so what do we think this weekend, i reckon dublin by 2 or 3

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 28/08/2014 11:38:39    1643370

Is O Se on the Kerry minor team related to the famous football family O Se's?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/08/2014 21:34:38    1643773

Congratulations to our minor team on reaching the All Ireland Final for the first time in the countys history. Yous played fairly well against a good Dublin team and showed great heart to win in the end. What a great 3 weeks it will be for these lads in the run up to the All Ireland Final. Kerry have been hotly tipped for the All Ireland from early summer so it will be a difficult game but on the day anything can happen and with the likes of Stephen Mc Brearty, Lorcan Connors and Jamie Brennan I'm sure we can get enough scores to win!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 02/09/2014 16:47:55    1647012

Well done young lads and the management team. Thought the minors a great bet Sunday , up on profit with a free 100 euros @13/2 to win outright. Well done again

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 02/09/2014 21:44:59    1647230

So Kerry Vs Donegal. Massive occasion for the minors to be playing in front of a near full croke park as their senior teams are in action also! As a Donegal man I've seen this team all year and there is something about this team! They probably aren't the best footballing team in the country but they grind out the results and I think that will give them an advantage over a Kerry side that have not been challenged yet and are favourites.

Viva2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 04/09/2014 12:30:31    1647873

Viva2012
How do you make out out team hasn't been challenged yet? We beat Clare tipp and cork all away from home I might add, then we beat a massive Kildare side that brought the physics to new extreems and we beat reigning all Ireland champs in the semi so do you still think we haven't been tested ? An Riocht Abu.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/09/2014 13:04:37    1647891

What I mean is you haven't been in a real dogfight yet! Donegal came through a tough Ulster and then had two very close affairs with Roscommon and Dublin! Kerry,have the disadvantage of coming through an easy province (not your own fault its the other counties). Will be an interesting battle in terms of playing styles and tactics!

Viva2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 04/09/2014 15:51:44    1647981

Viva2012
How many of our minor games have you been at this year? Coz iv been at them all , and trust me we have had dog fights, v cork especially we were 4 points up and we had 2 good goals disaloud and then the ref gave cork a peno in the last 5 mins which brought it back to 1 , if that had happend before we would have folded but not this team, they went back down the field and scored another 3 fast points, half our minor team played in the hogan cup final for pobalscoil Chorca duibhne against st pats from Derry and that was a dog fight. So you haven't a clue what our boys have been through realy .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2014 10:20:12    1648278

I'd agree that Kerry seem to have been tested in a few of their games. Donegal showed great character in their win at the weekend and a fantastic showing from Stephen Mc Brearty but they will need to lift it again in the final. You just never know at minor level how a team will react to the pressure of an All Ireland Final and this will be a real test of the management skills in both camps. If a team starts with nerves you can be already beaten by the time you settle down.
Playing the semi in Croke Park should be an advantage to Donegal but this Kerry team has been tipped from a long way back so this will be a massive challenge for our future stars.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 05/09/2014 11:06:51    1648304

Tir conaill Abu,
Spot on you don't really know how minors will react in a final, I mean our lads played in a half full stadium in the semi but ye'r lads played in a full stadium against the dubs so that a big plus for them, I don't know what style of football ye play coz I haven't had a chance to watch ye'r match against Dublin yet but il get around to it the weekend, I seen the Dublin cork game and was very impressed with Dublin so any team that can beat them won't be bad,

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2014 12:29:09    1648365

Tir conaill Abu,
Spot on you don't really know how minors will react in a final, I mean our lads played in a half full stadium in the semi but ye'r lads played in a full stadium against the dubs so that a big plus for them, I don't know what style of football ye play coz I haven't had a chance to watch ye'r match against Dublin yet but il get around to it the weekend, I seen the Dublin cork game and was very impressed with Dublin so any team that can beat them won't be bad,

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2014 12:29:44    1648366

Let me be the first to congratulate our Kerry minor team on their wonderful win, we weren't the biggest team but we had the biggest hearts, we fought like warrior poets. also hard luck to Donegal, a seriously good team, I taught it was the Donegal seniors that came out warming up before the game. Jays ye have massive young lads

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/09/2014 21:57:36    1657384