What does Eamon Fitzmaurice have against the Dubs?

Ritche ,the dub's already do the singing. Have you ever heard them belting out 'come on the boys in blue'?

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 06/02/2014 21:29:51    1542543

KingdomBoy1

Fecked if I know michealo, the dub obviously know more than they are letting on, there was another interesting fact in the kerryseye today that in the team that played Dublin sat night had no player that started in the all Ireland final of 09. And Dublin had to bring on the big guns to win mdm mannion and mcCaffery ,and we brought on a load of young lads . Who wanted the 2 points more?

-------
In fairness, Gavin wasn't the one showing videos of last years semi to his team trying to motivate them. Sounds like Eamo wanted this one badly. If you think that Sat Dublin team is close to the one that will be firing during the summer then you are sorely mistaken. I wouldn't blame Eamo in fairness. He took a footballing lesson from the Dubs last year in his own back yard in the league, was overrun by them in a semi final last year and then fails to beat a 14 man Dublin team in the league. I'd be blaming the ref, the pope, Joe Brolly and anyone else I could think of if I was him. Keep deflecting.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 06/02/2014 21:33:06    1542548

Ritche ,the dub's already do the singing. Have you ever heard them belting out 'come on the boys in blue'?

Indeed - boys in blue, booing, whistles from the hill, its what gladdens ones heart on a balmy sunny sunday afternoon.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/02/2014 21:53:29    1542559

We must be doing something right when a Tyrone poster is agreeing with a cork man about Kerry being the only team that can be considered great. I thought Mickey Harte worked hard and got that well out of your psyche . but sure theres always one , that right Gatekeeper.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/02/2014 22:05:47    1542569

ruanua

"Indeed - boys in blue, booing, whistles from the hill, its what gladdens ones heart on a balmy sunny sunday afternoon. "

Another Dublin myth on a thread full of them, Rua you think there is no "booing, whistles from the hills of Donegal" or Kerry? for that matter

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 07/02/2014 08:01:36    1542570

Joxer

1542442 MuckrossHead

Being griped at is part & parcel of being champions. Man up there Dubs!!!

-------
We know. We've been there 24 times. ;). People need to wise up and take Liam's post as the banter starter that it was intended to be.

;)

And to be honest Joxer, of all of them, I am shocked that CKH took the bait so quickly! Hook line and sinker!! Ah tis all good, CKH still the best Kerry poster on here by a distance!

(ps - if i can be serious for a second, ok my tongue was in my cheek, and it worked :) but, EF was anything but complimentary of the Dubs last year, just said Kerry beat them selves, gave us no credit, and was at it again last week lads. These are facts!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/02/2014 09:00:05    1542578

To be honest CKH

If I'm wrong I'm wrong

I don't know a great deal about the black card

I know it's there to take out cynical play

I thought getting pulled from behind while in a position of scoring/setting up a score is cynical

Those incidents were severe enough for a yellow... That's the same card given to a certain Tyrone player

You're right, it is cynical but according to the new rules a jersey pull doesn't warrant a black card for some strange reason. Our lads were yellow carded and rightfully so, as were a few of the Dubs for other fouls.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 07/02/2014 09:27:20    1542588

Liamwalkinstown

Joxer

1542442 MuckrossHead

Being griped at is part & parcel of being champions. Man up there Dubs!!!

-------
We know. We've been there 24 times. ;). People need to wise up and take Liam's post as the banter starter that it was intended to be.

;)

And to be honest Joxer, of all of them, I am shocked that CKH took the bait so quickly! Hook line and sinker!! Ah tis all good, CKH still the best Kerry poster on here by a distance!

(ps - if i can be serious for a second, ok my tongue was in my cheek, and it worked :) but, EF was anything but complimentary of the Dubs last year, just said Kerry beat them selves, gave us no credit, and was at it again last week lads. These are facts!

I wouldn't say I took the bait Liamo, you just had no evidence to back up your statement. Fitz criticised the referee for a few calls that possibly should've gone our way, in particular a foul on Barry John Keane near the end which resulted in a Dublin score. I feel he was wrong to do so and mentioned this on ye're own page. But he never once criticised Dublin and was very gracious in defeat after the Semi last year.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 07/02/2014 09:31:08    1542589

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

_______

Bizarre

Thanks for clearing that up.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 07/02/2014 09:40:29    1542598

Richie, are you claiming that Dublin supporters do not mix with other supporters before, during and after matches? Has there been trouble at Dublin games?

This silly attempt to portray Dublin GAA and supporters as somehow "alien" to the association has been going on for years. Usually when Dublin are enjoying intermittent success!!

As for the 'soccer singing' nonsense, Dublin supporters have been packing the Hill and singing - used to be Molly Malone and the Foggy Dew according to my Da - as least as far back as the early 1950s. We are as much a part of the GAA as anyone else. No more nor no less, nor have ever claimed to be.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/02/2014 09:40:40    1542599

ritchie

Right here we go.

This is why all the CULCHIES have an issue with dublin.

Dear god ye win FOUR All-Irelands since 1980 (1983/1995/2011/2013) And ye would swear ye are the masters of the game and we should all bow to ye. (and lets be realistic in 2011 the better team lost.)

The fans from dublin show no humility towards and other county and think they have a god given right to win sam (and based on the tripe i read last year Liam as well.)

Well hear is a very simple fact for the city folk from one who is very proud to be a culchie

Since the dawn of the game the only team that take to the field at the start of the season that should think they have the god given right to win an all ireland football championship is KERRY

They are the masters. They are the standard setters and they are the name that is etched on sam more that any other team.

In the hardest all ireland to win they have produced 36 all ireland winning teams.

Im a cork man and it gauls me. But the facts are the facts. and going into 2014 it would be a brave man to bet against Kerry. And if i had to put money on one of the two of them lets face it the sensible money would go on Kerry and the jackins in here if they told the truth would say the exact same thing.

I ask going forward for some humility from all fans of all ireland champion's.

Bar one or two Clare fans have been good ambassadors for their county can the dublin fans say the same with their US V REST OF IRELAND
mentality

This isnt Soccer and i hate the goading of fans. This is our sport. THE GAA, those who played know the mantra WHAT HAPPENS ON THE FIEELD STAYS ON THE FIELD and we all go to the pub after for a pint. This goading rubbish continues when my 1 year old will be going to games it will be separate stand and no mixing of fans.

I mean is that what we want do we want this to be like soccer. Christ we will have bloody singing in the stadium next. These games are rivalries no doubt about it but when the final whistle goes its left there. 1987/1988/1989/1990 saw one of the fiercest rivalries iv ever known CORK V MEATH i mean they hated each other but the craic in the pubs was brilliant and the fans always got on.

Is it that dublin had good teams that never reached their potential that they now have a chip on their shoulder well sorry guys as a follower of the cork football team of the naughties were entitled to that chip.

On the field i worry about decline of the standard of football but off it i worry about the decline of the standard of supporter. this used always be great craic now it a harsh cold place to be.

I know many will take no notice of this post but i hope it touches a cord with true gaa supporters.

Whatever about the point of this thread or even what this post is in response to but seriously man you'd wanna get over yourself.

A pile of BS is all you've posted above about how great the true country GAA supporter is and how arrogant the Dublin supporter is blah blah blah. It's a tired old cliche and one we've heard time and time again. I'm just glad you didn't resort to talking about na fíor Ghaeil.

You decide that all Dublin supporters, every last one of them, conforms to your tired old ridiculous stereotype. You have no problem differentiating for the Clare supporters, you can see through the odd jibe from them here and there and see they are still "true GAA people". For some reason you've no ability to do this for Dublin.

Only Dublin have fans goad, only Dubs lack humility, big bad Dubs……..whine whine whine. You seem to think that you can't have the same craic you used to as a supporter and of course it is the Dubs to blame for that. I'd suggest you look at yourself and question why you can't have the craic because the rest of us from all corners of Ireland are still mingling and socialising before, after and during games.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13729 - 07/02/2014 09:52:31    1542607

To answer your question Hurling dub is yes

I have witnessed trouble at matches involving dublin as recently as the all ireland hurling semi final and im sure there is other cork supporters that were at that game that witnessed it too and will confirm the fact.

No Dublin do not mix in the same way as other fans at big games. Actually the best set of fans iv ever mixed with were in fact Donegal at the 2012 all ireland final.

Regarding Dublin packing the hill. Dublin pack the hill when they are winning. I remember dublins barren period and the hill certainly wasnt singing.

The songs i was talking about was that stupid soccer nonsense that id be going on when the sing all the way through the match. Iv no objection to Molly being banged out when victory looking likely and cork are well capable of banging out the Banks when were going well.

Regarding the ALIEN comment i would have to say ye alienate yer selves. In 2011 everyone in the country was roaring on Dublin for the final other than the kerry fans we all thought after knocking on the door for so long that ye deserved it. But its the sheer lack of humility that dublin posess after a good win that alienates ye from others. It one thing being a bad looser but it alot worse being a bad winner. And in 2013 i saw both of these from Dublin supporters both in here and at the matches.

I love dublin and love dublin people i love their wit quick thinking and general craic. But in nearly 30 years supporting cork iv been in good and bad places great wins and huge losses (Galway in 2002) particularly sticks in my mind.

But to give you and example of how i conduct my self at a match and there after. In 1999 all ireland football final the only tickets i could get were right slap bang in the middle of the meath fans. At many stages during the match exchanges with these fans were tense and tough. But on the final whistle i stood up and shook the hand of every single meath fan i pass while exiting the grounds.

What happens on the field stays on the field.

But i do love the Dubs

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 07/02/2014 10:04:23    1542609

Dear me Ritchie, what brought that on. Was it you Clondalkin? I'm actually very insulted by that!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 07/02/2014 10:15:06    1542613

Dublin supporters never shake hands with their opponents. Too busy trying to pick their pockets.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/02/2014 10:25:24    1542617

MesAmis

Im quite happy to stand by my post. It is an opinion formed by words and actions iv witnessed both here and at games and regarding getting over me self i am happy out in me own skin with my own opinions.

Im sorry if my post enraged you in anyway but was simply calling it how i see it. But wish you the best in the up coming championships

Take care of yer self

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 07/02/2014 10:31:22    1542626

ritchie

MesAmis

Im quite happy to stand by my post. It is an opinion formed by words and actions iv witnessed both here and at games and regarding getting over me self i am happy out in me own skin with my own opinions.

Im sorry if my post enraged you in anyway but was simply calling it how i see it. But wish you the best in the up coming championships

Take care of yer self

Stand by your post and I'll stand by mine. Your post was a load of tired old cliched BS that lacks any originality, thought or truth.

If your happy with living with your double standards then that's your prerogative but don't be surprised when people highlight it. It is unfortunate that you are unable to mix with opposition supporters through your own inadequacy and bias though and I do hope you can rectify that.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13729 - 07/02/2014 10:41:08    1542634