Biggest rivalry going, but where is the publicity?

Sound lads just hitting the road now, are we crazy or what :-) we're like the Beverly hillbillys all we're missing is the grandmother sitting on the roof.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/02/2014 13:23:24    1539576

Just been in the Ticket Office - full steam ahead for the 2 games in Croker..

Fairly wild up here so wrap up well my fellow Hill 16 ticket holders.. :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 01/02/2014 14:37:42    1539604

Lol @ Kingdomboy1

Y'all come back now :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 01/02/2014 14:54:30    1539614

When the teams and players start taking the league seriously, then the media might.
Jim Mcguinness said last year that he was happy for Donegal to be relegated. keeping that in mind we should be grateful that anyone even goes to the games.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 01/02/2014 15:36:37    1539628

:-) realdub, we is in Kildare now near newbridge yee haw, and that's great news that games going ahead it'l be a cold night in the hill boys but ye'r a hardy bunch in the capital glad we're under the hood in cusack , roll on captain Americas for the supper.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/02/2014 15:46:55    1539632

realdub

It's just the medias lust for bromance, Dublin & Kerry, it has a nice ring to it, like :)

Most rivalries are within the provinces for obvious reasons , because Dublin & Kerry cross swords at the business end, there is scope for national interest and like it or lump it, it works !

But does it work? I have often enjoyed watching both sides. But in terms of actual rivalry, I haven't really been feeling it in their games in recent decades. Perhaps this is because in the past 3 years, there has been a feeling that Kerry are not at their best. The best rivalries tend to be over a given period, between two sides.

For me, there is nothing like the feeling of watching the two bests teams that currently exist play each other. I don't particularly care who those two teams happen to be, or which province they are from. Simply knowing in your mind that both are at the summit and battling for supremacy.

Tyrone and Kerry brought this feeling in the 2000's. Two simply phenomenal teams, between whom there was a deep rivalry between.

I look this current decade, and Dublin are definitely amongst the top two, with 2 x All Irelands already under their belt. I'm not sure who their rival of the decade would be, currently Mayo or Donegal maybe. But that could all change with an emerging Tyrone looking good and Meath too.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 01/02/2014 18:00:47    1539685

joncarter

When the teams and players start taking the league seriously, then the media might.
Jim Mcguinness said last year that he was happy for Donegal to be relegated. keeping that in mind we should be grateful that anyone even goes to the games.

Jim McGuinness didn't say he would be happy to be relegated. He said his priority with a Injury crippled squad was the championship. For him, he had to use it as a chance to give returning players and new players competitive games.

I think the league as a prize competition is clearly well behind the Provincial championship and All Ireland championship in terms of Importance. However it does serve top teams well, by being an excellent run of competitive games.

It can be a spring board for some teams, by giving them traction and getting them on a run. In some cases it can be an Indicator of who will win the All Ireland.

I don't agree with Mickey Harte's view that nobody from Division 2 will win the All Ireland. Having watched Division 3 teams like Meath and Monaghan scare big guns in the championship, with Monaghan actually winning the Ulster Championship ( Something Mickey Harte's Division 1 runners up couldn't do ).

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 01/02/2014 18:18:33    1539692

Yeh Gary I think it works and so does the media apparently but I appreciate what you're saying!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 01/02/2014 19:19:36    1539720

Yeh Gary I think it works and so does the media apparently but I appreciate what you're saying!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 01/02/2014 19:49:16    1539726

Nice little game here with the above mentioned, some goal by O'Donohue!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 01/02/2014 19:50:24    1539727

Good game, Kerry very good in the first 35, great blocking by the kingdom. Dublin played most of the 2nd half with 14 and played very well. Excellent debut from Costello, what a future for him!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 01/02/2014 20:36:03    1539736

Good game, Kerry very good in the first 35, great blocking by the kingdom. Dublin played most of the 2nd half with 14 and played very well. Excellent debut from Costello, what a future for him!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 01/02/2014 20:48:29    1539740

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 01/02/2014 20:49:52    1539741

Exciting match , the other game between Derry & tyrone was a great match too...flicking between the two and cheering on davy fitzs family on Irelands fittest family..entertaining evening all round.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 01/02/2014 20:55:55    1539745

Good match overall, the Dublin conveyor belt of talent keeps going, fourteen men? doesn't matter, still too much talent for Kerry to handle, shoe ins for the next couple of All Ireland titles.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 01/02/2014 21:01:20    1539751

I enjoyed this game, Kerry were well up for it and a goal of the season contender for their young all-star. But dublin looked like they could take this when they felt they needed to, that bench strikes again.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 01/02/2014 21:09:51    1539756

Lots to work on

Costello / Lowndes played well

Always pleasing to beat Kerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 01/02/2014 21:34:08    1539767

this dublin tam is a dangerous animal the belief just rises out of the players and the fans when the battle commences.

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 01/02/2014 21:57:06    1539787

Brendan kealy killed us again with his kick outs , I've said it before and il say it again WE will win no national title with him between the sticks. Fair play to Dublin mdm made a massive difference when he came on as did mcCaffery , ref was harsh on us after the sending off I tought as well. But good game and delighted we weren't hammered.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/02/2014 22:01:22    1539788

The ref was very poor. OK game considering the conditions.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2014 09:26:57    1539800