FL Division 3

Offaly simply didn't want to know today i expected so much more from them. We can only beat whats in front of us and we strolled to div 2. The Roscommon crowds are very disappointing maybe they are sick of div 3 and some of them will return next year?

Well done to all the Roscommon players and management both put in huge work to get to this stage and deserve the run out in Croke park on April 26th. Well done to Cavan also and still no goal let, TBH i would like our defence to be as tight as that!

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3759 - 16/03/2014 19:37:53    1560512

The analyser, well done to the Rossies, hopefully yis will emerge and challenge Mayo in Connacht, they badly need it and Connacht football needs it. Roscommon football is looking up at the minute, good underage teams, senior team progressing and a re-developed Hyde park on the way.

Yes still no goal against us. I'm looking forward to this final now, a free scoring Roscommon team against a water tight Cavan side. A total contrast of styles, should make this very interesting.

Not sure will either team show their full hand in the dead rubber game. Result is meaningless anyway until we get to Croke Park.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 16/03/2014 20:29:07    1560583

Roscommon and Cavan going great. Really believe Rossies are the only team out west at present that might stop the Mayo juggernaut in connaucht!!!

Cavan are fast becoming a team that nobody will like to play. Would like to see them do something in ulster. Remember 97 well with wee martin in charge!!

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 16/03/2014 20:39:17    1560587

What's with all this Roscommon Cavan love in!! Just cos both teams are promoted now we're patting each other on the back and saying, 'fair play boys ye are a great team'. 'Thanks very much, ye are a great team also'. Guarantee ya next season when both of us are battling relegation we'll be slagging each other off. Get over it lads, us Rossies are a mile better than Cavan. Cavan just got lucky with two tight wins over an understrength Longford and Sligo team. Only for that they'd be still battling it out to get second spot.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 16/03/2014 20:42:26    1560590

Oddball,

We are just softening you up before we beat you in Croke Park.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/03/2014 21:27:30    1560624

Jack-goff poor turnout for a team playing as good as we are, there are about 1000 die hards like meself and to be honest another 500 is as much, and we will have to listen to the stay aways saying whats wrong with the team on the evidence of what they read or hear second hand, but thats life and those who have been there this year know that something special could be on the way, the basics are all right all we need is experience playing better teams and we will be right there.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 16/03/2014 21:30:39    1560627

Oddball give it a rest i didn't see you posting earlier in the season and now you are trying to play Mr Arrogant.

Delighted we are finally out of div 3 the amount of bad habits we learnt in this divisions will take time to shift. Also well done to Cavan a up incoming team under good management that are sure to do fine in div 2. See you guys in two weeks and Croke park. Goodbye to the rest!

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 16/03/2014 21:47:04    1560640

Oddball give it a rest, i didn't see you posting earlier in the season and now you are trying to play Mr Arrogant.

Delighted we are finally out of div 3 the amount of bad habits we learnt in this divisions will take time to shift. Also well done to Cavan a up incoming team under good management that are sure to do fine in div 2. See you guys in two weeks and Croke park. Goodbye to the rest!

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 16/03/2014 21:56:10    1560652

Good to see two good football counties changing their fortunes around. Both Cavan and Roscommon seem to be working hard at the younger age groups and getting some reward. Certainly Roscommon impressed me at Hyde Park against Tyrone in the qualifiers last year and Cavan made big strides last year.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 17/03/2014 08:40:21    1560665

ros would have got bigger crowds in the 2 first matches if the had not been played in kiltoom. Kiltoom is like an away match for a good junk of Roscommon.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 17/03/2014 17:06:56    1560945

17/03/2014 08:40:21
Byanthon

Good to see two good football counties changing their fortunes around. Both Cavan and Roscommon seem to be working hard at the younger age groups and getting some reward. Certainly Roscommon impressed me at Hyde Park against Tyrone in the qualifiers last year and Cavan made big strides last year.

Agreed and will now be interesting how both fare in div 2 which is a big step up.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3350 - 17/03/2014 18:45:33    1561059

ros1 Where were the supporters yesterday, dry day ideal for football and their county about to achieve div 2 status after ten long years in the doldrums,

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 17/03/2014 21:38:44    1561238

Cavan v Roscommon..........ROSCOMMON
Offaly v Limerick..........LIMERICK
Sligo v Longford...........SLIGO
Fermanagh v Wexford........FERMANAGH

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 27/03/2014 19:37:49    1565984

Cavan v Roscommon..Cavan
Offaly v Limerick..LIMERICK
Sligo v Longford..SLIGO
Fermanagh v Wexford. FERMANAGH

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 27/03/2014 20:43:33    1566012

Cavan v Roscommon..Roscommon
Offaly v Limerick..LIMERICK
Sligo v Longford..SLIGO
Fermanagh v Wexford. FERMANAGH

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/03/2014 21:42:14    1566030

i was in Breffni park last night and it was a poor game.Roscommon didn't show their full hand. Cavan look strong in defence but Roscommon only started 5 of their starting team.Should be intresting in HQ in a few weeks.

ros25 (Roscommon) - Posts: 5 - 30/03/2014 11:44:32    1566863

Indeed ros25
And Cavan have showed their full hand and have nothing more
Should be easy for Rossies with 10 more to add to the starting team while Cavan
Fielded 1st 15

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 30/03/2014 12:12:52    1566882

Fielded first 15 ? Mackey, Givney, James McEnroe - plus U21's were missing

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 30/03/2014 12:42:09    1566895

DD10

Indeed ros25
And Cavan have showed their full hand and have nothing more
Should be easy for Rossies with 10 more to add to the starting team while Cavan
Fielded 1st 15

DD10 You have been listening to Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger for too long!! Mind games I suspect!!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 30/03/2014 13:32:24    1566922

Just responding to the theme ... Roscommon experimenting while Cavan went for it
Cavan and Roscommon both missing many ( about 7-8 I'd
Say)
In our case
McLaughlin
Clarke
McEnroe
Givney
Argue
Mackey
Flanagan
While other u21s not used e.g mcvitty
And captain A Clarke and Keating back from long injury layoffs