FL Division 3

I dont know why the rossies are knocking Cavan so bad .apart from you saying the only team we beat was Derry ,yes that's true ,but we beat them ,and armagh and there in a higher league, we played Kerry we played Tyrone we played Monaghan ,our lads put it up to the best teams playing a higher grade of football than us ,we battled against better teams than you have played, so put us down if you want but these young lads have already great experance and are not afraid of rosscommon !

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 08/03/2014 17:58:11    1556623

Its problay because Roscommon have beaten Cavan in the last 2 years in the league. Beat Cavan well last year but Cavan weren't at full strength. Cavan have improved since then. As for the Ross fan who said there was no player like Cregg, Kilbride, or Smith, take off your blinkers.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 08/03/2014 18:25:32    1556630

Why are the Rossies knocking Cavan?

Well both counties have had great success at underage level, particularly u21 in the past few seasons.

Who's made the most of it?

We have.

Simple really.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 08/03/2014 18:43:57    1556635

Ned_Stormcrow.

Yes,Cavan beat Derry away in the qualifiers last year.That was a great result.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 09/03/2014 10:12:50    1556781

salvador
County: Roscommon

Ned_Stormcrow.

Yes,Cavan beat Derry away in the qualifiers last year.That was a great result.

Indeed it was a great result. Derry are no pushover, just ask Kerry, Westmeath and Tyrone this season so far.

Derry will be making a serious play for an Ulster Championship title this year, and I actually don't think Cavan would beat them this season.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 09/03/2014 10:42:08    1556789

GaryMc82
County: Derry

Derry will be making a serious play for an Ulster Championship title this year, and I actually don't think Cavan would beat them this season.

Yes, Derry are a rapidly improving side and are finally climbing the ladder towards the top of Ulster football. I think they have some fantastic individual players, and they're a young side too like ourselves. It would appear that McIver is at last getting the most out of a talented bunch.

How will they go in Ulster this year? They're a match for anyone in it thats for sure. I wouldn't say we're stronger than yous, but I certainly wouldn't fear playing yis again, put it like that as I think we're well capable of beating yis. Ulster is a level playing field for 5 out of 9 teams this year, and two more Down and Armagh could upset anyone on the day.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/03/2014 11:19:46    1556801

Cavan-Roscommon shaping up to be a great couple of battles.

The irresistible force vs the immovable object!

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 09/03/2014 16:16:05    1557004

Great last gasp win for us today. We're becoming a bit of bogey side for Wexford it seems with late comebacks. I reckon we'd be hoping to get 4 points off Fermanagh and Offaly, which should be enough to secure Division 3 status for another year. That would be great progress for us, as we are very much in rebuilding mode at present.

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 09/03/2014 17:21:47    1557102

Wexford in real trouble of slipping down to Div 4 after being one of the favourites to get out of this division. Looks like Cavan and Roscommon will go up and play in Croke Park for the Div 3 title. One team putting up huge scores, the other giving very little away. Very interesting game ahead between us.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/03/2014 17:41:58    1557124

Delighted with our away win in a venue we normally lose in. Great character and heart shown by the lads. 4-10 conceded is a little worrying however we should learn from that and hopefully tighten up. It's a while since we had free scoring forward line or playing free flowing football. Another few wins and we'll be playing at higher level, delighted with the progress this year.

Going well for Cavan too its the results that matter and who cares whats Joe Brolly thinks!

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3759 - 09/03/2014 20:19:30    1557278

True and I can't wait for Cavan v roscommon should be a great game .the two county's are going very well .we played today without risking our u21s and Keating and givney which was great ,even though givney was playing midfield and corner forward according to the programme !

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 09/03/2014 20:35:40    1557299

What a rollercoaster today in brewester park, we defended like a div 4 team our midfield were good and bad but going forward we were brilliant, we learned more from that game than the other 3 league games together, we showed composure when in trouble and great heart and fighting spirit when it was needed. Our mistakes can be worked on and if we hold our heads promotion is assured, we are playing a great brand of football and will be well able for the standard in div 2. Well done to all connected with the team, it is heartwarming to see such performances.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 09/03/2014 21:17:25    1557349

Not sure how great the Cavan v Roscommon game or possible games will be? promotion is the number target for both and both are well on their way to achieving that now. Our game today was a goal fest some great forward play and some woeful defending however i'm delighted with the 4 point win probably better than i expected TBH.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 09/03/2014 21:23:06    1557356

although its looking like Cavan and Roscommon to go up, but three games left to go. Both teams still need another win before they can be pretty sure of promotion. Have to say been very impressed with the score Ros have been registering

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 10/03/2014 11:14:32    1557549

Wexford v Sligo..........WEXFORD
Longford v Cavan.........CAVAN
Limerick v Fermanagh.....LIMERICK
Roscommon v Offaly.......ROSCOMMON

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 11/03/2014 16:05:35    1558330

I think Cavan will get it very hard to beat Longford on Sunday.
Nothing won and no promotions yet.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/03/2014 17:38:49    1558407

I think Longford will win on Sunday, the injury list is long for Cavan while key players have returned for Longford.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3348 - 11/03/2014 17:58:31    1558419

Wexford v Sligo..........Sligo
Longford v Cavan.........Longford
Limerick v Fermanagh.....fermanagh
Roscommon v Offaly.......Roscommon

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 11/03/2014 18:05:26    1558423

Wexford v Sligo...Wexford
Longford v Cavan...Cavan
Limerick v Fermanagh. fermanagh
Roscommon v Offaly...Roscommon