FL Division 3

Conviently Hill you totally fail to mention McDermott punching the Cavan player fully in the face at the end and getting off with a soft yellow; as blatant a red card as you will ever see. Well done Roscommon, they stuck to their own game and got their just rewards. Cavan got what they deserved.....nothing at all. For the first 15 mins they were excellent, played some nice attacking stuff and opened a 5 point lead; then they stopped and resorted to turgid, awful type. Instead of doing what they were doing, going forward and trying to win the game, Cavan then got all their men behind the ball and tried to stop Roscommon playing and it backfired massively. It disrupted Cavan and they started that dreadful, close quarters, handpassing, possession nonsense and lost the ball umpteen number of times after that. It would be interesting to see how many scores Roscommon got from turnover ball. For 55 mins Cavan were like condemned men; as Roscommon picked off scores Cavan lost their confidence and kicked wide after wide and there was only going to be one winner. Cavan should look at the video of this game and then stop it after 15 mins; it really was embarrassing, behind the sofa stuff after that.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/04/2014 21:10:37    1580478

towards the end
cavan in the space of sixty seconds could have had two guys sent off
under the hoganstand the guy who won the free appeared to have struck the ross player as play restarted
then after the ball was worked out I think it was keating defo struck ross defender in the face
neither even got a card

Funny thing is, Roscommon just got on with it. How many other teams have made a big issue of it

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 26/04/2014 21:12:06    1580479

AthCliath

breakingball22
County: Louth

1580445 Cavan's wides certainly lost them the games. Their style of play aint suited to Croker. I reckon it will be tough for them to bounce back for Ulster!

Not trying to be smart , but what does that mean?

AthCliath just suggesting that Cavan seem to like to get men behind the ball and crowd teams out. I dont think that it will work in the open space of Croke Park especially as they seem to play a hand passing game.

breakingball22 (Louth) - Posts: 419 - 26/04/2014 21:31:34    1580500

Why did the Cavan forward kick a point in injury time when they were a goal down?? I have seen that a few times with teams. Bizarre.

As for the people giving out about staging the matches in Croke Park, they are national finals and teams from the lower division deserve to play there too. When was the last time Clare footballers played there?

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 26/04/2014 21:37:27    1580515

valley84
County: Westmeath

towards the end
cavan in the space of sixty seconds could have had two guys sent off
under the hoganstand the guy who won the free appeared to have struck the ross player as play restarted
then after the ball was worked out I think it was keating defo struck ross defender in the face
neither even got a card

Funny thing is, Roscommon just got on with it. How many other teams have made a big issue of it

thats very true both got up straight away to their credit
just thaught it strange the linesman for the first incident was 5 yards away
and the ref was watching the second incident
you would have expected some sort of card
also before ulsterman has a hissy fit proclaiming me to be anti ulster next
(I have been labelled anything everything this week why not throw that in too)
I did feel the ross guy should have possibly got a red too
but the ref at least dealt with that incident where as the other two happened
in the same minute and both went unpunished thats why I mentioned them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/04/2014 21:49:14    1580528

county man
County: Limerick

Why did the Cavan forward kick a point in injury time when they were a goal down?? I have seen that a few times with teams. Bizarre.

As for the people giving out about staging the matches in Croke Park, they are national finals and teams from the lower division deserve to play there too. When was the last time Clare footballers played there?

totally agree
would have been having words with him for taking a point at that late stage
and your correct it must be great for clare and tipp players to get to play in croker
they put in the effort and maybe only chance in their carrears to play in croker
something they will always remember and can be proud of

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/04/2014 21:51:43    1580531

Well said county man! Sure wasn't it great to see Roscommon and Tipp footballers lifting silverware in the Hogan!

darraghheslin12 (Roscommon) - Posts: 70 - 26/04/2014 21:54:07    1580535

Where did the referee get the 72 seconds over the 2 minutes indicated ?.

I know the 2 minutes indicated were a minium of 2 minutes but had Cavan scored a goal in the added on time over the 2 minutes another referee might have found himself in a bad situation this week also.

Time to bring in the hooter I feel, the referee clearly gave Cavan a chance to win the game at the end but blew up when Roscommon won possession from the late Cavan free.

I find that in close run games referees often play on beyond the allocated time indicated in many cases the time he plays on is justified. Referee's regulary give the team that's losing narrowly a chance to get a score to win or draw a game especially if they are attacking even when time is long up.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 26/04/2014 22:00:25    1580541

Well done Roscommon, cavans arrogance saw them loose they thought it was only a matter of showing up and beating roscommon

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 27/04/2014 08:12:12    1580544

Well done Roscommon, reality check for cavan

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 27/04/2014 09:31:56    1580553

county man
County: Limerick

As far as I know it was in 2004 when Clare won the first ever Tommy Murphy cup against Sligo.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 27/04/2014 09:52:55    1580559

From starting the game so strongly, with fast counter attacking clinical football its a real pity we resorted to trying to hold what we had. Also think Keating and Dunne waste to much chances if we are to be successful in Ulster. Thought was good and should start come summer.

fxhvg (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 27/04/2014 10:27:21    1580570

cavan dont have any classy forwards who will take a game by the scruff of the neck and bang over the winning scores. Dunne is probably there top scorer but he lost the game for Cavan and if he has a bad game then no one else will win it for them. Cant believe they won every game and lost the final that will not be good for the team morale at all.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 27/04/2014 10:36:17    1580572

Well done Turfman, sorry Murfman, you win the race to be the first Monaghan head gloating at Cavan losing a challenge match in April. How predictable, as predictable as the 8+ points skinning your 'injury-hit' team will get today (excuses in already). Will we be hearing from you after 4pm??

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 27/04/2014 10:48:22    1580579

Cavan very poor up front last night no forwards to come on either to make a difference

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 27/04/2014 11:36:50    1580596

I wouldn't necessarily agree that Cavan lack forwards. They have plenty of options but they just need to be cuter in their approach. The big difference last night was Roscommon hit 0-8 from placed balls, Cavan 0-2. Instead of shooting from narrow angles, the likes of Keating and Dunne need to lay it off to the man coming through or else put the head down themselves. It's inevitable they'll win frees.

By the way if you look at the return from play from each of the Cavan forwards versus their direct Roscommon number, I think Cavan come on top in 5 of the 6 positions.

That's all really. The reaction last night is probably one of disappointment but Cavan need not be too disheartened. I actually think Cavan have some of the best forwards in Ulster. But they just need to tweak a few things. A point or two from your corner-forwards these days is a big return once they're winning everything that's being played into them and retaining position. Keating is a ball-winner. Dunne maybe needs to work on that aspect of his game.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 27/04/2014 12:03:41    1580601

Well done Roscommon, a team minus the u-21's can beat contenders for Ulster. This is a great lift for western football. Ros would be able to win Connacht this year.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 27/04/2014 12:16:48    1580608

No excuses ... Rossies looked Hungary for it
However lets not go nuts here and show a little perspective
Cavan promoted (early march )as was the objective - and although a win last night would have been nice - we did start without our u21s, played 2 lads playing their second and third league match
And both were bad !!
Also some positional strange selections

With all that said they were poor!

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 27/04/2014 13:38:02    1580639

Well done Roscommon and John Evans.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/04/2014 14:46:36    1580677

God the Monaghan boys never miss a chance to gloat at Cavan,never wish them well,always want to see them beat, i suppose Cavan beating them at all levels this year does not help, and over the weekend the Cavan minors hammering Monaghan,Ulster minor champions,was also hard to take, then Cavan,Tyrone,Donegal,Derry,Armagh,Down, sitting at the top table of Ulster senior football,well i suppose that along with all the times Cavan has beaten Monaghan over the years is very hard to take. look Monaghan stop crying, go and win your first All Ireland, by the way well done Monaghan on beating us today,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 27/04/2014 16:53:48    1580746