FL Division 3

Roscommon without the u21 players will be a weatened team, 4 of the u21 will feature on the championship lineout in the summer, their are 6 currently on the senior panel but in my opinion at least 2 more have played themselves onto the senior panel. Anyway saturday night will be a bit of a non event for ros at least with some huge fish to fry the following weekend. Hopefully I will be there on saturday night and maybe Cavan might come out and try and play a little football and see how it goes. One point in the last 25 minutes last saturday was a poor return and while I was hoping Cavan would win they have only themselves to blame. I really think if they came out in the last 15 minutes they could have taken Dublin, The dubs were demoralised and unsure at that stage, so what about a game of football on saturday evening lads and see how it goes, if ye try ye may be even able to play a bit!!

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 23/04/2014 13:07:42    1578977

Donegalman

It wont be a non event. I think that Cavan are in good shape. They have kept many of their players fresh all thru the league, and winning in croke park is somehting that neither ross or cavan have done in a very long time. That is something to play for, ie getting a win there will be better than 10 challenge games before the championship.

Cavan won in Croke Park last August. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 23/04/2014 14:09:15    1579023

giveballaghback
County: Roscommon

Roscommon without the u21 players will be a weatened team, 4 of the u21 will feature on the championship lineout in the summer, their are 6 currently on the senior panel but in my opinion at least 2 more have played themselves onto the senior panel. Anyway saturday night will be a bit of a non event for ros at least with some huge fish to fry the following weekend. Hopefully I will be there on saturday night and maybe Cavan might come out and try and play a little football and see how it goes. One point in the last 25 minutes last saturday was a poor return and while I was hoping Cavan would win they have only themselves to blame. I really think if they came out in the last 15 minutes they could have taken Dublin, The dubs were demoralised and unsure at that stage, so what about a game of football on saturday evening lads and see how it goes, if ye try ye may be even able to play a bit!!

Think we'll beat yous by 2.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/04/2014 15:10:27    1579096

"and maybe Cavan might come out and try and play a little football and see how it goes.", "..., so what about a game of football on saturday evening lads and see how it goes, if ye try ye may be even able to play a bit!!"
You're only as good as your last game.... And I do believe that we beat you in that, so. Please stop the attempts to goad Cavan with your bolly based bandwagon beliefs.

notimpressed (UK) - Posts: 98 - 23/04/2014 16:36:36    1579165

@ s goldrick

Not sure about this be a bit of a non-event comment you made to be honest. Croke park and a cup to be won is something that a county like Cavan don't see too often of late at senior level. I watched Cavan in the McKenna cup final and they went all out to win it and this Saturday will be no different.

Rossies without their 6 U-21s and four injured one for have to fancy Cavan to win.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 23/04/2014 17:55:58    1579212

Not trying to goad Cavan, was at the game in breffni when Cavan continued with the massdefence even when ros were down to 14 men,
I really think you should try and play football, ye did not win 4 ulster u21 on the trot without having good footballers so give them a chance to play, I guarantee many people in Cavan are of the same opinion as me. I think Cavan will win in Saturday (I hope im wrong) but I hope we meet again on a bigger stage in the summer when I will be very confident Ross will win and with a bit to spare.
Roscommon wont have a strong team on Saturday, take ten from any panel and its weak but unfortunately take ten from a smaller county and resources are limited, still I expect a good effort from ros. Best of luck to both teams and to Cavan in the Ulster championship

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 23/04/2014 18:45:38    1579230

Sorry there, I forgot about the london game, which of course cavan won. I will rephrase it so, it is a game that either would do well to win for the experience of winning in croke park in front of a big crowd and all of that. i think that out of the 2 teams, cavan may be in better shape, but it will be very close indeed.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/04/2014 18:52:13    1579233

Roscommon done the very same that day ,when we kicked the ball in high I counted 1ross forward in our half beside our keeper ,and roscommon had to do that cause man for man our forwards against your backs you hadn't a hope,Keating was winning the ball against two and three defenders all the time ,so I'll be expecting to see the same stuff from you again ,mass defending and running at Cavan in groups 'at least we admit we do it.

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 23/04/2014 19:00:06    1579237

Would a panel comprising the best players from Cavan/Roscommon be a realistic Sam Maguire contender? We seem to have the backs and they have the forwards!

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 23/04/2014 19:00:57    1579238

23/04/2014 19:00:06
bisto kid

Roscommon done the very same that day ,when we kicked the ball in high I counted 1ross forward in our half beside our keeper ,and roscommon had to do that cause man for man our forwards against your backs you hadn't a hope,Keating was winning the ball against two and three defenders all the time ,so I'll be expecting to see the same stuff from you again ,mass defending and running at Cavan in groups 'at least we admit we do it.

Keating was marked by one defender and was average enough. Whenever we bring players back is totally pointless as all they mark is space now compare that to Cavan you have system in place and all 12/13 actually defend. Saying that we have defenders with All Ireland,sigersons cup medals plenty of good footballers that shouldn't be underrated.

BTW only 2 of the 6 defenders that started the group game v Cavan will start on Saturday night.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3759 - 23/04/2014 20:25:56    1579265

Just a question to the analyser from roscommon. What in your opinion would be currently Roscommon's best starting 15. How many of those started the league game v Cavan and how many of them are likely to play this "league final" v Cavan.

Names please.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/04/2014 15:10:44    1579902

s goldrick i have answered your question as best i can over on the Cavan section. The names you shall become more familiar with you in time.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3759 - 25/04/2014 17:45:18    1580027

Both teams have gone well in the league. Going well in division 3 can lead in to a decent championship. Like the final a level below, both teams should be looking to win this. Yes they are already promoted but if they have loftier ambitions, they should be looking to win at their level and use it as a springboard for their championship ambitions.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7865 - 26/04/2014 10:15:40    1580157

Monaghan won the div 3 title last year and went on to win Ulster i wonder can Cavan do likewise.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 26/04/2014 11:05:36    1580183

Cavan will win handy enough. It's very convenient for Roscommon that the 2 games they have to play in the league against Cavan they don't have to win, and have their excuses ready made for them. 21s or no 21s Cavan are the better team

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 26/04/2014 11:56:21    1580207

A bee in your bonnet about us rossies again square_ball_69.

Who used excuses? D Keenan,N Daly,C Cafferky,C Shine,C Cregg,C Murtagh,N Carty,D O'Malley didn't start against Cavan in Breffni park thats a fact not an excuse any for your information none of those eight players are U-21s.

Cavan win tonight fair play to them for the record they have already beaten a better side than us e.g Derry last summer. We have gained promotion the next step is to stay up in div 2 next spring.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 26/04/2014 12:43:16    1580220

Nothing between Cavan and roscommon two well matched sides. Expect this game to be low scoring and the side with the best free takers will win.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3350 - 26/04/2014 14:15:49    1580253

Cavan are rightly rated above Roscommon due to the Derry result last year and league form thus far.They also seem to have a more settled team and a better midfield.I dont think there will be much in it but I expect Roscommon to win if we break even at midfield.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 26/04/2014 16:43:39    1580294

Mr_Pundit
County: UK

Monaghan won the div 3 title last year and went on to win Ulster i wonder can Cavan do likewise.

You will have to do a lot more than that to win an ulster title

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 26/04/2014 17:31:46    1580317

And the players line up to shake each others hand soccer style..what next?.. players tip off and not allowed to handle the ball?

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 26/04/2014 19:00:17    1580372