Winners of All-Ireland SFC 2014

jackhammer
County: Louth

1534904 Royaldunne i see we have everyone talking about great teams now from the 80' to 90'.But back to today Dublin should win outside bet Meath could come in the back door and if there get to semi/f no one will want to meet them.ps the 80'was better

You must be joking???? I'd only love to meet Meath in an All Ireland Semi Final and beat the bejaysus out of those unwashed runts again :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/01/2014 09:01:57    1534983

This years AI I think is between-------Donegal,Dublin,Tyrone and Mayo. I would not have all this talk about Dublin , lucky I thought against Kerry in 2011 and even luckier against Donegal in that's years semi final. Also last year they did not play like aGREAT team ye are all referring to Could or should Mayo have beaten them??? Saw bits of it on TV at Xmas and Mayo made some horrible mistakes (giving away ball that led to Dublin scores).
Also you have this Black card ,so if used properly ( referees being consistent on the matter and giving one when it is a Black card) it definitely could change a game Plus you will get injuries but some teams are lucky and can get through the year without injuries. Cork were very unlucky a few years ago, lost some key players Also I would ask::Did Cork not look every bit as promising around 2009/2010/2011 as Dublin do today???
I can't see Galway or Cavan making much of an inroad:::they would be lucky to won their provincial final. Whatever about Galway doing it in Connaught ,I can't see Cavan doing it in Ulster,Donegal and Tyrone are too far in front. Kildare for me could won Leinster if Dublin don't perform but Dublin still could win the AI through the back door Kerry have a lot of older players and are more or less rebuilding so that rules them out. (By the way what about Kerry getting relegated from Div 1.)
So for me the four teams I said at the start have a massive chance and whoever adopts to the Black card system the better can win For me Donegal vMayo final,eg another Tatihoking final.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 22/01/2014 09:55:29    1534999

hardcore
County: Monaghan

We will beat Tyrone on June the 15th,after that i dont know what we will do,but Tyrone are in our taughts already

I really dont think so. But u never know in ulster football..Monaghan won last year fair and square all right, but didnt show much before or after the ulster final. It will be interesting to see how they fair in the league. We will see.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/01/2014 10:18:30    1535003

Donegalman
Yes it is unlikely that we will win it, but I hope we will have a good run. Order of favorites in 6 tiers in my view.
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo, Kildare
Donegal, Galway, Cork
The field.

Donegalman, what reason would you place kildare ahead of Donegal, Galway, Cork--these are big teams, kildare have not beaten one in over 6 years. who would get the scores for us? Not a top 8 team and not likely to beat one either i'm afraid.

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 22/01/2014 10:28:39    1535010

Lucky against Donegal in 2011??? Do me a favour and explain
your thinking please?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/01/2014 10:31:40    1535011

Of course Dublin were lucky against Donegal in 2011 semi final. Had C McFadden got a goal instead of a point after half time it would have been all over for Dublin Also what changed the game that day was K Lacy going off injured. For long periods of the game Dublin did not know what to do Just think of all your keekouts ,any amount of Dublin players to find, in effect all Dublin keekouts were not contested by Donegal with Dublin on possession all the time yet ye won by just 2 points The game was not good to luck at bur Donegals system was spot on for the day.
The other point I have is the way The present Dublin team are hyped up ::::there going to dominate for the next ten years etc etc I can't have it ::: they might won another AI but they won't dominate They will get beat and when you look back it was Cluxon and B Brogan (2 senior players) who made last years victory possible. Donegal proved in 2012 that with the right manager , right attitude, good system with all players doing what their told and keeping their discipline and with a couple of top class forwards then a team can come from nowhere.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 22/01/2014 10:59:45    1535020

Im going for a Wexford/Wicklow final!

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 22/01/2014 11:09:19    1535024

SamOnErrigal

I can't see Galway or Cavan making much of an inroad:::they would be lucky to won their provincial final. Whatever about Galway doing it in Connaught ,I can't see Cavan doing it in Ulster,Donegal and Tyrone are too far in front.

Ah here. Donegal and Tyrone too far in front of Cavan? Monaghan are comprehensively a better team than Donegal, they hockied yous in Clones last year. In addition, the whole media created myth about the Donegal "system" was exposed badly last year in Clones and then in Croke Park. Donegal have a good 1-15 but we already saw the effect injuries have on that panel i.e. it crippled them. Luck brought no injuries in 2012, but you can't rely on that all the time. We'll see if Donegal have the legs in the middle of the park to cope with the youth of Tyrone and Cavan.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 22/01/2014 11:11:21    1535025

Donegal

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 22/01/2014 11:11:49    1535027

Ifs and buts! What changed the game was Connolly getting sent off and your managers insistence on playing "the system" even when you were chasing the game. Nuts!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/01/2014 11:15:44    1535032

SamOnErrigal

Kerry have a lot of older players and are more or less rebuilding so that rules them out. (By the way what about Kerry getting relegated from Div 1.)

What about it? Could've sworn the All-Ireland Champions were relegated last year .....

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/01/2014 11:21:13    1535035

"Monaghan are comprehensively a better team than Donegal"

Do you mean by last year's Ulster final? Or just in general?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9141 - 22/01/2014 11:41:25    1535046

Donegal haven't goes away you know. Think Bach to 2012, game against Derry,,Donegal dominated even the Derry boys admitted that and they played against Tyrone and Armagh in their pomp. Against Down in the Ulster final ,second half all Donegal, both games (Cork/Kerry) especially second half Donegal dominated. The real hard game and one of the toughest games I saw in a long time was Donegal v Tyrone how many other teams would hav beaten Tyrone that day ::: none
If we get back to near that form then we have a big say where the Anglo -Celt /Sam trophies end up this year we will have more or less the same team (done that--experience)plus a few new ideas from our Supreme Leader (JMG) so it could be another good year for Donegal Football Write them off at your peril.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 22/01/2014 12:04:46    1535054

SamOnErrigal

Of course Dublin were lucky against Donegal in 2011 semi final. Had C McFadden got a goal instead of a point after half time it would have been all over for Dublin Also what changed the game that day was K Lacy going off injured. For long periods of the game Dublin did not know what to do Just think of all your keekouts ,any amount of Dublin players to find, in effect all Dublin keekouts were not contested by Donegal with Dublin on possession all the time yet ye won by just 2 points The game was not good to luck at bur Donegals system was spot on for the day.

Dublin beat Donegal with 14 men deservedly in 2011.

Donegal had the Dubs in trouble alright but Dublin didn't panic and finished by far the stronger team (Donegal faded completely in the last 10 mins despite having the extra man).

Gilroy called Jimmy Mc's bluff and took off defenders for forwards and went for it even with only the 14. Jimmy and Donegal failed to react and Dublin ground the result out. Your talk of luck shows your lack of class. Better team on the day won the game. It shouldn't be so hard for you to admit even if the better team happened to be the Dubs.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 22/01/2014 12:25:50    1535072

Agree with MesAmis here.

When Connolly got sent off we really should have went for Dublin's throat. Instead, it was Gilroy who went for broke and they deservedly got over the line. It was a wee bit early for that Donegal team. We all know what happened in 2012 when McGuinness released the shackles. It remains to be seen if we can reach that level of intensity again. But I for one think that it would be a fascinating tactical battle if the two sides were to meet in the Championship this year. Dublin would probably come out on top, but it'd be intriguing to see what kind of game plan McGuinness would employ to combat Gavin's all out attack.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9141 - 22/01/2014 12:42:27    1535079

I'd say our current Champions will be extremely difficult to stop. They are the only team who could cope with losing 3-5 key men this season, due to the exceptional depth of talented players the have.

1. Dublin,
2. Donegal
3. Mayo, Tyrone, Meath

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 22/01/2014 12:52:53    1535088

switec

Donegalman, what reason would you place kildare ahead of Donegal, Galway, Cork--these are big teams, kildare have not beaten one in over 6 years. who would get the scores for us? Not a top 8 team and not likely to beat one either i'm afraid.

I would have them ahead for the simple reasons that they have huge potential, were unlucky over the past few seasons, and have a new young manager who will no doubt get the best out of them on his first and second years. That really is why. I think that mayo will fade a bit this year unless they can unearth new talent. I also think that there is no reason why kildare cant get a good run going especially if they show well in the league again.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/01/2014 13:12:11    1535100

Ned_Stormcrow

1534649 Samsforthehills

I think we've got a good chance if we can build some momentum. We never got that opporunity last year, we were lethargic and just looked absolutley knackered from the off.

For those suggesting Cavan- They'll be out first round of ulster in my humble.

What makes you think this year will be any different? Donegal won't come close to winning Ulster never mind competing for Sam, Monaghan and Tyrone are well ahead in Ulster alone and I'd safely say Cavan and Derry would not fear playing yis either

Because they haven;t been galavanting around celebrating winning an all ireland for one. (And tiw as right they did so, thoroughly deserved)

Clena bill of health, key players back from injuries. And don't worry son, we won't fear playing you lot. Not that it'll come to it.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 22/01/2014 13:12:23    1535101

hardcore
County: Monaghan

1534897 21/01/2014 17:44:05
Donegalman

Yes it is unlikely that we will win it, but I hope we will have a good run. Order of favorites in 6 tiers in my view.
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo, Kildare
Donegal, Galway, Cork
The field.

there is a lot of talk about cavan this year but I dont see it in them. They might win the mckenna cup on sunday, but that will be it for another year. I am trying to imagine them beating tyrone in the championship. I cant see it. Tyrone are back in business, and it will be a good team that will stop them.

They'll (Cavan) do nothing Hardcore. Two trips to croker last year and they think they're good value. Top 3 for me are Donegal, Tryone, Monaghan in that order given the draw. Derry will fancy themselves though, as derry always do. If Donegal can get through that then I think they'll progress to win it.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 22/01/2014 13:16:25    1535105

Lockjaw

"Monaghan are comprehensively a better team than Donegal"

Do you mean by last year's Ulster final? Or just in general?

Well lockjaw, there's a saying that goes like this, "you're only as good as your last game". So yeah, going by the last time these teams met it was one way traffic from the word go. In addition Monaghan more than likely would have found themselves in an AI semi-final only for rugby tackle gate. Compare and contrast that performance to Donegals performance against Mayo.

Div 1 was too hot to handle for Donegal last year and now both Monaghan and yourselves are in Div 2 this year. There is really nothing for me to suggest that Donegal are a better side than Monaghan. Perhaps comprehensively better is a bit too far, but they are better nonetheless, imo.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 22/01/2014 13:24:37    1535113