Winners of All-Ireland SFC 2014

It wasn't a poor return Royaldunne, Dublin, Kerry and the northern teams were also very good during the 90's, more of a surprise WE didn't win more in the first half of that decade!

Great Meath side all the same!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 20/01/2014 22:00:23    1534514

royaldunne

Jackhammer. Players like fay McDermott Giles geraghty Murphy etc were far more natural and skilful than a lot of the 80s team. Boylan said it and many would agree 2 all Ireland's was a poor return for the 90s team.

Surely questions have to be asked of the management if 2 All-Ireland's from that team was such a poor return. Especially when even most Meath people would consider that 1996 was a little fortunate (one of the luckiest points seen in an All-Ireland Final sure).

What manager could managed to get the most out of that under performing side?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 21/01/2014 09:38:03    1534524

Royaldunne

Overall we had a better team between 87-91,than 96-2001...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/01/2014 11:17:30    1534557

Its very hard comparing teams for different time periods. Football was a different game in the late 80's early 90's to the late 90's early 00's so comparing them is always going to bring different opinions. 2 Great teams with one great manager behind both of them and thats my opinion

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 21/01/2014 11:35:59    1534566

Yeah, lads, remember who youse were,where youse were,and where youse were going before Boylan.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 21/01/2014 11:57:33    1534578

In my opinion, Meath were stronger in the 87-91 era than in the mid-90s. I think that their inside forward line was much more dangerous when they had O'Rourke, Stafford and Flynn, and I would rate Hayes/McEntee as a much stronger midfield than McDermott + either McGuinness/Crawford.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 21/01/2014 12:19:43    1534588

Ahh opinions are like that everyone else's is wrong apart from your own. Everyone makes some valid points. If boylan had not come along I don't think Meath would have won all ire in 80s at all. I can't say same for 90s . I think it was pure determined minds that won the back to back. And competed in 2 more. Boylans point was that success came very early for that young team in 96, the hunger might have taken a back seat. Maybe not, who knows? I personaly thought that team could have won 3/4 all Ireland's. But it is very hard to judge teams from different eras even in 5 years

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2014 12:52:08    1534604

Realdub yeah you are probably right when you put it like that. Really in the 80s Dublin had a good team and cork, Kerry had slipped so really only dubs and cork stood in our way. Whereas in 90s Dublin had a better team (I agree should have won another) the fitz led Kerry team, the northern teams of that time and Mayo and galway even Kildare, there was a lot more at the top than probably previous. Look both were great sides they had one thing in common and that was sean boylan, a complete genius. He not only revolutionised Meath but football in general.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2014 13:17:18    1534621

seany16

1534136 Fair play to you Samsforthehills. The only one to back your own county!

Defending an AI is a sign of a great team. The objective odds are against us but if Jim can keep the squad fresh with a few younger players i think we have a good chance.

Dublin for me!

I think we've got a good chance if we can build some momentum. We never got that opporunity last year, we were lethargic and just looked absolutley knackered from the off.

For those suggesting Cavan- They'll be out first round of ulster in my humble.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 21/01/2014 13:45:48    1534635

that meath team of the late 80's early 90's were incredible and stopped Dublin winning 2 all ireland i am convinced.
We had a better team in the late eighties early 90's than the mid nineties. But an excellent meath side had our measure at times
Dublin and Meath were the 2 best teams in the country at the time, and Meath were that bit better circa 1989-1991

That meath team was the best Royal team i have seen and i have a serious soft spot for them now all these years later.
Could still tell you the Meath team of the early 90's no problems with no help from google and programmes

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/01/2014 13:56:30    1534636

Samsforthehills

I think we've got a good chance if we can build some momentum. We never got that opporunity last year, we were lethargic and just looked absolutley knackered from the off.

For those suggesting Cavan- They'll be out first round of ulster in my humble.

What makes you think this year will be any different? Donegal won't come close to winning Ulster never mind competing for Sam, Monaghan and Tyrone are well ahead in Ulster alone and I'd safely say Cavan and Derry would not fear playing yis either.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 21/01/2014 14:25:41    1534649

Just goes to show how good the Kerry team were by getting to 6 AI finals in a row (2004-2009). Won 3 of them. Did back to back AI in 2006-2007. The current Dublin team have the potential to match if not beat this. Hard to see beyond Dublin in 2014 again. Mayo, Kerry, Cork and Tyrone next best.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 21/01/2014 15:17:39    1534702

Liamwalkinstown

that meath team of the late 80's early 90's were incredible and stopped Dublin winning 2 all ireland i am convinced.
We had a better team in the late eighties early 90's than the mid nineties. But an excellent meath side had our measure at times
Dublin and Meath were the 2 best teams in the country at the time, and Meath were that bit better circa 1989-1991

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'd say that the Cork side who won the back-to-back AI in 1989/90 could lay claim to being among the top 2 sides at that time, especially as they'd made the final the previous 2 years, taking Meath to a replay in one of them.

And as for the '90s, Down won 2 AI in that period before Dublin won theirs, while Donegal & Derry both beat Dublin en route to their successes. Very hard to argue that the Dubs were in the top 2 at any time in the late 80's - from 92-94 you could say that they arguably were.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 21/01/2014 15:19:00    1534703

What makes you think this year will be any different? Donegal won't come close to winning Ulster never mind competing for Sam, Monaghan and Tyrone are well ahead in Ulster alone and I'd safely say Cavan and Derry would not fear playing yis either.

A couple of things. The players have had a couple of extra months off. Injuries have cleared up and please God we'll enjoy some injury free luck like we did in 2012.

Our defence is still quite strong and will still be awkward to play against for most teams.

In attack we have players like Odhran MacNiallais and young O'Connor pushing hard. Hopefully they will ease the burden on Murphy and McFadden for scores. Paddy McBrearty is another who needs to step up more.

For a few of the players, e.g. Kavanagh, McFadden, Gallagher etc this could be their last year. They will want to go out with a bang.

We may not win it, but I have a feeling we'll ruffle a few feathers this year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9139 - 21/01/2014 15:31:54    1534720

TC

I would believe personally that in 1991/92 in particular that Dublin were the best or second best team in the country, we didnt win anything in those years and full credit to Donegal and Down but I genuinely believe it. I reckon Dublin in 91 were a better side than Down, and I also believe Meath were also a better side than Down, and i also contend that Dublin 92 were a better side than Donegal but, as can happen, we let it slip that day, came nowhere near what we were capable of and Donegal capitalised, and fair play to them for it.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/01/2014 15:48:21    1534735

Liam a lot of people would have thought that Meath
were a better team than Down but they didnt show
it on they day??

If anything Down should have beaten Meath more
comfortably they had a 10/11 pt lead in that
game and sat back??

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 21/01/2014 16:36:20    1534779

Yes it is unlikely that we will win it, but I hope we will have a good run. Order of favorites in 6 tiers in my view.
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo, Kildare
Donegal, Galway, Cork
The field.

there is a lot of talk about cavan this year but I dont see it in them. They might win the mckenna cup on sunday, but that will be it for another year. I am trying to imagine them beating tyrone in the championship. I cant see it. Tyrone are back in business, and it will be a good team that will stop them.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/01/2014 17:44:05    1534831

Liamwalkinstown

TC

I would believe personally that in 1991/92 in particular that Dublin were the best or second best team in the country, we didnt win anything in those years and full credit to Donegal and Down but I genuinely believe it. I reckon Dublin in 91 were a better side than Down, and I also believe Meath were also a better side than Down, and i also contend that Dublin 92 were a better side than Donegal but, as can happen, we let it slip that day, came nowhere near what we were capable of and Donegal capitalised, and fair play to them for it.

I think you are right to the extent that over an average of 4 or 5 years, dublin were better than donegal, but not in 1992. I also think that dublin were very unlucky at that time only to win 1 all ireland, as there were so many hungry teams who hadnt won in a long time, or who never won around. Not to mention the meath team as well. donegal igot off to a very bad start in the final of 92, and if they hadnt the talent to come back and win it, they wouldnt have.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/01/2014 18:10:59    1534848

21/01/2014 17:44:05
Donegalman

Yes it is unlikely that we will win it, but I hope we will have a good run. Order of favorites in 6 tiers in my view.
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo, Kildare
Donegal, Galway, Cork
The field.

there is a lot of talk about cavan this year but I dont see it in them. They might win the mckenna cup on sunday, but that will be it for another year. I am trying to imagine them beating tyrone in the championship. I cant see it. Tyrone are back in business, and it will be a good team that will stop them.

We will beat Tyrone on June the 15th,after that i dont know what we will do,but Tyrone are in our taughts already.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 21/01/2014 20:10:52    1534897

Royaldunne i see we have everyone talking about great teams now from the 80' to 90'.But back to today Dublin should win outside bet Meath could come in the back door and if there get to semi/f no one will want to meet them.ps the 80'was better

jackhammer (Louth) - Posts: 83 - 21/01/2014 20:25:49    1534904