Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

Duffy needs to learn as well that when we awards a foul he should raise his arm in the direction of where the the team he is awarding the foul to is attacking. He kept giving fouls and pointing his arm the wrong way up the pitch to the point were i didnt know who had won the free....

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 11/04/2014 11:56:44    1573734

seanie_boy

seanie_boy

Damothedub

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Ah yer some craic Damo.Its "poor lazy tackling" is it? Not dirty nordie cynical tackling.Who do you think are you kidding with this oul self righteous guff about not being part of this scourge of cynicism in the modern game? You are becoming the best purveyors of it! Your boys were blown up for about 30 fouls yesterday and Tyrone for about 10.You had about 7 players on yellow cards while we had 3 and 1 black that was a disgrace in the first instance.I'd say one of your yellows was unjust and one of ours also,Harte.When you see how ye finished the games in last years championship against Kerry and Mayo,its clear that you have well earned the sobriquet of the "Dirty Dubs"!Factor in that we hit about 16 wides to your 7 or so and you can see that on another day Tyrone would have won this game had we not been caught sleeping in the first minute while Dublin were getting lucky with attempted points going in of the cross bar.I'm not sayin Dublin are the new "Tyrone" in terms of your cynicism but your doin pretty good at it and it is definitely part of your game.Don't worry though cos nobody will call yez out on it too much,apart from people like Brolly and a few others.
Our full back gets sent of for putting his arm up while on the ground in a last ditch hopeless effort to stop a fella running at speed and your boys get yellows for close line stuff (Mc manaman,) and head lock style tackles(Whelan).I've not got much of a problem with a bit of physicality and even a wee bit of niggling etc in a game but I'm just sick of hearing the feigned indignation from some quarters when its Tyrone being berated about such things but then suddenly its not a big deal when its other teams.
Ye were truly lucky to come away with the win.
Like my first post after the game said,please don't ever let it be said on here again that Dublin ,and others,do not resort to cynical fouling to dictate and win games.
This is not to take away from the great football that is also played by Dublin and the great individual performances that can be on show from them in any given game.I'd hate for to be sounding like I was being unjustly critical!
-------------------------------------------------------------------

The orginal post from myself was to Joxer who was suggesting diving , in a if you can not beat them join them join them , I answered and in that context no Id not want to see Dublin players feigning injury and diving as if in trials for strictly that was the SCOURGE , I would be the first to call them out over it , Dublin players can be cynical and Ive not seen a team in local league to county that doesn't at some stage resort to cynical tackling , however as you Seanie boy read my response to Joxer and torpedoed on just one part of my response I would say subconsciously deep down you know whats what , and it must be troubling for you , but hey get over it .
Will Dublin be cynical in future , probably , will it be a key to them winning games ie is it part of tactics I doubt it , apart from all Ireland final which seems to be the only example people have from last year where were we dirty ? don't think so , if you disagree list me the games in last years national league campaign that we were cynical ?
Notice you guys have been very quite in the treatment dished to Connolly through out the game , but he shut you guys up with that point .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/04/2014 12:35:49    1573756

Damo

The whole point of my post was to point out that Dublin do it and other top teams also.I admit Tyrone have been guilty of it too,all teams have and that's the point I'm making.Yez did it in last years semi-final too against Kerry.Brolly tried to give out about it but Spillane of all people stopped him cos they were wanting to bill it as a game for the ages and it didn't suit to highlight that aspect of it.Glad you put your hands up though Damo,fair play.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/04/2014 16:37:42    1573893

11/04/2014 16:37:42
seanie_boy

Damo

The whole point of my post was to point out that Dublin do it and other top teams also.I admit Tyrone have been guilty of it too,all teams have and that's the point I'm making.Yez did it in last years semi-final too against Kerry.Brolly tried to give out about it but Spillane of all people stopped him cos they were wanting to bill it as a game for the ages and it didn't suit to highlight that aspect of it.Glad you put your hands up though Damo,fair play.

Seanie if you check previous posts over the year , I don't hide behind county jersey any Dublin poster will tell you that .
I recently posted that Dubs are too thin skinned and jump to defend even when the truth is right in front of you , my life and interest in GAA is not based on being right and winning every argument on Hogan Stand page or Dubs home page , I say it as I see it and couldn't even a Highlanders what anyone else thinks , Im too old in the tooth to be bothered .
As I said Dubs have resorted to cynical tackles and admitted straight after all Ireland thats what they did , in last weeks game however its my opinion that players were slow , badly positioned and off the pace and you cannot tackle correctly when these factors are in play .it wasn't as an excuse for their tackling , it was an accusation of standards not being good enough .
You may put it down to the media , but this Dublin team will not go down as a cynical team , they will go down as an attack minded team , with pace and flair that when the chips were down did what any team would do stop opposition .
But back to the original point diving feigning injury , the mock hand going to the cheek after slight impact , where do you stand on that , thats the scourge , for while a cynical tackle may be accepted , feigning injury and diving is cheating .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/04/2014 17:11:03    1573916

Predictions for this weekend

Mayo v Derry - Mayo

Cork v Dublin - The Dubs

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/04/2014 18:04:49    1573954

"Duffy needs to learn as well that when we awards a foul he should raise his arm in the direction of where the the team he is awarding the foul to is attacking. He kept giving fouls and pointing his arm the wrong way up the pitch to the point were i didnt know who had won the free.... "

Yeah noticed that myself, very confusing.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 11/04/2014 18:10:20    1573956

Agree 100% Damo and I would like Seanie's views on this. Should guys who are 6' 4" or thereabouts be hitting the ground as soon as a player puts a hand on their shoulder? Should guys be throwing themselves to the ground arms outstretched in the parallelogram as soon as a goalkeeper puts a hand at the ball? At least the hand clamping from 2011 seems to have gone. Perhaps stats don't lie but neither does the camera and Mickey would have been well advised to keep his comments to himself until he watched that match back on TV. On black cards, sure wasn't it the antics of a Tyrone player that lead to their introduction. :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/04/2014 19:39:22    1573981

Derry v Dublin final. Derry have had a good league. Dublin will probably nudge this one over those south of Limerick.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 11/04/2014 21:00:27    1574012

Mayo V Derry.............Mayo by 6

Cork V Dublin............Dublin by 4

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 11/04/2014 21:15:44    1574017

Joxer

Agree 100% Damo and I would like Seanie's views on this. Should guys who are 6' 4" or thereabouts be hitting the ground as soon as a player puts a hand on their shoulder? Should guys be throwing themselves to the ground arms outstretched in the parallelogram as soon as a goalkeeper puts a hand at the ball? At least the hand clamping from 2011 seems to have gone. Perhaps stats don't lie but neither does the camera and Mickey would have been well advised to keep his comments to himself until he watched that match back on TV. On black cards, sure wasn't it the antics of a Tyrone player that lead to their introducJoxer

Agree 100% Damo and I would like Seanie's views on this. Should guys who are 6' 4" or thereabouts be hitting the ground as soon as a player puts a hand on their shoulder? Should guys be throwing themselves to the ground arms outstretched in the parallelogram as soon as a goalkeeper puts a hand at the ball? At least the hand clamping from 2011 seems to have gone. Perhaps stats don't lie but neither does the camera and Mickey would have been well advised to keep his comments to himself until he watched that match back on TV. On black cards, sure wasn't it the antics of a Tyrone player that lead to their introduction. :)
tion. :)
------------------------------------------
I don't think Mc Guigan dived in this instance,there was clear contact. In regard to the general point though,I do not like feigning injury,I hate it to be honest. I have said it on here before too,that Tyrone players have been guilty of it at times also.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/04/2014 21:31:10    1574025

Cork to nick a tight one off Dublin & Mayo to beat Derry with a few to spare.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 11/04/2014 21:42:07    1574032

Why all the chat about Tyrone on this thread? I thought they were out of the competition.

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 11/04/2014 21:54:40    1574040

While the semi-finals are an added competitive game ahead of championship, coming a week after a few weeks of league action doesn't make much difference. The final itself is a good game to be in ahead of championship.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 12/04/2014 08:52:16    1574054

Cork and Mayo final

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 12/04/2014 14:00:40    1574166

Cork/Derry double in Boyles pays 8/1. While I do concede that it will be tough for both, that's too good a price to pass up.
Really tempted to throw in Man City also!! Anyway, looking forward to Croker today, should be two cracking games..

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 277 - 13/04/2014 10:26:28    1574357

Liam Hayes had an excellent article in the Irish Mail today which cut to the core of the 'cynical' argument and I think he articulated it very well. He basically told Jim Gavin and the Dublin camp to stop fooling themselves and insulting people by denying Dublin had a cynical side BUT he made the important point that most good sides always had a cynical side to them and that is needed to win at the top level; this is exactly what many of us have been saying. It's NOT that Dublin engage in the dark arts at times, all top teams do; it's the fact they try to deny it when the facts and figures show the exact opposite in yellow and red cards and number of fouls committed. Liam Hayes pointed at Tyrone and said they had been roundly condemned in 2013 every time they dared to stretch out an arm in the general direction of an opponent and he wryly adds "Jim Gavin, clearly, is not prepared to admit that even one bad bone could be identified in his dressing room by even the most gifted medical practitioner in the land". I think Hayes summed it up when he then stated "For all the good they bring to the game, Dublin seem prepared to stretch the boundaries with a cynical approach.........BUT cynicism has been in the DNA of all the greatest teams in every ball game in the world". In other words he says to Dublin to get more success just keep doing what you are doing just stop p*ssing on people's backs and tell them it's raining when it comes to denying your cynical side.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/04/2014 13:07:50    1574385

Derry are finished in this game. Would have been a tough ask with 15 players never mind 14. Mayo by 5 or 6.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 13/04/2014 14:29:06    1574402

Derry V Mayo is an enjoyable enough game with 2 good goals but the number of fouls Mayo have committed in the first half is taking the gloss off it a bit.

A number of these have come under the cynical banner & yet no black cards. The only way this is going to stop is for the refs to step up t the plate.

I have to say that I was pleased to see a red card for the late tackle, it merited a straight red on it's own.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/04/2014 14:39:10    1574403

You have to give Derry great praise here; they are down to 14 men and are still playing good football. Have to agree that some awful decisions have gone against them and the red card was a bit unlucky. How Mayo haven't received at least 2 black cards is a mystery and once again leaves the officials open to inconsisent accusations. Mayo have been dragging players down for a large part of the game. It appeared that O'Shea made the most of the red card as it looked Fergal Doherty caught him side on shoulder.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/04/2014 15:20:04    1574411

Well done Derry and totally deserved; that has to go down as one of the best, bravest, most courageous performances EVER in Croke Park. Derry footballers are not dirty but they can play a bit and are definately the hardest, toughest players in Ulster and they showed that today.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/04/2014 15:36:54    1574417