Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

On form, surely Cork and Derry ought to be the favourites to make the final?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/04/2014 13:05:18    1572244

The Roc marks Alan Freeman last week and doesn't give him a kick and Freeman is taken off this week against Derry Freeman is motm, Kyle Coney kicks 9 points against all Ireland favourites Cork and is motm last week this week he faces The Roc doesn't get a kick and is taken off at half time, next week it's Brian Hurley turn to see what he can do against the country's number 1 full back

It must have been the ladies gaa odds you were looking up to think cork are favourites.

The quality of ball into Freeman was much improved i.e. on his side of the 50/50 battle while last week the ball in favoured the Dublin full back line. Probably a result of much less pressure on the kicker this week

ExiledinDublin (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 08/04/2014 13:55:12    1572282

Cork have announced their team and its Wednesday. most teams dont get announced till friday. Looking back cork have not been afraid to announce their team mid week before most other counties.
My question is.. Is this a sign of Confidence from Cork or will it be a tactical advantage for Jim Gavin to aid in his own team selection

Tough Game to call.. only a kick of the ball between these two me thinks.

FromTheNa (Mayo) - Posts: 583 - 09/04/2014 10:39:02    1572755

One thing is for sure, I'd expect a lot of goals. Dublin and Cork love to hit for the 3 points and they both got the attacking players to do it. It will be a big score line, both top sides and wouldnt like to meet either in the Summer

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 09/04/2014 10:54:33    1572764

Game2Halves

One thing is for sure, I'd expect a lot of goals. Dublin and Cork love to hit for the 3 points and they both got the attacking players to do it. It will be a big score line, both top sides and wouldnt like to meet either in the Summer

-----
Yeah but nearly cost us the game in Omagh. Kev Mc and Whelan could have taken easy points towards the end of the game but instead went for goal and missed. There's a time and a place. Still I think we might see two or three goals on Sunday. That's a decent Cork team named. We will need to start our big guns.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/04/2014 18:15:50    1573087

I would agree with hurlingdub here. Having seen all these teams in action, I think Derry and Cork are in the best form at the moment. Mayo and Dublin both had long campaigns last year and are still easing some of their main men back into action; both will be much sharper in a couple of months' time. I think a double on Derry at 15/8 and Cork at 13/8 is good value and worth a punt - might pay for the diesel and a bite to eat on the way home!

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 09/04/2014 19:49:29    1573122

Deffo worth a euro!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/04/2014 20:10:25    1573138

Dublin v Cork.......DUBS
Mayo v Derry........MAYO

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/04/2014 18:41:43    1573520

seanie_boy

Damothedub

Absolutely no way do we join them , we beat them didn't we , we are the all Ireland champions aren't we ? We are in a semi final aren't we ? Never succumb to the modern day scourge of diving and feigning injury , as for cynical tackling I can see where original poster is coming from however I feel it was poor lazy tackling and as poor a showing defence wise as Ive seen from our guys , we didn't track the runners allowed Sean Cavanagh the freedom of the park and that made life very difficult , there was a lack of discipline from our guys that Im not used to seeing , but hey a semi final Joxer so chin up , we will be in HQ next week Tyrone lads have the voice of Ireland to look forward to .
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Ah yer some craic Damo.Its "poor lazy tackling" is it? Not dirty nordie cynical tackling.Who do you think are you kidding with this oul self righteous guff about not being part of this scourge of cynicism in the modern game? You are becoming the best purveyors of it! Your boys were blown up for about 30 fouls yesterday and Tyrone for about 10.You had about 7 players on yellow cards while we had 3 and 1 black that was a disgrace in the first instance.I'd say one of your yellows was unjust and one of ours also,Harte.When you see how ye finished the games in last years championship against Kerry and Mayo,its clear that you have well earned the sobriquet of the "Dirty Dubs"!Factor in that we hit about 16 wides to your 7 or so and you can see that on another day Tyrone would have won this game had we not been caught sleeping in the first minute while Dublin were getting lucky with attempted points going in of the cross bar.I'm not sayin Dublin are the new "Tyrone" in terms of your cynicism but your doin pretty good at it and it is definitely part of your game.Don't worry though cos nobody will call yez out on it too much,apart from people like Brolly and a few others.
Our full back gets sent of for putting his arm up while on the ground in a last ditch hopeless effort to stop a fella running at speed and your boys get yellows for close line stuff (Mc manaman,) and head lock style tackles(Whelan).I've not got much of a problem with a bit of physicality and even a wee bit of niggling etc in a game but I'm just sick of hearing the feigned indignation from some quarters when its Tyrone being berated about such things but then suddenly its not a big deal when its other teams.
Ye were truly lucky to come away with the win.
Like my first post after the game said,please don't ever let it be said on here again that Dublin ,and others,do not resort to cynical fouling to dictate and win games.
This is not to take away from the great football that is also played by Dublin and the great individual performances that can be on show from them in any given game.I'd hate for to be sounding like I was being unjustly critical!
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Come on Dub fans!! Where's the rebuttal?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 10/04/2014 18:43:47    1573521

seanie_boy

.......Nowhere

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/04/2014 18:55:28    1573528

Who do you think are you kidding with this oul self righteous guff about not being part of this scourge of cynicism in the modern game? You are becoming the best purveyors of it! Your boys were blown up for about 30 fouls yesterday and Tyrone for about 10.

Have to say, you hav a point. Some of the dublin lads around here seem to rewrite games in their heads, that is the only way I can describe it. Every team is carrying out cynical fouls, dublin are actually doing it more efficiently than most - I genuinely wish our lads were doing it as well as dublin are. Will ye give over with this self-righteous nonsense, it is painful.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/04/2014 19:33:38    1573538

the master

statistics dont lie
Dublin were among only 3 countys who didnt recieve a black card throughout the 7 league matches played.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/04/2014 19:41:18    1573544

waynoI

seanie_boy

.......Nowhere
-----------------------------------------------
Ah but why wayno? I'll answer for ye.Its because there really cannot be a rebuttal because Dublin are guilty as charged of systematic fouling and negative play in order to dictate games and the flow of play.No other explanation can account for 30 or so fouls on the opposition and a plethora of yellow cards to boot.Dirty cynical play.........you are as guilty as any other team ever was.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 10/04/2014 21:03:32    1573579

hill16no1man

the master

statistics dont lie
Dublin were among only 3 countys who didnt recieve a black card throughout the 7 league matches played.
-----------------------------------------------
You are right.Statistics don't lie,30 fouls and 7 yellows against Tyrone makes you the best at cynical fouling and not getting caught for it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 10/04/2014 21:06:15    1573582

ill16no1man
the master
statistics dont lie

Exactly.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/04/2014 21:11:08    1573588

Cork to win a tight final over Mayo

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 10/04/2014 21:37:06    1573604

Seanieboy:-
Dublin are guilty as charged of systematic fouling and negative play in order to dictate games and the flow of play. No other explanation can account for 30 or so fouls on the opposition and a plethora of yellow cards to boot. Dirty cynical play

Oh I think you are OTT there lad. How many of them frees were actual fouls.???
Tyrone got nearly all the calls after the early Black Card.

And if Any team would know about Systematic Fouling, Negative Play and Dirty Cynical Play, then look in the mirror man.
Tyrone invented this nonsense....

Let's see over the course of this season whose view is correct eh...!!!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 11/04/2014 09:51:00    1573649

There were at least 3 more black cards in that game and he gave yellows for them all. Yellow. O Carroll gets a yellow for a pretty decent challenge. Once a ref makes a wrong call somewhere, they usually go on to make some more baffling decisions on the back of it. He did'nt spoil the game though, it was entertaining from start to finish. Tyrone kicked some serious wides but have a lot of positives to take from the game, the tackling was intense and replacement marking OGara did some work. Connolly is some footballer fair play to him he's cut out the nonsense and while he should have got an allstar last year he will definitely get one this year. Byrne and Gormly pulling out of each other, no backing down there.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 11/04/2014 10:27:59    1573674

Exileindublin so if the ball is good going into Hurley this Sunday does that mean it's not The Roc's fault he gets a roasting cause the ball into Hurley was so good????

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/04/2014 11:02:50    1573702

those frees and cards came from a ref who on the day
could not tell the differance between mccauley and o carroll
and the whole incident started with tyrones peter harte doing johnny cooper twice on the ground
so forgive me if that incident alone those not rubberstamp the ref having a bad day at the office

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/04/2014 11:14:59    1573712