Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

Fonzi

It wasn't just the execution of Connolly's point it was the circumstances that Dublin found themselves in and the time of the game it occurred in.

Dublin were out of the league semi-final all the pressure was on that kick.

But sure o'connors kick was probably just as good, had the same pressure!!!! what was the score when O'Connor nailed is special point!!!

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/04/2014 16:46:17    1571844

I don't know what the score was. I would say Cork were well ahead. I must look at it again on the recording when I get home.

fonzi (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 07/04/2014 16:53:25    1571845

The Cork man will naturally say O'Connors score was better and the Dublin man will say Connollys.

At the end of the day it doesnt really matter. They where two exquisit scores in their own right.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/04/2014 17:35:45    1571886

The Roc marks Alan Freeman last week and doesn't give him a kick and Freeman is taken off this week against Derry Freeman is motm, Kyle Coney kicks 9 points against all Ireland favourites Cork and is motm last week this week he faces The Roc doesn't get a kick and is taken off at half time, next week it's Brian Hurley turn to see what he can do against the country's number 1 full back.

Never in the annals of the GAA has one player received more love from one supporter.

Touching in it's own way if a little creepy.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2014 17:36:14    1571887

Never in the annals of the GAA has one player received more love from one supporter.

Touching in it's own way if a little creepy.

I'd argue a certain Royal poster's infatuation with Graham Reilly, The greatest player that has ever walked on this earth, is a little bit stronger than Clondalkins love of Rory O'Carroll Muck in fairness ha ha

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/04/2014 17:45:26    1571896

There's not much in it wayno!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2014 18:19:06    1571923

MuckrossHead

There's not much in it wayno!!!

No... Disagree. Royal Dunne and biggy. Greatest love story ever told.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 07/04/2014 19:52:29    1571987

I can see it now.

ROC & clondalkin sitting on a bench in a windswept Clonliffe Rd.

Roc looks into Clondalkin's blue eyes & utters the immortal line......"It's not you, it's me. I just love Murph that bit more"

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2014 19:59:58    1571994

Hahaha your right it is a bit creepy Muck I even have a picture of me and him in Coppers after the Tyrone game in '10 as my profile pic on my phone. My love affair with him started in '10 in the U 21 Leinster final against Westmeath were it was basically The Roc v Westmeath in the second half he was awesome that day against a very good Westmeath team. This a true story only happened Friday gone I was up in tallaght looking to buy some furniture and the owner of the store was David Nugent who was a Thomas Davis player and involved in Gilroy's back room team we got chatting about Hudson and other Dublin players and next thing he says ' but the main man for us was Rory O Carroll what a player great attitude and could mark any type of player' my god once he said that I wanted to buy his dearest sofa up there.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/04/2014 20:13:25    1572006

harvey normans dearest sofa typical southside clondalkin rolling in it haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/04/2014 20:24:45    1572011

I kind of know where you are coming from clondalkin.

I would have something of a blind spot about JMcG, the man who disrespects the blessed Jim in my hearing had better be able to back it up .

Nothing wrong with a bit of devotion.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2014 20:46:45    1572022

Haha of course Hill sure were all loaded over here in West Dublin when were not shooting each other we usually buy in Harvey Normans.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/04/2014 20:46:46    1572023

Damothedub

Absolutely no way do we join them , we beat them didn't we , we are the all Ireland champions aren't we ? We are in a semi final aren't we ? Never succumb to the modern day scourge of diving and feigning injury , as for cynical tackling I can see where original poster is coming from however I feel it was poor lazy tackling and as poor a showing defence wise as Ive seen from our guys , we didn't track the runners allowed Sean Cavanagh the freedom of the park and that made life very difficult , there was a lack of discipline from our guys that Im not used to seeing , but hey a semi final Joxer so chin up , we will be in HQ next week Tyrone lads have the voice of Ireland to look forward to .
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Ah yer some craic Damo.Its "poor lazy tackling" is it? Not dirty nordie cynical tackling.Who do you think are you kidding with this oul self righteous guff about not being part of this scourge of cynicism in the modern game? You are becoming the best purveyors of it! Your boys were blown up for about 30 fouls yesterday and Tyrone for about 10.You had about 7 players on yellow cards while we had 3 and 1 black that was a disgrace in the first instance.I'd say one of your yellows was unjust and one of ours also,Harte.When you see how ye finished the games in last years championship against Kerry and Mayo,its clear that you have well earned the sobriquet of the "Dirty Dubs"!Factor in that we hit about 16 wides to your 7 or so and you can see that on another day Tyrone would have won this game had we not been caught sleeping in the first minute while Dublin were getting lucky with attempted points going in of the cross bar.I'm not sayin Dublin are the new "Tyrone" in terms of your cynicism but your doin pretty good at it and it is definitely part of your game.Don't worry though cos nobody will call yez out on it too much,apart from people like Brolly and a few others.
Our full back gets sent of for putting his arm up while on the ground in a last ditch hopeless effort to stop a fella running at speed and your boys get yellows for close line stuff (Mc manaman,) and head lock style tackles(Whelan).I've not got much of a problem with a bit of physicality and even a wee bit of niggling etc in a game but I'm just sick of hearing the feigned indignation from some quarters when its Tyrone being berated about such things but then suddenly its not a big deal when its other teams.
Ye were truly lucky to come away with the win.
Like my first post after the game said,please don't ever let it be said on here again that Dublin ,and others,do not resort to cynical fouling to dictate and win games.
This is not to take away from the great football that is also played by Dublin and the great individual performances that can be on show from them in any given game.I'd hate for to be sounding like I was being unjustly critical!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/04/2014 10:02:40    1572112

seanie_boy, It's just not in our nature to be cynical, these tackles you speak of obviously just LOOK like they're cynical but they're actually just awkward looking honest attempts to play the ball, God bless their innocence :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/04/2014 12:17:19    1572198

realdub is right on this. It is not in Dublin's nature to be cynical or to play in an unsporting manner.

It's all down to akwardness & a lack of talent that will catch up on them before the year is out.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/04/2014 12:31:40    1572211

Wishful thinking muck!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/04/2014 12:35:50    1572213

MuckrossHead

I kind of know where you are coming from clondalkin.

I would have something of a blind spot about JMcG, the man who disrespects the blessed Jim in my hearing had better be able to back it up .

Nothing wrong with a bit of devotion.

Ah the legend of Jim McGuinness the miracle worker has reached Derry too.

I heard he once turned water from Lough Salt into Football Special, walked up a hill and came down Mount Errigal :)

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 08/04/2014 12:46:56    1572227

MuckrossHead, I don't remember saying anything about a lack of talent :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/04/2014 12:51:39    1572231

Jim McG is over 33 years of age right? In that case, it can't be him :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/04/2014 12:52:45    1572232

GaryMc82
County: Derry

Ah the legend of Jim McGuinness the miracle worker has reached Derry too.

I heard he once turned water from Lough Salt into Football Special, walked up a hill and came down Mount Errigal :)

All true Gary, all true, but Jim doesn't like to make a big deal about these things, modesty being another of his countless attributes.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/04/2014 12:53:44    1572234