Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

Cork just made themselves favs for the league

Great performance from them

On current form the Dubs have done well to get to this stage

Cork will really fancy their chances of making the final

If the Dubs perform like they did today against Cork...

Only one winner and it'll be the lads from Irelands 3rd City

Cork v Mayo final on the cards

Those boys are all from out in West Cork!

Seriously though. When Dublin have guys like Connolly who can produce scores when they're hanging in the game they ALWAYS have a chance. DC's scoreto win it was majestic. Worthy of the likes of Maurice Fitz or Ciaran Mac.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 06/04/2014 20:41:16    1571315

Miller,
I mean not only today's game (but it was good), but the latest

Mitt (Kerry) - Posts: 4 - 06/04/2014 21:03:51    1571345

From what I've seen so far would have to make Cork favourites for the league and strong contenders for Championship.
Of course Dublin ,Kerry and Mayo will be up there too but Ulster has to have a big say aswell and is definitely strongest Province at moment so any team emerging as provincial champions are going to be big test.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/04/2014 21:20:26    1571369

Dublin just make scoring goals look so easy. Hats off to them they are a magnificent side to watch and have shown that attacking football is winning football. But they just took their foot of the gas after the first 3 goals went in, and understandably so, they just waltzed in and made it look simple, lets be honest, we all thought the game was over at that stage. Diarmuid Connolly's winner was terrific, one of the greatest scores you'll see anywhere.

Dublin v Mayo final for me, Dubs to win it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 06/04/2014 21:25:40    1571374

Connolly's score was a beauty and looks like he is maturing into a real leader.Good call on managements part to give him the responsibility and if he keeps at it he could be one of the greats.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/04/2014 21:35:34    1571391

Jimbo,

A bit of optimism wouldnt go amiss man.

"If we play how we played today we wont beat Cork", Yea i agree, But why look at it like that ? Why not look at it and say we still have an extra gear or two to move up and that we are more than capable of beating Cork, With some class players not playing today aswell like Flynner, Berno, Ger, Paul Mannion, Dean Rock, Bastick etc.

Make no mistake, Cork have some really fantastic, gifted players particularly in the forward areas of the field, But we are the best team in the country, We won everything (except the OB cup) that we have played in since Gavin took charge and unearthed yet more quality players for the future, And we have a chance to reach our third national final in a row.

Lets be positive.

Of course there are aspects of our game that are still not up to scratch, We know the result may be papering over a few cracks but JG is as methodical and clever as they come and he will be well aware that this team have to up it to anothe level, But its April. We dont want/have to peak in April.

Cork beat us earlier on in the league so Jim will have those guys ready, But they are a bloody gutsy panel of players, Yet another game that went to the last few minutes that Dublin came out the right side of, How positive is that ? That takes serious bottle and belief.

Well done to tyrone today, Spirited comeback, Unfortunately for yous we just came out the right side thanks to a piece of individual brilliance from Diarmo.

Not going to get into referees or black/yellow/red cards cause its over. Prefer to focus on the players of both sides anyway and they can both be very happy with certain aspects of their game today. Would have been easy for Tyrone to accept defeat but they dug in, Also would have been easy for Dublin to let Tyrones momentum win them the game but we found something from within yet again and showed a bit of bottle that 4 or 5 years ago we lacked.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/04/2014 21:39:40    1571400

It was a feckin peach alright

It was all about his balance

In the end the 3 Tyrone lads didn't know where he was...

That's the beauty with kicking off either foot...

They didn't know which side he was going to try... quick little 360, made the gap and outside of the right foot... sexy

He's our most natural footballer since Paul Curran

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/04/2014 21:40:13    1571402

Good post Wayno

But Cork are rightfully favs

They've earned that thus far in 2014

Form team - serious talent and they'll be Dublins main threat for the rest of the decade

Excellent panel with an excellent young manager

Yep... Cork are worthy favs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/04/2014 21:44:23    1571410

Favourites ? Yea they probably are.. But sure it means nothing

I fully believe Dublin will up it and improve enough to get the job done. Really do.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/04/2014 21:51:30    1571428

NFL DIVISION 1 Sunday 13th April 2014, 14:00
Outright Betting Hide
To Lift the Cup
Dublin 5/4
Mayo 9/4
Cork 7/2
Derry 11/2

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/04/2014 21:56:09    1571439

Dublin v Mayo final I reckon.

Dubs will turn it up a notch next week and field a more settled team.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 06/04/2014 22:00:05    1571448

Goals win games boys and Tyrone are conceding them at an alarming rate! Good luck to Dublin, deserving winners and hope they go all the way, they are beginning to time their run to the AI just right. For Tyrone, unless Harte can shore up our soft underbelly then this wil be a short summer indeed. A lot of work to be done between now and 18th May.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/04/2014 08:38:14    1571458

The bookmakers will make Dublin favourites because as Wayno1 said, they have won every competition they have entered since JG took over (with the exception of the OB cup this year) which makes them the best team in the country. Unless they start not to win these competitions, they remain favourites. With Cork being the 'form' team, all this means is that Dublin will not be overwhelming favourites next week. However, as Wayno1 said, being favourites means nothing.

I am delighted with how the league has panned out thus far. Cuthbert has used 30+ players in the league, a few more in the McGrath cup. Our style of play has changed - we are not as slow, lethargic and lateral as we were. Colm O Neill has come back from injury and so far has been brilliant. Fintan Gould is like a new man (always felt his potential was stifled under Counhian's system). Brian Hurley is starting to show his potential. Patrick Kelly has come back. Tom Clancy (Fermoy) has established himself as a top class intercounty wing back (UCC winning the Sigerson helped him no doubt). We have genuine 5/6 players competing for every line on the field (maybe not midfield where we might still need reinforcements). The under 21s have been very good with guys like Alan Cadogan, Dan McEoin, Mark Sugrue, Ian Maguire etc all capable of adding to the senior squad if given a chance.

Once we don't get hammered next Sunday, I think we are in very good condition facing the championship. Optimism is high.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/04/2014 10:24:02    1571535

Cork are playing with a lovely style since new manager came in.Great to watch.gone is the lateral passing and restricted style of Counihan,replaced with a freedom of movement and exciting forward play with 8/9 quality forwards fighting for a place on team.Id have Cork num 2 in the pecking order now,behind Dublin and ahead of Mayo.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/04/2014 11:07:29    1571587

Cork v Derry final. Two top teams of the league deserve to beiin final. Cork to win first of what could be 3 titles this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/04/2014 12:35:13    1571659

Not the top two, the team that has the most points should win, it's supposed to be a league, but I ain't complaining, we need these extra game/s this year.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 07/04/2014 12:44:11    1571663

The Roc marks Alan Freeman last week and doesn't give him a kick and Freeman is taken off this week against Derry Freeman is motm, Kyle Coney kicks 9 points against all Ireland favourites Cork and is motm last week this week he faces The Roc doesn't get a kick and is taken off at half time, next week it's Brian Hurley turn to see what he can do against the country's number 1 full back.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/04/2014 13:17:16    1571697

good tough game in omagh yesterday
thaught both sides put in an exciting and entertaining game despite the poor ref and officials performances.
I see not many journalists can even spot the bad decisions as rory o carroll got two yellows
the first one was a mistaken identity by you guessed it mr duffy
it was peter harte who hit cooper on the ground twice and mccauley then pushed him to the ground
and what does duffy do issue o carroll with a yellow card haha how bad is that.
then o carroll clearly wins the ball for the second one and he sends him off.
the black card and advantage rul really must not be getting through to duffy.
didnt think tyrone player deserved the black at start of game and also duffy whistled up for the free after o gara put the ball on a plate for kev mac in front of the posts. where was the advantage?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/04/2014 13:43:14    1571710

Croke Park it is then lads and ladies for the Semi finals double header.
The Yew Trees v The Oak leafers is the curtain raiser for the game of the Capital again the Peoples republic
Ya cant ask of a better Sunday afternoon :-)

FromTheNa (Mayo) - Posts: 583 - 07/04/2014 14:49:53    1571757

Not knocking Diarmuid Connolly but if you thought his point was good, you obviously didn't see the one Donnacha O' Connor got after coming on as sub against Kerry yesterday. You will struggle to see a better one all year.

fonzi (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 07/04/2014 16:22:14    1571821