Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

It's not excuses it's a fact But well done Derry the best team won on the day and you's look very impressive throw in Eoin Bradley and you's will be very hard to stop in Ulster.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/03/2014 19:48:03    1561107

17/03/2014 17:05:37
JMK

-----

17/03/2014 17:05:37
JMK
@ Ulsterman

Those have to be 2 of the most ridiculous statements I've seen i while.
1. Dublin have an average squad?? Really?? I thought it was common knowledge that Dublin had the best squad in the country at the minute. One of their forwards just scored 2-5 in a club all ireland there. And he's not even their best forward in my opinion.
2. Kerry and Dublin wouldn't have done as well if they were in Ulster?? Ulster supplies 13% of the winning all irelands. Ulster might be a competitive province now, but not in regards to it's history! If Ulster teams were so good back then how come they couldn't beat Kerry and Dublin in semi-finals and finals. When there were no second chances what did it matter what stage of the championship they met at??

-----
Well said JMK. It's an attention thing though. The only worse thing than being talked about is not being talked about and all of that. Just back from Croker myself and yes DC was outstanding in the second half. Vinnies well deserving of their win today and the lads will be a welcome return to the county panel after yesterday's poor effort in Derry.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/03/2014 20:19:45    1561150

Derry did beat an understrength dub side but it will give our boys belief and confidence,i wouldnt be getting carried away with yesterday we have down through the years have been successful in the league[6 national league titles]proves this but after winning in 2008 we went out to fermanagh in ulster,so i would still be cautious its only march but we have secured our div 1 status.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 17/03/2014 20:29:48    1561167

OakGael
County: Derry

1561093 Hopefully people will take Derry serious now, we have talented footballers in this county who have underachieved over the past 10 years for many different reasons. I am not saying we will be league or AI champions this year but I do think under Brian's management we will see success coming our way sooner rather than later.

At this minute in time, Derry are the most on form team in Ulster. Beating Donegal is looking very realistic now, and Antrim or Fermanagh would be seen as the easiest two teams in Ulster. And I don't think Derry will fear Tyrone, Down, Monaghan or anybody else on the other side of the draw.

I will go on record here and back Derry to win Ulster this year.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 17/03/2014 20:40:56    1561177

I have total respect for Derry, believe me, I have good reason, and they're very good, the likes of Ulsterman drags these type of comments from myself and others. The fact is, Derry are ahead of us in the table and that's all that counts really, so no offence meant!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 17/03/2014 20:57:10    1561199

Ulster should be interesting this year, Derry looked good against us. Mayo next for us and hopefully we play better and have a stronger team or we will get beat simple as that.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/03/2014 21:02:01    1561208

As a Derryman, all I am really interested in is the progress Derry are making. The second half performance against Cork and the win yesterday were very heartening in that we now have a team which is learning how to compete at the top level of the game. Intelligence, spirit and application are evident in their approach but it's important to also state that there are a lot of good footballers in there as well. Derry have a long history of under-achievement by talented teams, however, so I don't think anyone is getting too carried away as yet but at the same time we are entitled to be very pleased with an excellent result against the All-Ireland champions. Dublin in the Summer will be an entirely different proposition, of course, but I believe Derry are improving with every game and the confidence garnered from the last two weekends' performances can only help with that process. Brian McIver and his team are doing a great job; we have much to look forward to, I believe.

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 17/03/2014 21:09:07    1561214

with regard to this idea put about that if dublin or kerry were in ulster they wouldn't have as many all-irelands. I would say it's too simple to dismiss that theory out-of-hand by merely looking at the semi-final and final stats between those 2 powerhouses of Gaelic Football and the ulster representatives. I think you have to consider that for kerry (or Cork for that matter) to reach an all-ireland semi every year they would have had to peak for a first-round or preliminary round match every year and beat 3 or 4 teams every year that were much stronger than what was on offer in munster. My point is that historically kerry could tailor their training to peak for a munster final wheras ulster teams had to peak for their first match and then again for every subsequent match. and because no one team could expect to have a run of 2, 3 or more years guarenteed playing up to semi-final stage, the standard never really improved in one particular team,.. all teams stayed around the same level . I suppose if you knew there was every chance that you only had one game a year the incentive might not be so good to put the commitment in. Now having said all that of course there is every possibility that Kerry/cork or Dublin could equally win ulster but I wouldn't be so dismissive of the ulsterman's theory.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 17/03/2014 21:31:40    1561231

How do the Derry lads feel about having Ulsterman as their self appointed mascot for the next few weeks ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/03/2014 12:02:25    1561423

AthCliath

How do the Derry lads feel about having Ulsterman as their self appointed mascot for the next few weeks

No thanks Ath Cliath, would rather focus on games in front of us rather than some bs about croke park and ulster v the south. Beat what's in front of you and don't get caught up in nonesense.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 18/03/2014 14:38:48    1561553

johnjoseph
County: Derry

1561553 AthCliath

How do the Derry lads feel about having Ulsterman as their self appointed mascot for the next few weeks

No thanks Ath Cliath, would rather focus on games in front of us rather than some bs about croke park and ulster v the south. Beat what's in front of you and don't get caught up in nonesense.

Fairplay , you can only beat whats in front of you and that's exactly what you did. Management team are doing a good job by the looks of it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/03/2014 15:31:34    1561588

Great finish in store for Div 1. I think Cork will still top the table followed by Derry and Tyrone, with one of Dublin/Mayo/Kerry joining them depending on who has the better scoring difference.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 18/03/2014 16:02:34    1561617

AthCliath

1561208 Ulster should be interesting this year, Derry looked good against us. Mayo next for us and hopefully we play better and have a stronger team or we will get beat simple as that.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/03/2014 16:21:26    1561636

Ulster overall is by far and away the strongest province

Derry, Down, Armagh, Monaghan, Tyrone, Cavan, Donegal

Ulster is very strong at the minute

I think it'll be a Connacht v Ulster Final in 2014... both in the league / All Ireland

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/03/2014 16:40:08    1561650

brendtheredhand

1561636 AthCliath

1561208 Ulster should be interesting this year, Derry looked good against us. Mayo next for us and hopefully we play better and have a stronger team or we will get beat simple as that.

No doubt Brend, Now with Monaghan and Derry in the mix ,lets say its even more interesting. though a Dub v Meath game ye have to admit is interesting.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/03/2014 16:54:03    1561661

Perfectly reasonable comments by AthCliaith.As johnjoseph says, I don't think any Derrymen are in the slightest bit interested in the interminable nonsense that some posters seem obsessed with. The Dublin game is over, we won, we're pleased with that and all we are worried about now is Kildare on Sunday week - win that and we are in a semi-final. The last two times we played Kildare in the league we won one and lost the other a wee bit unluckily but the last two times we played them in the championship we were outfought, outworked, outplayed and well beaten both times. Kildare's results haven't been great so far but they really should have beaten Tyrone and I would kind of discount their result against Dublin since they seem to have a mental block when facing the Dubs, a problem they certainly won't have against us. All in all, I think Derry are in a better place than Kildare at the minute and should win but it won't be easy - with Westmeath to play last, Kildare will target this game as one which can keep them in Division One. Trust me, Derry have a pretty atrocious record when going in as favourites over the years, so it will be another big test for a developing team.

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 18/03/2014 17:06:42    1561673

My dark horse last year was derry. They are my dark horse this year too. My favourite team in ulster! Fully deserving of their win on sunday last too

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/03/2014 17:45:12    1561697

20 years ago perhaps AthCliath!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/03/2014 17:51:51    1561703

Ath Claith, I think "Ulsterman" may not actually be a GAA person, he/she is more interested in pushing north/south divide than anything else so I really doubt they are actually a GAA follower, someone trying to create problems. Anyway, Derry are playing well right now and Brian Mc Ivor has done a tremendous job, championship is really what its all about so that will be the true measure, Dublin are the team to beat but there are I believe 4-5 teams who could peak at right time and win anything, also I think in 70,s and 80,s Kerry or Cork would have strolled through Ulster Doire Abu

GAAK (Derry) - Posts: 14 - 18/03/2014 19:09:54    1561763

Unless both counties are drastically different from last week, and I mean unrecognisable in both cases, Kildare will be well beat in this one. Derry looked extremely solid whereas we have statistically the most generous defence in the country.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 18/03/2014 19:38:13    1561776