Dublin biting again??

He got off very lightly IMO. He should have been banned from football for a year, there is no place in the game for behaviour like that.

Royalio (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 23/01/2014 09:21:24    1535449

I personally think he should have got a season ban but I'm disgusted at a certain player's name being tarnished in all this. Just goes to show that its always innocent until PROVEN guilty.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/01/2014 09:22:22    1535450

Fair play to whelan and Dublin cb for not appealing .also to dcu for bringing this without been cowed.
Previous incident should have been handled in similar fashion. This is over. Whelan should face no more section, he made a mistake owned up to it and is taking his punishment. No more should be said about this young man
Previous incident still casts a shadow over our game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2014 09:30:09    1535454

To be honest Liam, I think could be unlikely he will be given another chance to play for Dublin this season by the Management.
Only himself to blame really... He should have known better.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 23/01/2014 09:35:26    1535456

Lenient sentence imo although at least it has been dealt with in a speedy manner in comparison with last year's debacle.

Agreed about the witch hunt element on here. Some posters went out of their way to show how much they knew by essentially all but naming the player. It turned out to be the wrong player completely. If you're going to all but name a player as being guilty of something as bad as this like some posters have then you really should get the right player.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/01/2014 09:39:56    1535457

Exactly Jackeen. My sentiments precisely.
A Wrong man being referred to was disgraceful.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 23/01/2014 09:45:36    1535459

The GAA have suspend him for 8 weeks, however, the general feeling here (among Dublin fans also) is that the ban should have been much longer.

I'm now been keen to see what Jim Gavin does. As a man who has been extremely vocal about playing the game in the right way, will he feel that the correct punishment has been handed out, or will he remove the player from his squad?

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 23/01/2014 09:48:52    1535462

A certain young Dublin poster, ye all know who, more or less namesd a certain player on here a few weeks ago.
And then he wondered why people are getting sick of him.....well here you go ........

You publicly blamed the wrong man, an innocent Dublin footballer, on a website with thousands of GAA fans.

Well done "W"...well done.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/01/2014 09:54:22    1535464

Fionn,

I agree. The poster here who mentioned suggested that it was him should be man enough to admit he got it wrong. We all know who he is.

8 weeks is a joke. It should have been a 48 week ban.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 23/01/2014 09:56:49    1535468

Farcically lenient suspension. Whether Dublin do the right thing and drop him altogether is open tospeculation, but I'd say his future with Dublin might have more to with his importance to the team than any convictions about how the game should be played on the part of Dublin- the biter from 2013 might be gone, but the biter from 2010 is still very much around. Ana a poor showing by the Dubs here all through this thread, attacking anybody who posted as being on "the anti Dublin bandwagon" , attacking Paraic Duffy, attacking Donegal, saying spitting is as bad/worse than being bitten etc. etc.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 23/01/2014 09:57:38    1535469

Joke of a ban. 8 games and you could talk, but 8 weeks is a joke. I also laughed at the Dublin media radio coverage this morning, most stations (including Des Cahill) just briefly mentioned it and moved on fast. Double standards as a certain soccer player was hounded (and rightly so) a year ago for biting.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 23/01/2014 10:02:19    1535470

What about everyone just moves on now. Repetition and bad feeling is all that will result. The man is being punished, the length of punishment he got was out of his control. The gaa did their job, and thats it. If their were any lessons learned out of this, Im sure they will be taken. If this were a tyrone player that was found guilty he would have got a year, or at least meath footballers of the past were manly and upfront in their thuggery are examples of the nonsense being posted over the past 2 days. Lets all move on. Nothing more to see here.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/01/2014 10:02:19    1535471

Liamo

All W****o (no one will figure that clever code!) did was name the number of the player he decided was guilty.

Has was he to know that most people understand Google?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/01/2014 10:05:29    1535474

Whatever happened to innocent until proven guilty when it comes to naming people in a case like this.

But as well as those who maybe names or inferred a name on here why did the admins allow those messages to be published?

And like the vast majority of posters here I believe a year long ban for anybody found guilty of biting should be the punishment.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 23/01/2014 10:06:33    1535475

Go easy Liam...

I think you're bordering on cyber bullying Wayno at this stage

I've lost count at the amount of times you've targeted him

Sometimes for anything as trivial as his posts being too long...

I understand where you're coming from on this issue but please just go a little easy

I'm certainly not getting "sick" of Wayno... so please speak for yourself and not other posters in regards to your description on how he's perceived.

I'm sure Wayno realizes that he made a mistake and feels accordingly bad about it

Ramming it down his throat like that is a wee bit OTT

Just like Wayno... you need to take a little care about how you speak to/about people on the web

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/01/2014 10:07:30    1535477

Very disappointed with the punishment meted out, 8 weeks is ridiculous. But can't see the lad featuring on Dublins panel which is argueably an even worse punishment. As for those who named and shamed the wrong player - really poor form.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 23/01/2014 10:10:18    1535479

anyone know who the victim of 'The Count Whelan' was ?....

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/01/2014 10:11:48    1535480

jackhackett

But as well as those who maybe names or inferred a name on here why did the admins allow those messages to be published?

That's more to the point

Wayno's post shouldn't have been made public

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/01/2014 10:14:19    1535481

No Jimbo

fella uses anonymous forum to more or less name the dub players he thinks is involved in a dispicable act, as some attempt to show everyone how "in the know" he is as a few other Dubs here have also alluded to
turns out he knows nothing but many people on here would have taken him at his word and been telling their relatives and friends for the last 2 weeks that a certain player is going around biting people...
And he isnt!

But hey, sure poor ol Wayno...he just made a mistake.....

BS

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/01/2014 10:14:58    1535482

Liam, I think you need to go easy on W..

It is not the first time you and him have had a go at each other.

For heavens sake let's all move on.

Also, he WASN'T the only one to refer to an Incorrect player in their posts.... There were others...

Agree the CCC must come down harder on acts like this though, and but on other distasteful acts on the pitch also....

I have to agree with Donegalman about the nonsense posts he refers to. Spot on.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 23/01/2014 10:18:43    1535483