Dublin biting again??

Paul Flynn left Burke on his back with a shoulder as well!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 21/07/2014 12:56:36    1622828

Reilly threw digs at OGara and missed, other digs seem to have been thrown at OGara also while he was on the ground, not clear from footage who threw them, Photos are no proof of whether O'Gara was 'fishhooked' If O'Gara did bite, whether fishhooked or not, then I think MOD is right to highlight it if the referee missed it, If other Meath players are susbsequently suspended for throwing digs well they will have to accept that as well.

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 21/07/2014 13:24:19    1622886

Very few posters made anything of this and it is unfair to say they did majority said like myself innocent until proven guilty I stand over that Micky shook hands with O'Gara at end. And I'm sure that was end of it. My very first posts on this were mod had plenty more to worry about than this. And I feel his reaction to run straight to media room nearly immediately was a rush to head thing and not becoming of a Meath manager. He may regret that action today. But what's done is done. Again I will state biting is a disgusting act and one I will condemn every time, but this wasn't handled well and that has nothing to do with Burke, . that's it more important things to

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2014 13:25:16    1622887

Realdub, that was exactly my point.

You would not have seen all this if Boylan was in charge.

Also, it is pretty rich coming from a county who have crossed many a line in the past and did we ever cry foul. ??

Anyway, the main thing was we didn't react to their attempt at a melee. Great restraint shown.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 21/07/2014 18:46:34    1623320

My attempt to post based on the pictures were repeatedly not published yesterday even though they were clearly all over the public domain. I also stated at the time that the fact that it was his finger and not other less protruding body parts as has happened before would indicate the case was not very clear-cut. These were presumably not allowed as they named the Dublin player in question. So if the 'what do you have to say' now stuff is aimed at me, I'll pass thanks.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 21/07/2014 19:58:56    1623409

Some of the posts from Dublin lads here are embarrassing to say the least.

A few of these same posters claimed that still images could not be used as evidence in the Donegal eating incident as a still shot doesn't tell the whole story, which is true. Yet today they seem to think it's perfectly fine.

The footage I've watched shows burky put his arm around eogs neck. If ogara leans down then bites well then of course a still image will show Burkes hand in his mouth. It's only natural. But it's doesn't prove that burky put his hand there.

What is conclusive however is that fact that ogara did bite.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 21/07/2014 20:38:48    1623451

What is it with Dublin players and biting? not the first time this happened. starting to become a bit of a frequent occurrence. Hope the Gaa actually do something this time and dish out proper punishment.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 21/07/2014 20:51:39    1623467

Jinxie and were did he remove his hum shield during this saga?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2014 21:00:28    1623486

Jinxie

A few of these same posters claimed that still images could not be used as evidence in the Donegal eating incident as a still shot doesn't tell the whole story, which is true. Yet today they seem to think it's perfectly fine.

The footage I've watched shows burky put his arm around eogs neck. If ogara leans down then bites well then of course a still image will show Burkes hand in his mouth. It's only natural. But it's doesn't prove that burky put his hand there.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/07/2014 21:05:36    1623494

fielder

What is it with Dublin players and biting? not the first time this happened. starting to become a bit of a frequent occurrence. Hope the Gaa actually do something this time and dish out proper punishment.

----
Punishment for what? I didn't see anybody bite anybody else. Saw two Dublin players receiving a few digs though. What is it with some players these days and their whinging? Should take up soccer I would say.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/07/2014 21:12:40    1623503

Again with the "restraint" nonsense.

Whatever you'd say about O'Gara during the incident he certainly wasn't restrained. He started the whole thing by pinning K Reilly to the ground and then allegedly did what he did to Micky Burke.

What he was hoping to achieve by causing trouble at that stage in a game they had already won I do not know.
He'll have questions to answer from the management i'd imagine.
The rest of the Dublin team were expert in there approach to it, no silly punches thrown as they knew suspensions could follow.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 21/07/2014 21:12:58    1623505

Jinxie

_____
Well Jinxie, that's about as funny an explanation as I've heard. That's the equivalent of an assailant's lawyer insisting that the victim headbutted his client's fist. So you're telling me that poor Mickey Burke placed his hand around EOG's neck and that EOG bent his neck and basically put his teeth around the Meath player's finger and using his mouth alone,
brought Burke';s hand up to the side of his face!!!! Now, that is embarrassing. I've never known Meath fans to be sore losers but that's changed now.
Are you as moved to anger by the the meath player's attempt to clothesline KMcMenamon as he turned to celebrate his goal, or the punch to Philly McMahon's face late in the game by Meath's most talented forward? What about the repeated digs to the head of EOG in the alleged biting incident???
As you said, embarrassing.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/07/2014 21:20:08    1623520

I don't care what the outcome of this is. If he was bit then a ban if the meath player punched somebody then a ban too. But where do you stop? Show Michael Daragh McCauley be banned for taking a meath player out? he does this every game to somebody as he clearly can't take somebody tackling him as hard as he tackles others.

Should connolly be banned for taking the meath player into a headlock? Where does it stop?

Ciaran Wheelan didn't get banned for punching Nigel Crawford in front of the ref in 2005 so you either let it all go or none of it. Either way I don't really care.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 21:21:51    1623524

A sad day for Meath football,

I lost a lot of respect for the Meath Management yesterday and that was nothing to do with the football (or lack of).

The player in question was lying on the ground taking a lot of abuse off the Meath lads, he was left with little alternative. How did the fingers in question get into the mouth area anyway.

A case of sour grapes if ever there was one, starting a fight when your loosing by 20 points, then crying when a lad breaks a nail.

A new low for Meath football.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 21/07/2014 21:22:13    1623525

Imagine if Paul Galvin was the suspect, im sure he would get the book thrown at him, since O GARA is Dublin player no action will be taken against the GAA CASH COW.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 21/07/2014 21:23:49    1623529

Joxer, the reaction from the meath player of notifying the ref he was bit says it all whether you saw it or not. Foul play. Hope this isn't swept under the carpet "again".

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 21/07/2014 21:26:00    1623534

fielder

In terms of punishment it depends I suppose on whether both sides are going to take the medicine.

Donegal weren't willing to risk their player getting a suspension last time so he didn't show up to the hearing. Meath might be willing to see Burke, and probably Tormey, suspended to see O'Gara punished.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 21/07/2014 21:27:50    1623539

MesAmis, I agree with you that meath may take it futher. Its something that needs to be approached with caution and not just let it go until it happens again and again. Terrible thing in any sport.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 21/07/2014 21:49:47    1623584

fielder

I have to say I am finding the shock and dismay from a lot of posters here quite hypocritical. A bunch of drama queens. First of all lets get the facts right here.

1. O'Gara got 5 clean punches to the head. Was pull and dragged all over the pitch. Kevin O'Reilly walked away, so what Mickey Burke doing getting involved?
2. O'Gara was grabbed from behind by Burke (who looks to me could knock out a bull) with both hands over O'Gara's face, his mouth and nose. Ever had that down to ya? Why don't you flaker my innocent little donegal friend get one of your mates to re-enact that situation and lets see do you use 'sign language' to ask politely if he will stop. O'Gara is no shrieking violet but no one here has the right to point or accuse him of biting till he is actually found guilty by the GAA. Nobody. Its not a Suarez type situation. Its because he is a Dublin player and yis are all over it like flies around shite. And you know why that is!

If Gooch Copper was involved in that exact situation you wouldn't hear half the posts on it. Any stick no mater how long or short will be used to bate lumps out of Dublin GAA by the keyboard warriors of Hogan Stand.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 22/07/2014 09:41:04    1623646

hill16no1man

1623486 Jinxie and were did he remove his hum shield during this saga?

EOG didn't have his gumshield in. Which brings up a bigger question really. Look I think this should have been kept in house between Meath & Dublin but reading some of the comments here from both sides is really boiling my blood

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/890125/

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 22/07/2014 09:45:42    1623651