Dublin biting again??

Meath need to forget everything that happened yesterday and move on. Forget about the fact that the only bit of fight we had was with 5 minutes to go and with us losing by a Cricket score. Forget about the "bite" as its not going to change the result or the way the Meath team or Supporters are feeling this morning. Move on to Armagh and go from there

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 21/07/2014 11:28:20    1622657

one thing nobody has questioned is how o gara could have left teeth marks when he was wearing a gumshield ?
not once did he remove it haha
fishhook enquiry should be more in line than a biting one

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2014 11:28:44    1622659

Ye I'm not too interested in this, maybe the heat of the moment got to MOD but I expect better from him, we had a bad enough day yesterday without this nonsense.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/07/2014 11:31:25    1622665

another poster informed me that burke didnt recieve a yellow card in the incident
it was reilly and o rourke so meath could actually find themselves in trouble now
as if the cccc look at it burke surely would be suspended for the punches he threw alone
i think mick o dowd will probably feel silly for coming out with this in the heat of the moment
i dont want to see burke suspended just to state but could actually backfire on meath

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2014 11:40:47    1622685

So what do Certain posters have to say now that the truth is out.??

Pictures in the papers this morning clearly show Burkes fingers pulling the mouth off EOG.

Is that Credible enough for you.??

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 21/07/2014 11:44:49    1622693

Fionn

1622693 So what do Certain posters have to say now that the truth is out.??

Pictures in the papers this morning clearly show Burkes fingers pulling the mouth off EOG.

To Counter ur argument whos to say that the photo shown isn't at the exact moment Burke is trying to pull his finger away after been bit???

It's all sillyness really and needs to be forgotten about. O'Dowd was wrong to come out and make the claim so close to the final whistle. Dublin won the game easy and have a 1/4 final to look forward to while Meath have to regroup for Armagh. Lets all just concentrate on that rather than what might have happened

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 21/07/2014 11:55:12    1622710

Fionn

So what do Certain posters have to say now that the truth is out.??

___

I wouldn't hold your breath... you're completely correct in calling for the above

But again... I wouldn't hold your breath

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 11:56:26    1622713

If someone stuck their claw into my mouth i'd bite it too.
Time to put this to bed.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/07/2014 12:00:04    1622718

another poster informed me that burke didnt recieve a yellow card in the incident
it was reilly and o rourke so meath could actually find themselves in trouble now
as if the cccc look at it burke surely would be suspended for the punches he threw alone
i think mick o dowd will probably feel silly for coming out with this in the heat of the moment
i dont want to see burke suspended just to state but could actually backfire on meath

AND HILL

While we are at it, during that melee, look at it again, Philly McMahon literally took a dig to the jaw off Andrew Tormey, Fair play to Philly for not reacting.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 12:04:52    1622730

So if the CCCC look into this then we can expect both Burke and Tormey to be in trouble seeing as neither were dealt with at the time.

MOD and Burke's crying could come back and haunt them now.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 21/07/2014 12:11:19    1622736

That 100% spot on...

Tormey hit Philly square in the face with a closed fist

They showed it last night...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 12:13:40    1622742

I don't want to see any player getting banned for that melee yesterday. Let it go. It's over.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 12:22:26    1622757

Meath of old must holding their heads in their hands at this stage, a hammering plus trying to put all this on O'Gara. Burke should have got red, Reilly was also overly aggressive and one or two more lads should've been carded at least.

I never saw this type of whinging from a Meath team/manager before, new low and the clutching if straws, hats off to our boys for not losing the plot!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/07/2014 12:29:12    1622773

hold on the papers reckon burke got a yellow not reilly in the incident
so therefore burke cannot be suspended if thats the case

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2014 12:29:46    1622775

Wayne
Burke was booked for his part in the melee. No great loss thouigh if he was suspended..

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 21/07/2014 12:30:29    1622778

I think o'gara did well to stay calm. Could have been 4 Meath players red carded. Poor sportsmanship from the Meath management in my view. Take your bateing and move on

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1595 - 21/07/2014 12:38:58    1622790

10th July, 2014
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=220205

"We're all just focused on Dublin now and the great thing about the Meath-Dublin games anyway is you just get on with it and there's no whinging afterwards one way or another."

20th July, 2014
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=220816

Royal County boss Mick O'Dowd has alleged that substitute Mickey Burke was bitten in the second half of the Croke Park decider, which the Dubs won by 3-20 to 1-10.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 12:49:40    1622810

realdub

Meath of old must holding their heads in their hands at this stage, a hammering plus trying to put all this on O'Gara. Burke should have got red, Reilly was also overly aggressive and one or two more lads should've been carded at least.

I never saw this type of whinging from a Meath team/manager before, new low and the clutching if straws, hats off to our boys for not losing the plot!

Very well said, spot on.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 12:51:03    1622813

As a proud Meath man, I'm actually embarassed by the accusations made by Mick O' Dowd to the point that I didnt sleep and can barely show my face.

Its bad enough that he put out a team with no absolutely no fight or aggressions in it, but to whinge about an incident after the game is an absolute abhorrence to the traditions of Meath football. What happens on the field stays on the field, no matter what, thats always been the way of Meath football.

Example that springs to mind is G Geraghty getting his teeth knocked out by Noel O Leary in All Ireland Semi-final. Not a word of complaint from Meath afterwards and Geraghty even vouched for O Leary at his hearing so he could get off to play the final. Thats our tradition.

We've really fallen a long way down these past 24 hours.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 21/07/2014 12:55:36    1622824

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/07/2014 12:55:52    1622826