Dublin biting again??

I think instances of biting should be treated as the highest form of discipline not only for biter but team and cb too, that'll soon stop it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/01/2014 16:08:00    1531212

I believe this "incident" caused a cafuffle with both players being booked.

The one incident that i remember that two bookings where dished out at the same time, involved Dublins number 5.

People at the match yesterday will know who im talking about without naming him here.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/01/2014 16:29:52    1531232

waynoI

The one incident that i remember that two bookings where dished out at the same time, involved Dublins number 5.

People at the match yesterday will know who im talking about without naming him here.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well done on not naming him, Wayno. It's lucky that no newspapers listed the Dublin team today….

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 13/01/2014 16:48:12    1531246

Wayne i don't think you should be advertently or inadvertently putting any names out there at the moment!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 13/01/2014 16:51:50    1531251

Wayne i don't think you should be advertently or inadvertently putting any names out there at the moment!

Where did i name him ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/01/2014 17:03:37    1531263

I have to say that I am not surprised at this news. One of the members of one of the teams were accused last year of a bite in a High profile game and the GAA kicked for touch, did not want anything to do with it. It is like Racism. The GAA do not want to hear about this type of thing. Some Posters say here dont name the individual. Fair enough. Conduct an investigation and see what happens.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 13/01/2014 17:06:03    1531266

You named a players number, hence a name can easily be found. Even if it has nothing to do with the alleged incident it is still a needless post as it will spread speculation that may be totally unfounded. In my view, any post that possibly attaches a player to anything about this should not get through the filter. Other forums don't allow it, it shouldn't be tolerated here!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 13/01/2014 17:11:17    1531270

The GAA do not want to hear about this type of thing. Some Posters say here dont name the individual. Fair enough. Conduct an investigation and see what happens.

Of course they dont want to hear about it, Nobody wants to hear about one player allegedly biting another, I say alledge because nothing has been proven.

By all means these type of stories wouldnt be making any kind headlines if there was a large punishment, Because players wouldnt do it, However for there to be a punishment, There has to be proof a crime was committed, then a trial, And finally a verdict.

Until a situation arises where there is proof of a crime, evidence, a trial, and a guilty verdict has been reached, Then there will be no punishment and the accused will remain innocent.

Did the DCU player lie ? No, Nobody is saying he is, But if i walk into a garda station and say ive been attacked, Guards wont just go out and arrest someone, They will build a case, And if its a case that there is no evidence of what i say happened, happened, Then nothing will be done and noone will be brought to justice. Does it mean i lied ? No. It just means that unless there is proof, Everyone is innocent until it can be proven otherwise. So unless there is evidence to confirm the DCU players allegation, The only conclusion to this will be that the Dublin player in question, Is not guilty.

This, As is the case with the last incident in April, Will be thrown out. If however it can be proven it took place, By all means throw the book at the Dublin player, But until then he remains innocent.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/01/2014 17:24:20    1531279

You know Wayne its post like this that start these kind of rumours and whether No. 5 did or did not do this you have put it out there. there was no need for that.

Dublinlass (Dublin) - Posts: 11 - 13/01/2014 17:30:12    1531283

No discussion needed. We've been here before, show the proof and throw the book at him, end of!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 13/01/2014 17:34:38    1531288

You know Wayne its post like this that start these kind of rumours and whether No. 5 did or did not do this you have put it out there. there was no need for that.

No, The papers started the rumours with their stories.

They also gave a huge hint as to the Dublin player involved when they say that a scuffle in the second half came in the aftermath of the alledged incident and both players received yellow cards. If anyone was at the game they would know that only one incident in the second half resulted in a player on each side getting booked.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/01/2014 17:39:10    1531294

Listen folks

There is a problem with this behaviour in Dublin. It happened last year in Ballybofey & there is video of another incident on youtube.

I don't think the authorities have either the stomach or ability to sort it out especially with the well established custom of omerta that exists in the GAA. "What happens on the field stays on the field" and all that.

In my opinion it is up to the Dublin management to sort this out by banning any player engaging in biting. Ban one & that will be the end of it, not to mention sparing us all the idiocy that went on last year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/01/2014 17:42:50    1531298

Not telling you the score Wayno1 , but there were no goals . Doh .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/01/2014 17:46:10    1531301

Firstly, as posters said already, there's zero evidence of this happening.

The last time a false accusation was made about this the accuser didn't turn up to a hearing.

Dublin kept quiet the last time, as apparently they were very sure the player had not received a bite. The accuser got wind of how sure and why Dublin were so confident and didn't follow through. People can make what they want of that.

I'd imagine the same will happen this time.

And again, if you were bitten by someone, would you wait until later on in a game or would you bring it to the officials attention straight away?! If someone had a bite off me they'd have no teeth!!!!

Let's see the evidence please, and I reckon there will be very little.

Storm, teacup.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 13/01/2014 17:55:18    1531309

waynoI

No, The papers started the rumours with their stories.

They also gave a huge hint as to the Dublin player involved when they say that a scuffle in the second half came in the aftermath of the alledged incident and both players received yellow cards. If anyone was at the game they would know that only one incident in the second half resulted in a player on each side getting booked.

The papers reported on what happened in the match, I can't imagine any of them named / accused a particular player, it's pretty different to last year when a paper was able to name the player as soon after there was already a potential ban being talked about for him. I'm actually a bit surprised admin hasn't edited that part of your post out.

Anyone who was at the game might have been able to tell who was involved in the incident and hazard a guess at who it was.

Now though pretty much anybody who reads your post can just look up the Dublin starting team and see who was named where.

There was no need at all to give the lads number, leaving it at the player who got booked in the second half would have been enough.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 13/01/2014 17:56:36    1531310

JayP

The last time a false accusation was made about this the accuser didn't turn up to a hearing.

Dublin kept quiet the last time, as apparently they were very sure the player had not received a bite. The accuser got wind of how sure and why Dublin were so confident and didn't follow through. People can make what they want of that.

Talk about rewriting history!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/01/2014 18:37:51    1531332

MuckrossHead

Listen folks

There is a problem with this behaviour in Dublin. It happened last year in Ballybofey & there is video of another incident on youtube.

I don't think the authorities have either the stomach or ability to sort it out especially with the well established custom of omerta that exists in the GAA. "What happens on the field stays on the field" and all that.

In my opinion it is up to the Dublin management to sort this out by banning any player engaging in biting. Ban one & that will be the end of it, not to mention sparing us all the idiocy that went on last year.

---
In fairness it won't help matters if the alleged victim doesn't appear at a disciplinary meeting to give evidence. Why wasn't this incident reported to the referee when it occurred? Why run to the ref after the game to sort it out? Very simple, put up or shut up. When I played, many years back i hasten to add the perpetrator would have been picking his teeth up off the pitch if he tried this on one of my team mates. Not saying that that's the way to go but a lot of things can be sorted on the pitch by grown men.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 13/01/2014 18:46:44    1531334

Sadly, it seems like the vast majority of people here actually want this to be true.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 13/01/2014 18:52:27    1531337

SEDICO
I'd be all out to out any player for biting and not going down the 'no evidence so nothing can be done' route that your are taking.

But what is the alternative Sedico? How do you "out any player for biting", if there is no evidence to support it?
I would absolutley support any investigation into any incident like this,and would agree with strong sanctions against anyone found guilty. But you can only be found guilty if there is evidence. The word of the "victim" is just not enough. I completely understand the line of "why would he make up an accusation". But that still is not good enough. There has to be corroborating evidence that an incident took place, or else the alleged perpetrator has to be considered not guilty.
I know that is distasteful and unsatisfactory to many people. I know that it means that a lot of guilty people get let off. But again I ask, what is the alternative? There are people walking the streets of Ireland who should have been locked up, but there was not enough evidence so they were let off. And that is completely unacceptable to the victim and to society in general, but it is the only right thing to do.
The same situation applies here. Did a player bite someone else? Maybe. Maybe not. I don't know for sure. And unless anyone else knows for sure then under any fair system of justice, the alleged perpetrator has to be considered innocent of it. It will always be very difficult to prove something like this, especially in lower profile games when the TV cameras don't pick things up. Same with alleged racist abuse on the pitch. Same with off the ball punches. Same with lots of distasteful things that happen on a pitch. None of them are are excusable. All of them should be investigated. If proven, then all should result in heavy suspensions. But you absolutely must have proof. Better that ten guilty people walk free, than one innocent person should suffer.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 13/01/2014 19:38:31    1531350

Lads we don't have to revisit last years incident all over again, there was enough pages about it. The fact that another biting incident is being reported in a newspaper is embaressing , especially involving my County . Muckross this is not what Dublin football is about so don't generalise, I hope its sorted and dealt with quickly ,either something is proven to have happened or discarded as a non event .either way investigated and dealt with quickly.
We don't need people reading the indo and twitter adding 2 and 2 and getting 8.then feeling the need to tell everyone who it must point to.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 13/01/2014 20:04:24    1531357