https://twitter.com/vonnie_13/status/490924931723837442/photo/1

Maybe not all appears as simple as people are making out

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 21/07/2014 08:19:00    1622472

You can get a much better angle of the bite from this clip

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OBlgSz8sSM

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/07/2014 08:33:46    1622474

Posters come on the man was getting boxed around the place then the Meath player puts his his finger in his mouth after already taking aload of digs off him what would you do if it was you in EOG's position? I hate biting there's no place in Gaa for it but come on , as Owen Mulligan said on the Sunday game "if the Meath player sticks his fingers in EOG mouth do you expect him to blow it out" , let's move on.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/07/2014 08:34:38    1622476

Exactly Ziggy.

I hope some of the Drama Queens on here watched the Sunday Game also.

Bit of perspective urgently required.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 21/07/2014 08:35:54    1622477

FIFA have set the precedent in terms of an appropriate ban - let's hope the GAA follow suit.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 21/07/2014 08:39:13    1622478

Player sticks fingers in players mouth and gets bitten!! Move along there now please......

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 21/07/2014 08:45:35    1622483

Well said joxer.

As for the incident, if you don't want someone to bite you maybe keep your fkn fingers out of their mouth :-)

Jesus, if Dublin had gone whinging about some of the stuff that was done to players over the years it would need a tribunal of enquiry. Sad to see this from a once proud county.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/07/2014 09:07:25    1622490

Meath cribbing about a player who shoved a finger down someones throat and coming out with a nick on his finger. I thought it was just the Meath performance that was very un-Meath like but this is really weak stuff. I know the morality police will be out in force about the dangers and evils of biting but as Eoin Mulligan said last night, "if someone has a finger jammed down your mouth what are you going to do, blow it out"

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/07/2014 09:28:10    1622510

Burke stuck his fingers in O'Garas mouth. MOD really should have held court until he saw the pics himself.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/07/2014 09:50:48    1622523

Nothing to see here, Meath were getting hammered and tried to start a row, nothing worse than that, embarrassing, move on!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 21/07/2014 10:07:07    1622539

What's this about Mickey Burke putting his finger in O'Gara's mouth?

It's clear from the pictures that O'Gara is gripping Burke's fingers with his teeth and isn't letting go.

I would not even call it a bite. It's more of a chew.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 21/07/2014 10:17:03    1622550

It should have been left on the pitch

Imagine fish hooking a player and then complaining that he got a sore finger because of his own outrageous actions

The photo is as clear as day up above... he was clearly fish hooking a player from behind

Fair play to Sunday game panel last night

Really made Meath's complaint look silly... EOG was set upon by up to 4 Meath players at one stage and showed a hell of a lot of restraint

As mention by Tomas O'se, Mulligan and Earley

Meath have come out looking even worse because of their whinging.. and that's saying something given their performance yesterday

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 10:21:49    1622557

daytona11

Burke stuck his fingers in O'Garas mouth. MOD really should have held court until he saw the pics himself.

TheFlaker

Nothing to see here, Meath were getting hammered and tried to start a row, nothing worse than that, embarrassing, move on!

Fair play lads...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 10:26:40    1622565

I liked Tomás Ó Sé's comment about Meath waiting until they were about 17 points down to start the fight.

Should've started it earlier wha!

Love it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 21/07/2014 10:52:58    1622615

MesAmis

I liked Tomás Ó Sé's comment about Meath waiting until they were about 17 points down to start the fight.

Should've started it earlier wha!

Love it!

______

Hats off to them last night... they saw the incident as men who have played the game...

They really showed up this incident and for me... really showed up Meath and their reaction to this incident

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 10:55:11    1622618

Mugsy summed it up well last night. Do we really sympathise with the guy who was fishhooking his opponent?

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 21/07/2014 11:05:46    1622631

keithlemon
County: Australia

1622474 You can get a much better angle of the bite from this clip

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OBlgSz8sSM

Exactly if you are stupid enough to stick your finger in.
You get what you looked for.
Move on totally blown ou of the water.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 21/07/2014 11:08:55    1622636

one thing they left out though
both players recieved yellow cards
thus meaning neither could be suspended anyway
as the cccc cannot suspend a player if the ref gives a yellow as its deemed to have been dealt with

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2014 11:11:42    1622640

A Louth star was banned for about 48 weeks for a bite in a club game about 10 years ago. It happened in front of me and when I think back to it I'm quite sure the victim didn't shove his ear into the biters mouth. The ban was excessive to say the least as there wasn't even blood spilt. It was more of a romantic hug and nibble.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 21/07/2014 11:13:01    1622643

Have to agree with jimbobdub, it was bad enough to get a hiding on the pitch but then to cry about a bite after clocking O'Gara was just the nail in the coffin for me. Burke should have walked for what he did in the first instance, embarrassing stuff all round.

On another note had the misfortune of sitting beside a very annoying cocky Dublin supporter yesterday, goading after every Dublin score (and that was a lot :) , had to leave after 15 mins of the 2nd half....

AthboyGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 21/07/2014 11:21:09    1622648