Dublin biting again??

*above post should read that the profile of the game makes no difference to be severity of the incident but does make a difference to the amount of coverage it will get in the media.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 26/01/2014 20:36:58    1536981

For the record I am NOT anti-Dublin as many of my posts in the past have shown. However I do believe that Dublin get favourable treatment from both the GAA and the media and I call it as it is. There are those within the GAA and media who see Dublin as the cash cow and will try to milk that for all it's worth even to the extent where the rules and coverage are manipulated to Dublin's advantage. However you will get that in England, Spain, France, Italy and in Scotland towards Rangers too. I also understand the many Dublin fans whose loyalty to their team is commendable though it is blind loyalty as in most sports also. It is human nature to back 'your side' in all aspects of life. Family, sport, politics, we hate to admit 'our side' ever does anything wrong and if they do it must always be someone else's fault or provocation. The British auther Desmond Morris wrote about this in his excellent book THE SOCCER TRIBE where says that from crade to grave social anthropology shows that loyalty to 'the tribe' means that we back 'our side' even when they have done wrong. This topic proves that perfectly.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/01/2014 20:47:08    1536992

Ulsterman and your usual 'I'm not anti Dublin but they get favourable bla bla bla.......'

How many times you going to post the same thing bud? If you say something for long enough you'll start to believe it alright. Get the tin foil off your head.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 26/01/2014 21:04:57    1537018

MesAmis, when I read your posts I am always drawn to Christine Keeler's famous quote during the trial of Stephen Ward in the Profumo scandal. "Well he would say that..wouldn't he?"

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/01/2014 21:22:18    1537031

Ulsterman, firstly that post is utter tripe!

I was calling for a certain Dublin player to receive a lengthy ban and possibly be dropped from the Dublin squad over an incident in the County Final. Because what happened that night has no place in the GAA and he would have been in court had it happened on the street.

So if you see/hear about, an incident, and discuss the severity of it, and happen not to agree with you.......we are somehow a tribal family who cant see the bigger picture and its down to loyalty and we are all idiots apparently.

Sweeping statements.... Dublin fans are like soccer fans....and Rangers fans. Jasus you are pulling out some amazing linkages there!!! Are you serious?

You have come up with some crackers there!!!

Let me ask you this question, do you think the player just decided....randomly to bite a DCU player? And isn't it in the realms of possibility the player might have just reacted to someone doing something bad to him? And has the player not owned up to this offence and got punished? And the severity of the punishment was lessoned by the fact he gave his side of the story, and obviously those dishing out the punishment were convinced by his version of events which probably gave the context of why he would bite an opponent.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/01/2014 21:25:18    1537036

Its funny (but in no way surprising) to see the Dubs say how great JW was that he owned up to it (and air play that he did) but if this was a player from the endless list of counties certain Dublin poster (who are singing the parses of JW) did the same thing and owned up we would see a very different reaction to it

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 26/01/2014 21:41:42    1537047

Ulsterman

1536992 For the record I am NOT anti-Dublin as many of my posts in the past have shown. However I do believe that Dublin get favourable treatment from both the GAA and the media and I call it as it is. There are those within the GAA and media who see Dublin as the cash cow and will try to milk that for all it's worth even to the extent where the rules and coverage are manipulated to Dublin's advantage. However you will get that in England, Spain, France, Italy and in Scotland towards Rangers too. I also understand the many Dublin fans whose loyalty to their team is commendable though it is blind loyalty as in most sports also. It is human nature to back 'your side' in all aspects of life. Family, sport, politics, we hate to admit 'our side' ever does anything wrong and if they do it must always be someone else's fault or provocation. The British auther Desmond Morris wrote about this in his excellent book THE SOCCER TRIBE where says that from crade to grave social anthropology shows that loyalty to 'the tribe' means that we back 'our side' even when they have done wrong. This topic proves that perfectly.

Ulsterman I don't think you are anti Dub, (like moomoo). I think you are anti estabhlishment, I think you see yourself as a socialist with a tinge of communism thrown in, If the big fish are doing well there must be a hidden reason for this (bribes, nod and a wink, favouritism)because of this the big capital city will do nicely for your tirades, though sometimes your mask slips and you find yourself agreeing that the Dubs are actually very much like the people of Belfast for wit and humour ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/01/2014 21:46:45    1537049

blah blah blah Ulsterman. You might get taken seriously if your posts weren't entirely predictable.

Dublin posters have discussed this issue and have all been happy to see justice served, indeed some wanted harsher sanctions, yet you come out with your usual above tripe that I'm sure you could've copied and pasted from one of your many other musings on Dublin GAA.

You ramble on inanely about the special treatment that you (and many others you are at pains to say) believe that Dublin receive from the 32 county democratically run organisation without explaining why on earth this is agreeable to the majority of counties around the country. Because obviously it would take the collusion of a large number of counties across the country to make this happen. You give the token reason of finances but do really think that counties across the country are really working stealthily away to their own detriment?

The culchies must be awful stupid alright...............

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 26/01/2014 21:48:17    1537050

This thread is about the incident that happened in the Dublin v DCU game. From now on any off topic posts will be deleted. Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 26/01/2014 21:52:48    1537054

moomoo.....

League starts next week.......so we will see when unsavoury events occur who is biased and who is not

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/01/2014 21:53:35    1537056

Ulsterman

Jimbo,

The 'problem' has been understood and fixed; the player admitted biting an opponent, has received a ban and that's it. What is to now 'understand' unless you are providing an excuse and context in which it was justified? If this had been racist or sectarian would you still be seeking to 'understand' why the guilty player did it? By creating a rationale in which you seek a reason why the player did you lessen the 'crime' and indeed justify it if you think the player had a reason to it. If young Whelan stated why he did it would that make it OK for you and fellow Dubs? If not why are now asking the question other than to provide an excuse?
-------
How can racism or sectarianism be used as a form of self-defence? That's no comparison at all. Did you ever consider that people may not be trying to excuse the act but rather try to establish the reasoning behind the punishment?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/01/2014 21:59:02    1537061

JayP,

As I said human nature being what it is young Whelan may have reacted to a situation but biting is like spitting; it is a NO NO in our games. Most things you may be able to put up an explaination or claims of provocation. If he had decked his opponent he may have had a case of self defence or provocation but not biting. I am not comparing Dubs to Rangers fans, I am only saying that big teams (Rangers are the Scottish Establishment's team) get favourable decisions on field, off field and media coverage. Read that book and you will see what I mean; we collectively react as part of a wider group 'our tribe'.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/01/2014 21:59:03    1537062

Administrator

1537054 This thread is about the incident that happened in the Dublin v DCU game. From now on any off topic posts will be deleted. Admin.

Thanks Admin,
What happened was a scuffle happened in middle of pitch with a group of players, DCU lad grabbed JW in headlock , JW bit , DCU lad let go , later he went to ref and showed his arm, JG heard about this after match, and asked JW what happened ,JW explained, JG said to explain the incident to the relevant powers, if he ever wanted to play for Dublin again.
He did and got a suspension . end of story.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/01/2014 22:05:24    1537067

I received some inside info from a source in the DCU camp last night. Not saying who, but someone who would know exactly what happened, this person is not a Dub, but is involved in the DCU set up and was there on the night and afterwards, and this person shed new light on it for me and makes me question my condemnation of JW without knowing the real facts first

No one should bite, no one should be bitten, but, given what I now know to have happened, its not anywhere near as black and white as i was originally led to believe and circumstances dictated what happened here. In fact, JW has been given a raw deal here in a way and if your reading this JW which i am also told you do, i want to personally apologise to you for what I said earlier in this thread. If i had know then what I know now, I would not have been to quick to jump on it.

And 90% of lads here would say the same if they knew the position you were in when this actually happened.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/01/2014 09:30:20    1537083

Liam

Biting is of course against the rules and deserves to be punished

But the more I hear from the Ballymun lads and I fairly certain I now exactly what you are referring to by the way

Maybe even the person in question

You can understand why he did it... that doesn't take away from the fact that he grossly broke the rules

He was overly aggressive while defending his own well being

Also fair play to you for that post, I still owe you an apology myself but that will be for another time

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/01/2014 11:45:56    1537173

Tis grand Jimbo

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/01/2014 12:24:10    1537194

Like I said the other night, after reading the Kildare lads post, I was quick to judge without knowing all facts!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/01/2014 12:32:21    1537202

is there a transcript of the hearing anywhere otherwise all this talk is pointless. how do we know

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/01/2014 13:26:32    1537252

The only FACT we know is Whelan bit another player, the perceived circumstance are irrelevant because biting is not acceptable.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 27/01/2014 14:11:26    1537286

Too many people give their opinions without thinking about what they are saying on here.

Lots of cases in the last few months where peoples character was assassinated. JW is no different. He is condemned by people and most don't even know what happened.

Like last years incident; you cant make comments about a person without any evidence. Yeah a fact is that JW bit someone, but as I said to Ulsterman, find the reason why he bit him, and that might be an important factor to why he isn't getting a massive ban. To bite someone you either have to be a nasty person (JW, hes not nasty), or you have to be in some kind of trouble and its just an instant reaction. And this isn't jumping around in clan like nature, its nothing tribal. As I said about this years county final.....a Dublin player done something far more premeditated to an injured Dublin team mate and I felt the ban he got was paltry in comparison to the viciousness of the act committed. So this isn't defending all things Dublin. Its about a guy who done something, admitted it, but as Jimbo and Liam pointed out, its not as clear cut as he just had a BITE out of a player.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 27/01/2014 18:04:14    1537465