Dublin biting again??

lilypad

Just a question, the whole scenario is not 100% clear. If a guy had, say his forearm, pushed up into your face/mouth area, would you bite it, I think I would. I cant imagine just going up to someone and biting him out of the blue, does anyone know the details of this incident?

----
Agreed Lilypad. It's hard to believe that the Dublin player removed his gum shield and intentionally took a chomp. I would think that is more likely that he was in a head lock or sufficiently restrained around the neck area that he had to use his mouth, with or without gum shield, to free himself. Again all speculation but a scenario such as this and he coming forward could have contributed to what I view as a lenient punishment. Done and dusted now. We need to turn our attention to round 1 Kerry now.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/01/2014 20:05:23    1536295

Lilypad I have to agree, if I felt threatened or uncomfortable with how I was being pinned to the ground I would bite the transgressor if I thought it would get them off me. In a hurling match once a fella was on top of me with his forearm and full weight pressing on my windpipe and genuine fear crept in. I kneed my opponent in the privates which in normal circumstances is fairly cowardly but I didn't think that at the time, I just wanted him off me

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 24/01/2014 20:06:03    1536296

Three different people said to me that he was in a head lock and bit to get out(doesn't mean he was in a headlock ) , but if he was its still wrong and inexcusable if that was the case, but he owned up got his punishment and its accepted. time to move on .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/01/2014 21:12:14    1536325

nothing cowardly about that frankbhoy, you were right.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/01/2014 21:16:44    1536327

yes athcliath i think under the circumstances Gavin and co didnt want to be seen to defend a player who bit someone but at the same time probably understood why he did it. im sure Gavin had this talk with Whelan and they both agreed reluctantly that it was best to take the sting and move on.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/01/2014 21:20:10    1536330

I have to say lilypad that your post could actually be quite insightful and I suppose I never really thought about it like that in my haste to distance myself from such behaviour.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/01/2014 21:25:45    1536333

Mes Amis

Again O'Byrne Cup versus All-Ireland Quarter Final. Have a think man. Yes one incident was worse than the other but think of the difference between the profiles of the games.
----------------------------------------------------------------
The profile of the game is immaterial,its the seriousness of the offense that is paramount,

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/01/2014 21:41:58    1536341

seanie_boy

The profile of the game is immaterial,its the seriousness of the offense that is paramount,

The profile of the game is in no way immaterial when discussing the media reaction to the even which is what my post was about.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 24/01/2014 21:52:11    1536350

Anyone consider giving the Dublin players a few hang sangwiches before the games ?
Maybe the opposing teams could throw together a little bit of a hamper and drop it into the dubs dressing room 30 mins before throw in.
Could be a simple solution here!,
Just a suggestion.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 25/01/2014 09:47:38    1536373

Point taken bumpernut! I was not referring to Antrim.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/01/2014 10:01:06    1536375

A hang sandwich stopthelights......???

Sure isnt it the hunger that has spurred us on to luckily win 2 out of 3 All Irelands!!!!

Ye should starve those Galway boys a bit....ye might even become competitive ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 25/01/2014 10:21:28    1536381

JayP

1536381 A hang sandwich stopthelights......???

Sure isnt it the hunger that has spurred us on to luckily win 2 out of 3 All Irelands!!!!

Ye should starve those Galway boys a bit....ye might even become competitive ;-) [/
b]

:D

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/01/2014 10:56:06    1536387

Cant help but notice how the Dubs are trying their best to brush this under the carpet, lead as always by the usual names

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 25/01/2014 12:25:18    1536411

Yes Moo you're absolutely right as usual, how are you so astute?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 25/01/2014 13:08:44    1536420

ONLY PAURIC DUFFY HAD SPOKEN OUT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BRUSHED UNDER THE CARPET TOO.

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 25/01/2014 13:28:12    1536425

moomoo

1536411 Cant help but notice how the Dubs are trying their best to brush this under the carpet, lead as always by the usual names

By continuing to discuss it................

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/01/2014 13:38:26    1536428

He's been punished

Rightly so, you cant react in that manner... Now I applaud the honesty of some posters saying they'd possibly do it themselves given a certain set of circumstances.

Because I can tell you now... that if I had an arm around my neck, stuck in my throat... if another player was doing that to me... which in itself is a violent act.

Then yeah... I'd feckin bite the fecker... but I'd also have to take responsibility for what is a violent act

A violent act that I had committed

Thankfully... JW has done that very thing and has been applauded by many for doing so. Including top brass of the GAA

Because I honestly think if he had of appealed...I think he could have got off.

But sure... he'll serve his time for doing the crime.

He'll be available for selection in 8 weeks.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/01/2014 14:00:02    1536432

'has been applauded' for accepting his punishment, God almighty...

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 25/01/2014 14:09:44    1536433

Makes you think... perhaps players that are sticking their arms around a players neck, pushing their arms into another players throat in an aggressive manner causing pain and maybe even panic...

Perhaps maybe... if you got a bite... that perhaps you may have had a big part in that unfortunate outcome.

Keep your arms to yourself maybe?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/01/2014 14:12:53    1536434

JayP, delighted to see ye or any team win all Ireland's whilst playing good attacking football .
You mightn't be too far off on starvin a few of our boys to get the hunger back.
We mightn't be too bad in a couple of years though.
Glad you appreciated the bit of humor .
The lad got punished and rightly so , the precedent has been set for all others who follow and let that be the end of it.
Jesus , you'd swear bin laden was beheading people beneath the hogan stand the way it's going here.

Gaillimh Abu !

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 25/01/2014 14:27:16    1536440