Dublin biting again??

Brianmac78

1535963 The thing with biting that makes it stand out from other acts with the exception of stamping/kicking a player on the ground and maybe spitting, is that you actually have to know your doing it before you do it because you have to remove the gum shield. If you hit a fella a dig it can be a moment of madness a rush of blood to the head but biting, Jesus Christ

Gavin is prepared to dump lads who show any interest in playing hurling will he stand by Whelan for doing something equally as bad as that!!! ? Not sure Id give him a jersey again. The 1 thing in his favour if you can call it that is he owned up, something others wouldn't have done I suspect

Ha! Hurling worse than biting wha!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/01/2014 21:24:36    1535966

For Jim Gavin it is :)

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 23/01/2014 21:30:59    1535972

the length of this suspension really shows a lack of concern for players health by the gaa?
24 weeks for knocking book out of refs hand compared to just 8 weeks for biting a player

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 23/01/2014 21:43:55    1535977

Dublin footballers have put up with abuse for years and never went crying to the press.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/01/2014 22:00:44    1535985

Gammy_Knee: County: USA: Posts: 1406: the GPA have been very quiet on this......

Kerryluck: County: Kerry: Posts: 1993: the length of this suspension really shows a lack of concern for players health by the gaa?
24 weeks for knocking book out of refs hand compared to just 8 weeks for biting a player

Gammy Knee: Yes the very same thing crossed my mind yesterday, the GPA is very quick to voice their opinions on just about anything regarding player welfare, but not a peep… is it because Dublin is involved?

KerryLuck: Agree, I posted a similar comment about 2 pages back, if it was the same person who knocked the notebook out of the referee's hand that bit, he would prob get 2 years and be forced to wear a "Hannible Lector" style cage when playing….. total total lack of consistency from an organisation that prides itself on "Dignity, Respect, Fairness and player wellbeing"… ya right

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 24/01/2014 08:33:32    1535990

hurlingdub

Dublin footballers have put up with abuse for years and never went crying to the press.

what that got to do with biting a player?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 24/01/2014 09:02:16    1535999

AthCliath

1535543 Most Dublin posters have been saying if someone was found guilty or if an offence had taken place they would react, the posts over the last few days and weeks by people have shown how dangerous it is to condemn someone without having the full picture. Wrong people get named and they have to constantly deny it. If this case had of disappeared an innocent person would have been the one who would of always been presumed the guilty party.
Thankfully this case was followed through and the right person got punished ,although an 8 WEEK ban is a joke it should have been a year,(but stupidly that's what is the sentence for such an act). Its a terrible act and worse than punching someone and I think the guy will regret his moment of madness for a long time. There is no point in people trying to have a go at Dublin posters on here and trying to get the maximum
apologies out of them, The guys actions brought embarrassment to the Dublin jersey, its something we don't want associated with Dublin football, its shameful and a dangerous thing to do. I wish the Donegal affair had of been done better and closure put on it also, but it didn't so that still is in the background of this case and probably where peoples anger also comes from.
As a Dub I hope not to have to see another thread like this one appear again . As a County with a huge amount of clubs and tradition this incident is not representative of Dublin GAA.

I don't think Dublin GAA fans have anything to apologise for, nor does the Dublin team. It's very easy to jump on the bandwagon and get a wee dig in at the reigning All Ireland Champions. At the end of the day, the player did not act on the Instruction of the team Management or county fans. Yer man made a mistake, he did wrong and has been punished by the CCCC.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 24/01/2014 09:39:43    1536010

Player punished,end of story,NEXT! :)

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/01/2014 09:49:38    1536020

Comparing the publicity surrounding Sean C. in an All-Ireland Q-Final and John G. interfering with an official in a Championship game to a group match in the O'Byrne Cup???

Sean C. was lit on, not by the 'Southern Newspapers' but by a Derry man!! If he had not blown a gasket little would have been said.

Galvin's problem was he denied it at first saying he was swiping away a fly!!

So some perspective would be nice.

Still cannot fathom how you bite with a gum shield or why go to the effort to take it out to bite.

Would have said 12 weeks was about were the suspension should be.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 24/01/2014 10:16:02    1536040

witnof

Really ... did he really say he was swatting away a fly! Bahahahaha

I guess then he was trying to nail a wasp with that black board duster wha!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/01/2014 10:18:45    1536042

kerryluck

1535999 hurlingdub

what that got to do with biting a player?

That Dublin have NEVER gone whinging about stuff that happened on the pitch that was not noticed and dealt with at the time. And some of it was pretty nasty. And they especially never whinged if one of our own was a participant in an incident! Do you think Whelan just took some mad notion to bite the DCU player? Not excusing and it was inexcusable reaction. But it was a reaction. Which I think explains why the sentence was not heavier.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/01/2014 12:13:52    1536082

hurlingdub

Define abuse?

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/01/2014 12:48:05    1536101

Ask the Gooch about the treatment he received from certain backs from Ulsterman's home patch. Similar to that. And of course the Gooch like the gentleman that he is did not complain to the authorities after the event.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/01/2014 12:52:20    1536106

ziggy320001

Player punished,end of story,NEXT! :)

100%. The player was accused, he admitted it and took his ban. The length of ban was outside of his control. End of!!

donegaldouble (Donegal) - Posts: 310 - 24/01/2014 13:05:00    1536116

Ulaterman's home county or adopted one, hurlingdub!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 24/01/2014 15:24:46    1536190

We ask players to take responsibility and own up..... for the good of the game.

A player stands up and accepts he was wrong...... and people want to crucify him.

What was the alternative; he could have kept quiet and got no ban?

So let this be a lesson to a player who kicks/stamps/spits/bites.....if you say nothing you get hung out to dry; and if you admit it....YOU GET HUNG OUT TO DRY.

Cant want wait for Ulsterman and the Dublin hating brigade to eat humble pie later on in the year, in eight months time Sam will be handed out again in the Hoganstand. Theres a lot of "controversies" between then and now. Hope you guys will be howling out for lengthy bans come the end of spring/mid summer.

He admitted it, got a ban, end of story.

Is it long enough; I think so. Do we have any particulars about the case? No......

Did he bite a guy who had him in a headlock/elbow on his face on the ground? We don't know

Id say his admission plus the circumstances of the melee were taken into consideration.

IS BITING TERRIBLE .... YES. Would I bite someone......YES. Would I do it if I felt in danger and someone had a hold of me and wasn't letting go.....YES.

Im not defending the offence; Im just saying if he ONLY got 8 weeks there were probably mitigating factors taken into account.

I remember some county players dropping their knees onto guys heads with their full body weight in games and they didn't even get a yellow card.

lastly..... I did comment in disgust when posters put up names and initials and team numbers on forum. Dragging a guys name through the mud when an investigation is ongoing is disgracefull; and hopefully people will learn lessons from this case.

Oh....a question for Dublin posters who are all DISGUSTED Whelan didn't get a longer ban....

What was the length of the ban for one Dublin player stamping on another Dublin players head whilst he was down injured during the County Final this year? Were you not disgusted that ban wasn't longer?

And should that player be wearing a Dublin shirt this year?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 24/01/2014 16:28:03    1536222

JayP

I agree with most of the above although i think your exaggerating the 'disgusted' fans reaction to the ban. A bite is a bite and by the fact alone it is dangerous and i think 8 weeks is not enough. But factually thats what the rule states and by extension thats what our player deserved. People are still entitled to argue that such a ban is not severe enough however. I have heard anecdotally through the grapevine, and i accept all the limitations that such statements have as well as being unable to confirm its validity, that a headlock may of been used. Does that excuse the action, no, but it probably had an influence on the length of the ban including when the severity of the injury was accounted for. The admission may have had an impact too.

I referenced another case where the victim recieved substantial injuries to his ear and i assume the 20 week ban influenced that decision. I wouldn't be surprised if there was a litigation proceding to follow that if it already hasn't happened as it constitutes assault.

I think this matter is closed now and i've had my last say on it!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 24/01/2014 17:06:12    1536230

Just a question, the whole scenario is not 100% clear. If a guy had, say his forearm, pushed up into your face/mouth area, would you bite it, I think I would. I cant imagine just going up to someone and biting him out of the blue, does anyone know the details of this incident?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/01/2014 19:26:52    1536277

Yeah, I'd like to know the details of what happened.
It is nice to know he owned up and he deserved a reduction for that, not a reduction to just 8 weeks but a reduction nonetheless. Many wouldn't have owned up.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 24/01/2014 19:45:38    1536285

In fairness it is a little odd that it's the third biting incident in a few years from the same team. I do think it's a coincidence especially because it hasn't been the same players but it's just a little odd nonetheless. I expect this'll be the last biting incident though.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 24/01/2014 19:56:29    1536290