All Ireland u21 football 2014

Fair play to Roscommon for having a go in the 2nd half, many a team would have wanted to hit the road and get home ASAP. Once there is space that Dublin forward line is always going to cause havoc. Costello, McHugh, Mannion etc. will probably play senior either this season or at some stage in the future, if they haven't already.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 03/05/2014 16:17:13    1583697

Well I didn't see that performance coming, Dublin were top class, Ross were very poor, lucky they didn't get a red card for that dirty belt on our lad near the end, well done Dublin, champions again!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 03/05/2014 16:17:50    1583698

Jack McCaffrey's speech was too quality. Could see he didn't want to do the 3 cheers and didn't bore us with all the thank yous. Great lad, all speeches should be done like that

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 03/05/2014 16:24:24    1583700

Great achievement by the boys in blue they finally clicked like we knew they could. hard luck Roscommon they have some great talent there.
Disappointing to see some Cavan posters still lacking class and dignity but sure why break the habit of a lifetime.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 03/05/2014 16:31:35    1583703

Brilliant performance. They took the foot off the pedal in the second half. Conor McHugh is a class act so is costelloe, i hope his injury is not too serious. Niall skully also fantastic player, manion was also good today. Ref must have felt sorry for Ros. I few leniant decisions there. Felt sorry for roscommon in first half, what a nightmare 30 mins but redeemed themselves with a gutsy display in second. However result was never in doubt from the first whistle. I wonder would cork have fared any better.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/05/2014 16:36:21    1583707

Dublin All Ireland U21 Football Champions for the 3rd time in 5 years.

Magnificent achievemen.

Come on you Boys in Blue.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 03/05/2014 17:00:24    1583721

3 u21 titles in last 5 years. 2 SFC titles in previous 3 years. 9 out of 12 previous Leinster titles. Back to back league titles.

Question for Dublin posters.

Why are you becoming so good and so dominant at both senior and underage football in the last 5 years?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 03/05/2014 17:08:18    1583725

Pathetic generalisation from Floops.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 03/05/2014 17:12:52    1583730

s goldrick
County: Cavan You forget Cavan lost an all Ireland by 10 points against Galway and were down by 11 at half time a few year ago. Fair play to the Dubs today they were class no complaints here.Credit our lads too for a decent second half.

1rossiejim (Roscommon) - Posts: 80 - 03/05/2014 17:15:58    1583732

03/05/2014 17:08:18
Ned_Stormcrow

3 u21 titles in last 5 years. 2 SFC titles in previous 3 years. 9 out of 12 previous Leinster titles. Back to back league titles.

Why are you becoming so good and so dominant at both senior and underage football in the last 5 years?

All credit to Dublin County Board for implementing coaching structures to develop young players.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 03/05/2014 17:17:47    1583733

Terribly naive from Roscommon in the first half.It was obvious after about 5 minutes that the Dublins forwards had the beating of their markers and they were been given far too much space to play in.Surely Roscommon should have put a sweeper in front of the full back line to cut out some of the balls Dublin were sending in.

Roscommons warm up consisted almost entirely of short handpassing drills and stupidly they carried that into the match as their was too much handpassing from them when on a wet day in my opinion ball should be delivered into the forwards as quickly as possible, when they were more direct and ran hard at Dublin in the second half they looked like a good team but unfortunately it was too late for them.

Its a such a pity Roscommon couldn't have won considering the support they brought they outnumbered Dublin by about 10 to 1 and there didn't seem to be any Dublin fans in the stand.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 03/05/2014 17:17:49    1583734

Ned_Stormcrow

Because of natural talent and preparation!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 03/05/2014 17:22:47    1583745

Terrible thing to say uibhfhaili, but winning underage All Irelands is not a novelty in Dublin so doesn't attract same crowds as counties like Cavan and Roscommon. If final had been Dublin Cork there probably wouldn't have been 3,000 there. Which is a pity as I think it is great game to watch, as is 21s hurling.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 03/05/2014 17:41:15    1583757

Johnjoe I said SOME Cavan posters so it's not a generalisation.
The classless comments are there for all to see and I wasn't letting it slide.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 03/05/2014 17:44:46    1583758

It seems Galway are the only team in Connacht who don't bottle it on All Ireland Football Final day.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1579 - 03/05/2014 18:05:11    1583771

Floops as you are the police of this thread...
Look back at Roscommon comments pre and post semis

What comes around goes around....

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 03/05/2014 19:07:10    1583785

hurlingdub
Terrible thing to say uibhfhaili, but winning underage All Irelands is not a novelty in Dublin so doesn't attract same crowds as counties like Cavan and Roscommon. If final had been Dublin Cork there probably wouldn't have been 3,000 there. Which is a pity as I think it is great game to watch, as is 21s hurling.

So when Dublin are going for their 16th Leinster in 20 years in a few years and their 7th all ireland in 10 years the crowds will have diminished big time? Not that you get good crowds for Leinster anymore considering the support base you have. The GAA will become boring and people outside Dublin will lose interest. Splitting the likes of Dublin/Cork in two will prob just mean two extra teams 90% of us can't beat.

I see a bleak future unless radical change is made. And you can't split cork in hurling and not kilkenny or kerry in football. At what point does it stop? Maybe weaker counties joining together along with the biggest splitting is the way to go.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 03/05/2014 19:31:18    1583794

Well done to Dessie farell, and the Dublin U21s, hard luck to Roscommon,it was not to be your day,today. Dessie farell, has done it in Minor,U21, and will i believe in time manage the Dublin senior team.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 03/05/2014 19:52:46    1583806

1rossiejim
County: Roscommon

s goldrick
County: Cavan You forget Cavan lost an all Ireland by 10 points against Galway and were down by 11 at half time a few year ago. Fair play to the Dubs today they were class no complaints here.Credit our lads too for a decent second half.

1rossiejim, what on earth has that got to do with my comment or today's match.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/05/2014 20:00:34    1583813

I was in the stand , great win by the Dubs I've said it here the last two weeks that Roscommon are not defensive which will suit Mannion Costello and Mchugh in Dublin's full forward line to run amok and that's exactly what happened, hard luck to Roscommon they are not as bad as they looked in the first half and sometimes the big following can go against young fellas as I think it did today. This is really a special time to be a Dub long may it contuine , well done lads great team great win I'm buzzing.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/05/2014 20:05:59    1583816