All Ireland u21 football 2014

evano11

1579385 Eugene McGee views as written in yesterdays Irish Times:
In the meantime the former chairman of the Football Review Committee (FRC) Eugene McGee, who helped introduce both the black card and the advantage rule, has expressed his opinion the Dublin player should indeed have been black carded, as "deliberate this foul most certainly was", while the advantage rule was also misapplied.
"As with all new rules it is not just players or mentors who have to get accustomed to them, but the referees also," said McGee.

-----
Let it go lads, let it go. Your day will come.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/04/2014 12:05:52    1579404

EugeneMcGee, that fella from up north commenting on a Cavan loss!?

McHugh tried tackle and the Cavan boy dragged him down.

McGee commenting in the Irish Times......does he get paid for that!? Yeah exactly....controversial, for the sake of getting readership.

A complete neutral ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 24/04/2014 12:32:32    1579416

not commenting on Cavan loss commenting on the rules not been applied correctly!!

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 24/04/2014 12:43:38    1579422

Havent seen McGee's reffing credentials, how many top class games has he reffereed?

Exactly! His opinion on the rules and the way he would like them enforced. McHugh was dragged down. How thats a black card under the new rules I will never know!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 24/04/2014 15:57:14    1579532

not commenting on Cavan loss commenting on the rules not been applied correctly!!

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 24/04/2014 16:42:24    1579554

Has Longford been annexed by Ulster now too? No end to this northern aggression.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 24/04/2014 16:43:55    1579556

Evens your pick in the Final...... so who will win.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 24/04/2014 16:56:43    1579566

All I could find is a few quotes in an article but no article from McGee himself. "deliberate this foul most certainly was" - what is the character in Star Wars that speaks like that? that is just a nonsense quote - the paper doesn't say when or where it came from and I doubt if McGee has even seen it.
This thing has dragged on too long - all that should happen now is the suspensions for the players, mentors and spectators involved. The message needs to be sent that regardless of what your grievance is that behavior is unacceptable. If the GAA does not come down hard on these people then every club referee will become fair game for hotheads who believer they have the right to air their grievances in this manner.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 24/04/2014 17:55:10    1579608

roscommon by 2

mat (Mayo) - Posts: 182 - 24/04/2014 18:24:38    1579621

24/04/2014 16:56:43
kikfada
County: Louth

Boyle sports and others have Dublin favorites. We'll hopefully give it our best shot and see where it takes us.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 24/04/2014 20:51:53    1579683

The_analyser
County: Roscommon

1579683 24/04/2014 16:56:43
kikfada
County: Louth

Boyle sports and others have Dublin favorites. We'll hopefully give it our best shot and see where it takes us.

It will be interesting game, personally I don't think our 21s look organised as a unit anytime I have seen them this year ,if we can start with Emmet and shane carthy in the middle I would be more confident ,but injuries might dictate otherwise. Roscommon look more organised and going on form have to fancy themselves for this.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/04/2014 21:18:28    1579705

ZINNY

punish any spectators who enter on to the field of play - yes, by all means. Poor Roscommon tho. .I mean if you're going to punish the lone Cavan supporter, what rule could you apply? He didn't get close enough to the referee to pose any kind of threat so he is only going to be caught under the "wrongly entering onto the field of play" - so 100s of Ros fans will fall victim of the same breach.

As for players and management who cried foul to the referee, I think if we were to go that route, you'd very quickly run out of players to send onto the field for ANY team.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 25/04/2014 09:05:56    1579742

cavanman

Not sure if you are deliberately trying to make yourself look foolish or if you just don't understand the rules and what when on. If its the latter let me know and I will post the relevant sections of the official guid for you to read.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 25/04/2014 10:02:53    1579754

cavanman47
punish any spectators who enter on to the field of play - yes, by all means. Poor Roscommon tho. .I mean if you're going to punish the lone Cavan supporter, what rule could you apply? He didn't get close enough to the referee to pose any kind of threat so he is only going to be caught under the "wrongly entering onto the field of play" - so 100s of Ros fans will fall victim of the same breach.

As for players and management who cried foul to the referee, I think if we were to go that route, you'd very quickly run out of players to send onto the field for ANY team.

The "lone Cavan supporter" could be charged with "Misconduct Considered to have Discredited the Association", or "Disruptive Conduct by Players, Team Officials or Supporters (not causing the Premature Termination of a Game)."

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 25/04/2014 10:16:38    1579761

Would ye cavan lads ever give it up and forget about what happened, nothing is going to change it now, time to move on.
I hear Rossies will have 3 injured players back for the final, all defenders, it should plug those holes that kept Cork in the game long after it should have been done and dusted, we will need to be on our toes big time to curb the dubs, I am really looking forward to the game and the one thing I dont want is a strong wind, Ros like to shoot from distance and wind wont suit. Dublin have not played as expected in this championship, they were below par in most of their games but I expect a different performance next Saturday and feel it will be close, there are rossies going around thinking we only have to turn up, its a joke really, if we prevail it will be some achievement and a huge boost to Roscommon football, either way we have great talent in this team and I predict at least seven of them will go on to play senior.PROUD TO BE A ROSSIE.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 28/04/2014 17:55:39    1581662

8/04/2014 17:55:39
giveballaghback
County: Roscommon

there are rossies going around thinking we only have to turn up, its a joke really, if we prevail it will be some achievement and a huge boost to Roscommon football, either way we have great talent in this team and I predict at least seven of them will go on to play senior.PROUD TO BE A ROSSIE.

Really? did some rossies come down in the last shower or something? everyone with any knowledge of game will know how much of achievement it will be if we prevail on Saturday. It will probably take a performance of lifetime for us to topple the Dubs. We already have six on senior panel and at least another three will be added.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 28/04/2014 18:14:13    1581675

Would ye cavan lads ever give it up and forget about what happened, nothing is going to change it now, time to move on.

No Cavan fan has posted in 4 days, relax!

Dublin by 4.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 28/04/2014 18:18:15    1581677

well weare nearly at the end of another u 21 year
who are the players that have immpressed people from around the countys

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 28/04/2014 19:28:49    1581720

Players that have impressed me

Cork- Cadogan,McEoin,Surgue
Cavan- Argue,Clarke,Moynagh
Dublin-Molloy, Costello,McHugh,Lownes
Meath-Mattimoe
Roscommon- Corcoran, Both Smith brothers, Harney, Murtagh

There just from games i have seen with standout player Murtagh from roscommon

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 28/04/2014 19:53:27    1581741

finals fixed for Tullamore. Id love to know the reasoning why its not in Portlaoise now?

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 29/04/2014 19:15:42    1582199