All Ireland u21 football 2014

JayP

1578421 Ref wasn't great the other night. Cavan supporters are cherry picking here. Look at the whole game. How many times did Mannion get dragged out of and pushed over. Rose tinted glasses. There were at least 3 other black card offences spotted by officials and not enforced from Cavan players on Dublin players.

Dublin were awful, but they were the better team overall.

The poorest reffing I've seen was the AI semi in 2012, James Horan played a blinder and mentioned McQuiilan was reffing Dublin training games. Completely unfounded lie about the official who should have been stepped down from officiating. The media storm about it leading up to the game forced McQuillan into the most one sided officiating I have ever seen. The second half had No playing time. Feigning injury, diving....... But the ref was afraid to give Dublin a free for fear of "bias". Now after that game nobody from outside Dublin addressed how cheated Dublin were that day. Dublin didn't play well that day, but the 21's game the other night, if Cavan had won, despite a small amount of bias shown towards Cavan, I would have said fair play to Cavan. See Dublin supporters are used to not getting our fair share of calls, so we generally accept that's just the way it is. If all your remember is two calls in the game that you think went against you, the ref probably was pretty fair/bad to both teams.

I think people are letting their emotions get e better of them. Dublin won as although they didn't perform well they were still slightly better and tried to score and win the game.

So you just accept it then? Then why bring up a game from 2012 if you are accepting it?

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 22/04/2014 14:55:55    1578503

It would be interesting to see what people would be saying the if roles were reversed and Dublin had of put in a performance like Cavan and had carried on after the match in the same way and lost by a point. I can guarantee the usual posters like THE master and Ulsterman would solely focus on the carry of the fans and say Cavan were the better team with and point to their their wide count . I have no problem with Cavan fans being annoyed at certain decisions because I would be the same, but all these pages clearly show that from certain guys that the topic in hand is clearly irrelevant its just like a politican in opposition , argue the opposite no matter what the topic is.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/04/2014 14:59:48    1578509

Why are you saying that Dublin accept what happened in 2012? If thats the case then why bring it up 2 years later? That doesn't sound very accepting to me.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 22/04/2014 15:09:28    1578523

AthCliath

It would be interesting to see what people would be saying the if roles were reversed and Dublin had of put in a performance like Cavan and had carried on after the match in the same way and lost by a point. I can guarantee the usual posters like THE master and Ulsterman would solely focus on the carry of the fans and say Cavan were the better team with and point to their their wide count . I have no problem with Cavan fans being annoyed at certain decisions because I would be the same, but all these pages clearly show that from certain guys that the topic in hand is clearly irrelevant its just like a politican in opposition , argue the opposite no matter what the topic is.
________

No question about it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/04/2014 15:12:59    1578527

@batterburger

I have to accept it! It happened. But it happens a lot with Dublin, so we are used to teams getting more frees than us.

But it's quite sad you are trying to reduce my valid point to an anti Dublin rant.

I mentioned 2012 as the regular anti Dublin posters on here seem to forget that it happened. Collective amnesia.

The 21's game the other day, McHugh should have got a free or a black card and it was a free at the end to Dublin. If that's all you remember and are upset about then the ref probably wasn't as bad or biased as people claimed.

I felt the ref favoured Cavan over the 60 minutes, but if Cavan had won would I be jumping around about it. Not really, as Dublin didn't perform to their potential and if they had the ref would be a non issue. As I said we kinda expect a bit of bias against us.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 22/04/2014 18:04:10    1578681

Shocking scenes last week at the end of final whistle. Yes cavan might have felt hard done by but it aint no excuse for there behaviour. Even if it was other way round and it was dubs i still woud,nt condone this behaviour. They have let themselves down badly...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 23/04/2014 15:44:51    1579125

Havn't commented on the incident until now but. . .

There were over 4000 Cavan supporters at the game. Having seen plenty of TV footage, it is clear that ONE supporter entered the pitch after the game and approached the referee. While he did not physically attack the ref (the only physical contact came from the stewards themselves) I do not condone his behaviour in wishing to confront him.

No TV footage I viewed showed a Cavan supporter throwing anything at the referee as he left the field, but I would hazard a guess that this did happen as it was possible to see a red object (appeared to be foot packaging) fall to the ground.

The Cavan management approached the officials - this is commonplace in all games.

Whether or not there was any kind of physical threat the the referee is mere speculation and the aggressive behaviour of a sufficient number of stewards ensured the referee left the field of play safely.

The above is a factual account of what occurred - so I find it hard to see how the GAA would have grounds to punish Cavan in any way.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 23/04/2014 16:25:10    1579156

cavanman47

"Havn't commented on the incident until now but. . .

There were over 4000 Cavan supporters at the game. Having seen plenty of TV footage, it is clear that ONE supporter entered the pitch after the game and approached the referee. While he did not physically attack the ref (the only physical contact came from the stewards themselves) I do not condone his behaviour in wishing to confront him.

No TV footage I viewed showed a Cavan supporter throwing anything at the referee as he left the field, but I would hazard a guess that this did happen as it was possible to see a red object (appeared to be foot packaging) fall to the ground.

The Cavan management approached the officials - this is commonplace in all games.

Whether or not there was any kind of physical threat the the referee is mere speculation and the aggressive behaviour of a sufficient number of stewards ensured the referee left the field of play safely.

The above is a factual account of what occurred - so I find it hard to see how the GAA would have grounds to punish Cavan in any way."

Is this a wind up? Is this how normal matches finish in Cavan, where the ref has to be escorted off the pitch by a number of stewards and a few Gardai?

Me thinks that you are "extracting the urine".

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 23/04/2014 17:02:30    1579184

"has to be escorted off"??

Why did he have to be? Like I said - to say there was any physical threat is speculation.

What is interesting to note is the fact that the stewards rushed to his side BEFORE anyone approached him - i.e. they were fully aware of the wrongdoings he had just committed and expected a reaction (and by reaction, I don't mean the few mere verbals that ensued)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 23/04/2014 17:24:21    1579199

cavanman47

"has to be escorted off"??

Why did he have to be? Like I said - to say there was any physical threat is speculation.

What is interesting to note is the fact that the stewards rushed to his side BEFORE anyone approached him - i.e. they were fully aware of the wrongdoings he had just committed and expected a reaction (and by reaction, I don't mean the few mere verbals that ensued)
-------
Tell me this is a windup. Well I was there and the reason why the stewards gathered around the ref is because they realised that his physical well being was in danger. Stewards restrained a number of Cavan supporters and team officials. There were reports of coins being thrown and the referee being spat at. I can honestly say that I saw neither but was behind the goal. However several supporters tried to get to the referee and one can only presume that it was not to shake his hand.

As for wrongdoings. Yes Cavan got their tactics wrong. One point in 28 minutes will not win you a game at this level, parked bus or no parked bus.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/04/2014 18:42:38    1579228

cavanman47 If you watch the video again you will see that the Cavan manager is shouting abuse into the ref's face and following him very closely BEFORE the stewards reach him, which is why the stewards ran over to protect him. Pretty disgraceful behavior IMO, it doesn't matter that there wasn't any physical abuse, those involved made a show of themselves on national tv, I wouldn't say they made a show of Cavan as you cant paint everyone with the same brush, just themselves.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 23/04/2014 19:03:25    1579242

Before people came on here to castigate Cavan management and supporters for venting their anger towards the referee they should have looked back into their own county's history. We wouldn't have had as many comments if they had. Let he who is without sin ....

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/04/2014 19:49:55    1579254

at the end of the day
cavan have won 4 ulsters u-21 in a row
but they have not gone on to win one all ireland
the big problem is the style of football
this defensive style is limited
cavan has to become more attack minded or there going nowhere

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/04/2014 19:54:00    1579257

I think that cavan are late adopting the blanket defence. It is not the secret weapon that it once was, a team that plays a running game will make a mockery of it. But they still gave it their best shot, and will have a serious senior outfit in years to come. Re the ref incident, i think that people are very quick to jump on a big story. This is just that, a story. I think that there is too much being made of a potential situation, as it did not reach the full scale situation that many seem to think happened. The ref got verbal after the game. Stop the back page why dont ye.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/04/2014 20:10:49    1579260

As has been said, the supporters' frustration was perhaps understandable. Happens in lots of games. Very rare though that they try to attack the ref, but then very rare that a team manager gets into the face of the ref coming off the field either. I am certain that if Harte or Cody or Fitzmaurice or JBM did the same then it would encourage others to follow suit, but they don't. So I would blame Reilly in the first instance.

As for the disputed McHugh black card. Look at the incident. He was dragged down by the jersey. End of.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/04/2014 20:14:22    1579261

Cavan_Slasher

Before people came on here to castigate Cavan management and supporters for venting their anger towards the referee they should have looked back into their own county's history. We wouldn't have had as many comments if they had. Let he who is without sin ....

-----
I think the worrying thing about this whole sage is the failure of most Cavan people to condem the incidents. Instead they actually try to justify them and put it down to some apparent injustice that if they actually watched the game on TV would see did not occur. As for supporters of other counties, with the exception of the Louth incident. in all my years attending games I cannot remember supporters and team management coming onto the field of play to attack a referee.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/04/2014 20:34:57    1579267

Fingal Ravens have a tale to tell Joxer!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/04/2014 20:40:23    1579269

hurlingdub

Fingal Ravens have a tale to tell Joxer! ;)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/04/2014 20:56:38    1579276

Joxer

Cavan_Slasher

-----
I think the worrying thing about this whole sage is the failure of most Cavan people to condem the incidents. Instead they actually try to justify them and put it down to some apparent injustice that if they actually watched the game on TV would see did not occur. As for supporters of other counties, with the exception of the Louth incident. in all my years attending games I cannot remember supporters and team management coming onto the field of play to attack a referee.

Most Cavan people have condemed the incidents. You feel the injustices they talk about did not occur. Eugene McGee the man who came up with the new proposals said the following in the Irish times yesterday:
In the meantime the former chairman of the Football Review Committee (FRC) Eugene McGee, who helped introduce both the black card and the advantage rule, has expressed his opinion the Dublin player should indeed have been black carded, as "deliberate this foul most certainly was", while the advantage rule was also misapplied.
"As with all new rules it is not just players or mentors who have to get accustomed to them, but the referees also," said McGee.

He as a neutral and who knows the rules would not agree with you.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 24/04/2014 11:23:51    1579370

Eugene McGee views as written in yesterdays Irish Times:
In the meantime the former chairman of the Football Review Committee (FRC) Eugene McGee, who helped introduce both the black card and the advantage rule, has expressed his opinion the Dublin player should indeed have been black carded, as "deliberate this foul most certainly was", while the advantage rule was also misapplied.
"As with all new rules it is not just players or mentors who have to get accustomed to them, but the referees also," said McGee.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 24/04/2014 11:43:59    1579385