All Ireland u21 football 2014

MesAmis

Cork one very similar. It was harsh and often wouldn't have been given. But the Cork players/fans/management didn't react childishly to their credit.

More people escorted the ref off the pitch than there were Cork fans at the game!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 22/04/2014 10:57:28    1578314

I'm not condoning the actions towards the ref at the end, but it is definitely being exaggerated. It's an issue for the Gaa but I think everyone needs to calm down.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 22/04/2014 10:59:26    1578317

Come on man it was a 45 all day long it never touched Mannion on it's way out of play, Ivorys free at the end was soft I agree with that but it was a free and Mchugh's was a black card how he gave a yellow I'll never know, I can see why Cavan would be annoyed but the best team won and deserve to go through to the final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/04/2014 11:01:27    1578318

Overall its not a win i'll be boasting about. I felt for Cavan. We clearly got the breaks but i'd say that the advantage rule is something the overwhelming majority welcome and that the ref had to make the decisions based on discretion which he did. I would not be hard on him because of those particular calls. Throughout the full year these decisions even themselves out over time. Unfortunately for Cavan the U21 footballing year does not last very long.

Regarding the Dublin performance I thought we were exteemely wasteful in front of the posts. I have my reservations about Dessie Farrell as a manager. He doesn't seem to be able to get the best out of his players - and take into consideration that he had 6 or 7 players with senior experience and two that started last years all Ireland. He took Longford for granted last year and with the panel of players he had he should not have lost the minor final to Tipp (I say that with all due respect to Tipp).

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 22/04/2014 11:11:00    1578328

Notimpressed,

The fact is that Portlaoise would've been agreeable for 3 of the 4 counties as well as for many neutrals for which the doubleheader was certainly an attractive proposition. The choice of venue didn't deter the large Cavan contingent & we wouldn't even be discussing this if they had won. TG4's camera setups would've played little or no part in making this decision.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 22/04/2014 11:17:42    1578332

"Breffni39
I'm not condoning the actions towards the ref at the end, but it is definitely being exaggerated. It's an issue for the Gaa but I think everyone needs to calm down."

I'm sure no one is condoning the actions, but the actions of some of the players, mentors and supporters let the County down badly and I hope that Croke Park take swift and appropriate (severe where warranted) action on those who brought the game into disrepute. If you view the incidents again, you should see that the majority of posters are not exaggerating the incidents.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 22/04/2014 11:24:58    1578337

The standard of Refs throughout the Gaa is Cat! The Rules are ever changing to keep up with the speed & flow of the Game but the men in black are nt held accountable & there lies the Problem. If your going to affiliate then you like the player need to put yout life on hold & train & learn & be coached to a level acceptable & not hide behind Croke park when you make a bo Boo..

Peter Reilly is quick to forget 1997 Ulster Final. Cavan kicked a clear wide againts Derry in the Final. Score stood we won. GAA i harsh i seen peters club in an amalgamation get a ref decision that cost us an U21 Final many moons ago. Cavan subs were nt up to scratch & bringing back on Moynagh took Jerry Smith outta the game.Who basically was driving the Line. Dont get me wrong Huge fan of Moynagh but knee bandages & heros went with the 90 s... catch up Peter!!!

lastly ---You d be far better off with 15-20 Full Time Coaches/Referees if game is heading in that direction.

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 22/04/2014 11:45:56    1578352

Two refereeing decisions were highly debatable near the finish and they both went against Cavan. After Cavan's Joe Dillon had been black-carded around the 45th minute, a few minutes later Dublin's Conor McHugh was seen to blatantly put his arms around an opponent and pull him down.

According to rule that should have been a black card for McHugh unless the foul was considered to be accidental rather than deliberate, but deliberate this foul most certainly was.

McHugh got a yellow card which meant he stayed on the field and scored the levelling point for Dublin shortly afterwards.

The above was written by Eugene McGee in yesterday's Irish Independent. McGee remember was the chief of the Football Review Committee, architects of the black card rule. So can people please stop pretending that the referee made the correct call here!

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 22/04/2014 11:46:54    1578356

McGee also stated that the advantage rule was incorrectly administered for the Dublin winner.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 22/04/2014 12:00:17    1578365

The Cavan man pulled him down by the jersey... the ref even went to his lines man

I personally don't think it was even a yellow card

Clear as day... the Cavan player hauled him down by his jersey

It was a poor challenge by McHugh, an awkward forwards challenge... but it wasn't cynical

Anyway come on Cavan lads... time to move on

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/04/2014 12:04:45    1578367

So Eugene McGee is another who hasn't bothered reviewing the footage of the McHugh yellow.

It's understandable that people can get things wrong when they haven't had a chance to review the incident just after it has happened but it is extremely disappointing when someone still gets it so badly wrong on sober reflection a couple of days later.

It is disappointing but not uncommon within the GAA. If you shout loudly enough, even when you're wrong, you'll be heard.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/04/2014 12:06:54    1578368

Hopefully Cavan GAA will be rightly punished

If it wasn't for the efforts of stewards / Garda the ref could have easily been assaulted

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/04/2014 12:10:03    1578371

Portlaoise is a fine ground - with the <10k crowd on Saturday split over 2 games, parking/traffic, is not an issue. I don't see Dublin having already played there twice in the championship being an issue.

My only point is - look at a map - Dublin vrs Cavan should have been played in Navan - shorter trip for the Dubs aswell!
http://www.wesleyjohnston.com/users/ireland/geography/counties.html

Plus10 (Roscommon) - Posts: 5 - 22/04/2014 12:10:47    1578373

Can someone explain to me why the ref would favour Dublin ? I honestly don't get why he would. I can understand Cavan supporters being annoyed but it's rubbish saying he favoured Dublin, he called it as he saw it

In fairness, it would be nothing new in the gaa if this were the case. Down the years we often seen the team that were bigged up as the next big thing getting a lot of calls go their way. Tyrone in the early 00s, kerry back in their heyday also, and dublin now. Indeed, my own county had the opposite happen to them after the brolly outburst in 2012, where a lad was carded after 5 minutes for a tackle that in my opinion was a soft foul, nevermind a card. Refs are influenced by the media and the opinions of the day, unfortunately.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/04/2014 12:13:22    1578375

There is no exageration of the ref being abused here!
This is not the first time from Cavan GAA either. Didnt we have the same with Ballinagh V Fingal Ravens a few years back?!
Cavan GAA needs a reprimand here!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/04/2014 12:20:18    1578381

TheMaster, Mayo were given the benefit of the ref in 2012 semi final when McQuillan allowed them to waste most of the last 15 minutes when Dublin were over-running Mayo. In fairness to McQuillan that was after a campaign in the media claiming falsely that he had reffed Dublin training matches.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/04/2014 12:39:05    1578394

Anyone who thinks the decisons in both games are similar dont know what there on about,for people to say cork were unfortunate havnt seen the incident or the gane to be honest, firstly rosconnons no.15 was pushed in back and cork defender has gis arm on roscommon lads shoulder pulling pushing him he then proceeded to pick the ball off the gound illegally.to say ref favored roscommon as had been said in cork forums and other posts is also incorrect as both teams recieved handy frees and for if rules had been implicated properly none of corks goals would have stood, first one-ball pulled out of roscommon no.10's hands free out all day second one-alan cadogan took seven step over carried free out third one- free awarded 16 metres out was taking from 11 shouldnt have stood, no body from roscommon complained they went up pitch and scored a free from a foul on the ball.this differs from cavan dublin game simply because cavan player fouled dubs didnt take advantage of the advantage so free in correctly awarded, two best teams won two losers need to get over it.And i know nobody from cork on this is doing much complaining but stuff writing in other forums and papers is a joke.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 22/04/2014 12:39:24    1578396

Plus10
"Portlaoise is a fine ground - with the <10k crowd on Saturday split over 2 games, parking/traffic, is not an issue. I don't see Dublin having already played there twice in the championship being an issue.

My only point is - look at a map - Dublin vrs Cavan should have been played in Navan - shorter trip for the Dubs aswell!
http://www.wesleyjohnston.com/users/ireland/geography/counties.html"

Croke Park were looking for a suitable venue for a double header with the 4 teams involved. Portlaoise was ideal.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 22/04/2014 13:09:30    1578414

Ref wasn't great the other night. Cavan supporters are cherry picking here. Look at the whole game. How many times did Mannion get dragged out of and pushed over. Rose tinted glasses. There were at least 3 other black card offences spotted by officials and not enforced from Cavan players on Dublin players.

Dublin were awful, but they were the better team overall.

The poorest reffing I've seen was the AI semi in 2012, James Horan played a blinder and mentioned McQuiilan was reffing Dublin training games. Completely unfounded lie about the official who should have been stepped down from officiating. The media storm about it leading up to the game forced McQuillan into the most one sided officiating I have ever seen. The second half had No playing time. Feigning injury, diving....... But the ref was afraid to give Dublin a free for fear of "bias". Now after that game nobody from outside Dublin addressed how cheated Dublin were that day. Dublin didn't play well that day, but the 21's game the other night, if Cavan had won, despite a small amount of bias shown towards Cavan, I would have said fair play to Cavan. See Dublin supporters are used to not getting our fair share of calls, so we generally accept that's just the way it is. If all your remember is two calls in the game that you think went against you, the ref probably was pretty fair/bad to both teams.

I think people are letting their emotions get e better of them. Dublin won as although they didn't perform well they were still slightly better and tried to score and win the game.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 22/04/2014 13:14:41    1578421

hurlingdub
TheMaster, Mayo were given the benefit of the ref in 2012 semi final when McQuillan allowed them to waste most of the last 15 minutes when Dublin were over-running Mayo.

No he didnt he applied the rules exactly as they were written. Just as was done when dublin done the same thing last year agaisnt both kerry and mayo. I dont really see how that is relevant though...

In fairness to McQuillan that was after a campaign in the media claiming falsely that he had reffed Dublin training matches.

You would want to check your facts on that one. It happened. Again, not that it is relevant to this point.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/04/2014 14:30:53    1578478