All Ireland u21 football 2014

20/12/2013 18:30:56
5allirelands

Do ye guys follow the Cadbury's All Ireland U-21 Championship at all ?
Not a word about Cavan ?
2010 - Lost the Ulster Final to Donegal narrowly !
2011 - Ulster Champions
2012 - Ulster Champions
2013 - Ulster Champions.
they've got to be in with a shout this year, notwithstanding the difficulty of getting out of Ulster in the first place !

In fairness for all of Cavan Ulster success they only reached the AI final once and were hammered by Galway. I think Cavans best chance of winning it has sailed past and the likes of Dublin,Tipp and whoever comes out of Connacht will be better than them in 2014.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3356 - 21/12/2013 18:36:52    1525867

@Marooned as I have already said on our county forum we will have Damien Comer midfield for the next 2 years and we have more than enough good lads to step up and stake a claim for the midfield berth

boot_it_in (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 21/12/2013 19:48:25    1525877

27/09/2013 15:33:44

I personally can't wait to see this team in action next year; Kilkenny , Mannion, Mccaffrey , Emmett , Costello , Ivory, Carty, Byrne , Small, lowdnes, Scully etc.... People if this team doesn't win the all Ireland next season then I give up, I'm calling it the Dream team from now on.

The same why you said you'd give up of they didnt win it this year? But here you are still here. Also justlike this years team was the ''Dream Team''?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/12/2013 14:51:28    1525979

I believe Galway have 19 panel members from the 2013 winning squad eligible to play in 2014, with 8 having started in the All Ireland Final. Their minor team in 2011 also narrowly lost to Dublin in the Semi's...so no doubt they will be strong. Roscommon also have a lot underage again from this year and have good minors coming up so they will be contenders also

Joycey14 (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 23/12/2013 15:35:12    1526229

Gaa lover, cavan were only a kick of a ball from making the final this year. Best player on that team only came on foe the final 10 minutes, conor moynagh, who is eligible next year. Next years team will be very strong for cavan. But derry will be a very tough game in the prelimanary round in ulster and Tyrone if we get past derry

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 23/12/2013 16:36:33    1526249

how are some of the under 21 teams shaping up
any players to watch out for
its allways interesting to spot new players who might make it

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 07/01/2014 18:57:28    1528695

Can't see past Dublin for this. Their minor side absolutely hammered us 3 years ago and were desperately unlucky in the AI final that year. Considering what the likes of Kilkenny, Mannion, McCaffrey, Costello, etc have gone on to achieve since they must be very short priced favourites. They won't be ambushed out like they were last year either.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 07/01/2014 19:08:04    1528707

Will have an eye on Tipp for this one , there 2011 side should be peaking , if they do well could be just the boost seniors need .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/01/2014 21:52:11    1528785

On paper Dublin should walk this championship but could come unstuck again (hopefully)

Galway have a lot from last year (Walsh, Burke, Comer, etc.) but it would be very difficult especially for lads of that age with college and what not to go on and win back to back AI titles.

Would be nice to see Tipp go all the way with that '11 minor team.

Football Whiz (Galway) - Posts: 123 - 08/01/2014 10:28:15    1528827

In 2011 Dublin strolled through Leinster however it seems some have forgotten Galway who weren't good enough to win Connacht should have beaten them in the All Ireland semi final.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 08/01/2014 19:40:57    1529205

Tyrone of a very very strong panel some good additions from the minors .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 08/01/2014 19:51:23    1529211

Dublin will walk the 21 all Ireland this year, I know Tipp caught them in the minor all Ireland with the same group that are now U21 but this Dublin team have matured way more with so many now on the senior panel, so Dublin to win it handy.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 08/01/2014 19:58:40    1529215

Dublin should stroll through Leinster however they won't walk the All Ireland and will have their work cut out to beat the Ulster winners in the semi final. If Galway win another Connacht title i would fancy them to win back to back All Irelands.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 08/01/2014 20:26:27    1529231

Cork lost a lot of players that lost last year's final. I do not think we are as strong this year and have a tough opener in Tralee against Kerry. Dan McEoin, Alan Cadogan, Cian O'Sullivan, Brian O'Driscoll and Michael Cahalane will still form a good forward line in my opinion so still hopeful.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/01/2014 20:50:43    1529251

bennybunny

Cork lost a lot of players that lost last year's final. I do not think we are as strong this year and have a tough opener in Tralee against Kerry. Dan McEoin, Alan Cadogan, Cian O'Sullivan, Brian O'Driscoll and Michael Cahalane will still form a good forward line in my opinion so still hopeful.

Still a good few left there though Bennybunny. I've seen Alan Cadogan a good few times and haven't really been impressed by him. The game in Tralee should be another good one though.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 09/01/2014 09:24:43    1529328

Latest Leinster U21 scores.

Carlow 0-2 Dublin 2-18
Offaly 0-9 Kildare 0-7
Louth 3-8 Meath 2-7
Laois 1-8 Longford 1-3

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3356 - 05/03/2014 20:28:51    1555391

Dublin 2-26 CARLOW 0-3 . To be honest don't like seeing scores like this.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/03/2014 20:45:31    1555399

Offaly knocked out the defending Leinster champs Kildare fair play to them. Other game in extra time. Dublin will stroll to the Leinster title they won't be challenged until they meet the Ulster champs.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3356 - 05/03/2014 21:05:29    1555412

Longford win AET. Dubs up next. They won't underestimate us after last year anyway!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 05/03/2014 21:45:05    1555430

keeper7
County: Longford

1555430 Longford win AET. Dubs up next. They won't underestimate us after last year anyway!

Yep on the 19th of this month. Last years loss will firmly be in Dessies mind.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/03/2014 21:49:19    1555434