Will Donegal take Division 2 seriously?

Being Realistic Donegal Will take it as serious as they have always taken league under McGuinness. People have this percieved Idea that this was the first year that Donegal were poor in the league. In 2011 they won a very poor Div 2 in what was one of the worst finals I have ever seen. They were lucky to draw with sligo and were beaten away to laois. In 2012 (when they won Sam) they got hammered by a few teams (laois and kerry come to mind) and stayed in div one by the skin of their teeth. This year, yes we were relegated but its a very fine line ebtween relegation and survival.

League means very little. It pains me to say that as I attend 90% of games (mckenna cup, league,championship)
Donegal will be alot fresher next year and without the burden of being champs I think they will be there at the business end of the year.

This year we made it to QF with a tired,fatigued and injured team.
I would argue that the system has still remained intact when played correctly.

Donegal will use the league to blood new players. They may win it but I dont think that really matters to McGuinness unless he feels the team need it to begin their unbeaten run again.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 14/10/2013 10:05:28    1500448

Waiting for feckers in revenue to answer the phone so thought I'd have a read on here to pass a few mins. On the face of it there isn't a whole lot to separate most of the teams in this division, with the possible exception of Donegal. How managers/selectors approach this league is the big question. Some will be trying out new players, would expect Meath to do so anyway as we're 4-5 players short of being really competitive again. Donegal have a small panel, so I'd expect Jim to try and uncover a few new nuggets. With a bit more belief in themselves, Louth could have been promoted to Div 1 last year. For a county the size of Louth to get to Div 1 would be massive. Monaghan will be looking to continue their resurgence. Galway will have most of their U21 winners to call on and will want to banish the trashing by Mayo. Laois are competitive and are always difficult to beat. Same goes for Armagh.
You could see 4-6 teams within a point of each other coming into the last round of games, leaving relegation or promotion pretty much in the lap of the gods. Just look at Doneagal last year and how they got relegated on the last day with a draw against Dublin, one more point and Kerry would be in Div 2. There aren't that many games to get things right and it's a tricky balancing act.
Last time Donegal played Meath in the league, we got a right whoppin' in Navan. Would be hopeful of pushing for promotion but not overly confident.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 14/10/2013 10:09:45    1500451

royaldunne I had a good laugh at that last post of yours. So it was completely down to the system that we won the AI in 2012? I'm sure the likes of Colm McFadden (top scorer in Ireland that year), Michael Murphy, Karl Lacey, Frank McGlynn etc with their limited footballing ability, are feeling eternally grateful to Jimmy McGuinness for devising the system which won them their AI medal. Ask the Cork players, who in the words of your own county man O'Rourke, were "humiliated by Donegal in the AI semi? Systems don't win games - players do.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 14/10/2013 12:08:22    1500533

Lockjaw yes system. On morning of that all ire McFadden was tied for top. Do you know who wit. ?
I'll tell you. Brian Farrell. Who is now dropped from panel. One swallow a summer does not make.Mayo humiliated Donegal this year some one tried to draw comparison between Meath etc. No one in Meath is even expecting to get promoted for simple reason we never have taken league seriously.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/10/2013 20:37:25    1500860

I think it all seems simple and plain to see. After Donegal saunter their way to promotion from Division 2 they will come up to Celtic Park, hand us a good beating, saunter to the Ulster final, up it slightly for whoever comes through the other half of the draw, hammer the mediocre team that comes through the back door and is unlucky enough to get them in the Quarter final and then prepare themselves for the one big match they have, against Dublin whether that be the Semi final or final..... Eureka.... Donegal.... All Ireland Champions 2014...

Sorry... I appear to be lost.. Can someone show me the direction to the Division 1 thread please??

Yours Sincerely,

The Goat.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 14/10/2013 21:42:16    1500915

Royal, I agree with you to an extent in that the Donegal team of 2012 would not have won an All Ireland playing like Dublin did this year. But to say that it was purely down to the system is a little simplistic.
The two things went hand in hand together, the system suited the players who were able to perform at their best within it's methodology. But the same could be said for any team worth it's salt. Dublin have a "system". Mayo, Kerry & Tyrone too. The Clare hurlers have a system that suits them & Kilkenny were masters of executing their system.
If it was all down to the system alone then the logic would be that all any team has to do is take the McGuinness way & success will come. It isn't as simple as that,you need the players who can execute it & in 2012 Donegal had those players.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/10/2013 08:42:43    1500933

royaldunne (referring to Donegal) "on all known form they just don't have the talent to play football."

I'm sorry man but after a line like that there it's impossible for me to take anything you say seriously.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 15/10/2013 14:35:48    1501132

[broyaldunne

I'd argue galway Monaghan Louth and Meath and down have as good as or more than likely better than Donegal.
And here lays Donegals problems, they've been caught out their system is no longer effective. They have to play football and going on all known form they just don't have the talent to play football

It's quite clear from this that you are infact, an imbecile.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 15/10/2013 15:18:37    1501158

Lockjaw

royaldunne (referring to Donegal) "on all known form they just don't have the talent to play football."

I'm sorry man but after a line like that there it's impossible for me to take anything you say seriously.

He's finished.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 15/10/2013 15:23:41    1501163

I think talk of Donegal's demise is more wishful thinking, rather than fact.

In terms of Ulster Senior football & All Ireland success, Donegal were late arrival's at the table. But they tend to always be there or thereabouts in Ulster, having contested 12 out of the last 24 Ulster final's certainly proves that.

It is Ignorant to say they can't play football, as they clearly can. We need to only look back to 2002 or 2003 to see Donegal field a team who could give a game to the very best in Ulster and Ireland, and at that time they were criticised for playing a very open style of football.

2013 seen a very tired and Injury ridden Donegal beat Tyrone and Down, before losing to a hungry Monaghan team. they beat Laois 6 days later before being destroyed by a very hungry, well rested mayo team.
I didn't see Donegal reach the same Intensity in 2013, that they achieved in 2012. On that basis alone, I would not write them off yet.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 16/10/2013 16:58:14    1501789

I have to say im looking forward to some good games in div 2 next year and I hope JmcG takes it seriously , but sure ye never know what his priorities will be.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/10/2013 21:24:04    1501956

He has no choice but to take it seriously. The teams are almost all on the same level and now the fixtures have been made up, it looks like there will be nothing in it on the last day.

Away to Laois and Galway, followed by home ties to Meath and Monaghan. Away to Armagh and Down likewise spells tough, tough fixtures.

Division 3 looms if you dont take those games seriously.

On a positive note, we can get one over on Monaghan in ballybofey, something that we really need to do as they have our number now for a hell of a long time. Similarly, Meath at home is a good fixture to look forward to.

ITs all on the day, and there are games there on the list that would rival any match in division 1.

So I think that McGuinness is going to look closely at bringing on the likes of Ciaran Bonner to championship fitness levels, and division 2 looks to be the ideal way of doing it. Very much doubt that he will be hedging his bets about league fixtures. They probably are a nuicance for reasons of injury etc, but I think that the team will use it to bounce back good and proper this time.

an injury time equalizer last april in ballybofey sent us down, the year before it was a late 3 point victory on the last day that kept us up. And we were heroes that year. There are tiny differences between a manager being unbelievably clever and terribly unlucky. Gambles sometimes pay off and other times they dont. but they are not made without a reason.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/10/2013 09:23:23    1502000

Div 2 is exactly what Donegal need right now, I can see them winning it handy enough.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2013 09:47:45    1502010

I for one will be very interested to see what way McGuinness will go tactically this year, i would expect some experimentation from them ni the first few league games anyway. As they say adapt or die, as shown this year the game has changed yet again!

Isnt it what makes this game great

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 17/10/2013 11:51:38    1502116

I'd say he will have a right cut at it as Donegal need to build some momentum before the Ulster Championship.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/10/2013 18:52:31    1502512

Who have Donegal got in there first game in the league lads?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2013 19:54:24    1502553

Away to Laois

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/10/2013 20:00:33    1502555

14/10/2013 08:18:49
royaldunne

I'd argue galway Monaghan Louth and Meath and down have as good as or more than likely better than Donegal.

I jury is still out on Galway as it remains to be seen where the 2011/13 U21 winners will fare at senior level. Monaghan after years trying finally won something this year and Louth,Meath don't have players of the quality of McHugh,Lacey,Murphy,McFadden etc..

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 17/10/2013 20:31:20    1502581

That's a tough opener muckrosshead but I'd say Jim will have them flying for it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2013 21:48:12    1502625

KingdomBoy1

That's a tough opener muckrosshead but I'd say Jim will have them flying for it.

Just like yourselves Kingdomboy1 :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 17/10/2013 21:53:07    1502630