Will Donegal take Division 2 seriously?

I'd hope we'd challenge for promotion at least but I wouldn't say it's the be all and end all. Ideally we want our main men fully fit for Championship against Derry. If that means sacrificing a few league points here and there then so be it. It could be a chance for some newcomers to stake a claim aswell. I'd be very interested to see Hugh McFadden in at full forward and play Murphy at centre-half forward for example. Hopefully the returning players like Toye and Bonner can give the panel a boost too. If Bonner gets the head right he could be a great addition to the half forward line.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 08/10/2013 13:06:51    1497710

Suas Sios

I think Tyrone went down and bounced straight back up, a year or 2 back.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tyrone didn't come straight back up. We were relegated from the top flight in 2010, but in 2011 we lost our first two games in division 2 and weren't promoted. We were promoted the following year (2012).

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 08/10/2013 13:12:48    1497720

Surely JmcG's opinion on the league wont change this year Jimbo.

But you write it off at your peril.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/10/2013 13:17:21    1497727

hill16no1man

they might find it hard to get promotion and then use the excuse like this year that they were not taking the league serious
that the ulster first round is there main aim all year,certainly didnt look past that tyrone match as they stopped playing after they won that game haha

Jesus hill, if you are going to troll at least get your spelling right otherwise you just look like a fool. As for the lack of capital letters or full stops............

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/10/2013 14:35:02    1497805

anfearbeag

So why do you think that you are going to walk the division?

Quite simply, because we're better than the rest of them. And we won Divison 2 in 2011, handily I might add.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 08/10/2013 14:43:55    1497818

Tir Conaill Abu

Was at the charity game last night in Ballybofey, Brolly still has the touch scoring 1-3 I think and blowing kisses to the crowd!! Gas Man!!

Many go? I'd a mind to go to it and totally forgot!

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 08/10/2013 14:45:42    1497820

There was a few thousand at it, great craic. For all that think defensive football is all we play in Donegal then look at the final score 8-12 to 6-14. Some scores. Maybe it was the influx of outsiders that got us carried away. The NYPD lads tried their best and fair play to them but it was the legends that everyone went to see and there was some bellies on show!!

Apart from some of the current Donegal panel, there was appearances from Martin Shovlin, Tony Boyle, John Joe Doherty, Manus Boyle & Noel Hegarty from the 1992 team. Others on show were Nudie Hughes, Rory Gallagher, Eamon O Hara, Bernard Flynn, Paddy Bradley, Joe Brolly, Kevin Cassidy, Pascal Mc Connell and others but without a programme it was hard to know all the faces.

Neil Mc Gee's hat trick from full back took some going and Murphy shot from 25 yards still has the cross bar shaking!!

Joe Brolly acting a heart attack when Nudie Hughes came on and for a full minute having to help him stretch the jersey over his belly probably got the biggest laugh of the night!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 08/10/2013 14:57:14    1497835

He'll take it as seriously as he did in 2011. After the Laois (league proper) match in Portlaoise when they gave us a fairly good beating (1-15 to 1-10 I think) he had the lads in the dressing room for about an hour after the match giving out about how many frees they gave away. We had pretty much already been promoted before that match anyway so it didn't seem like such a big deal (Laois had to beat us by six and Derry had to beat Antrim by twenty or something like that). He was annoyed at the lads for taking their eyes off the ball!!!

Jim has always told the media what he wants his players to hear! You saw this after the Antrim and Dublin matches in 2011. Regardless of what he said last year, relegation was not on his radar. No manager worth his salt would take 2014's Division 2 lightly. Promotion should be the priority - and if we get silverwear in the process then great!

So yes, Donegal will take the League seriously! That group of players have made plenty of history already and they can certainly have an influence on where Sam goes in 2014... even if it is from Division 2!

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 08/10/2013 15:43:58    1497875

08/10/2013 14:43:55
Samsforthehills

anfearbeag

So why do you think that you are going to walk the division?

Quite simply, because we're better than the rest of them. And we won Divison 2 in 2011, handily I might add.

Since when has being the best team guarantee anything? As the 2012 AI champions its fair to say that yous were the best team in Division 1 this year, and what happened? Yous got relegated. I very much doubt there's any danger of that happening in Division 2 next year, but if you think winning the division or even getting promoted will be a stroll then you're a bit deluded, especially with the approach that McGuinness takes to the league. Ye may well go straight back up but it won't be as easy as you think.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/10/2013 15:50:36    1497885

Sam. I'll look forward to reposting your comments near easter :)

Way better than the rest you say? Then how did Monaghan humiliate Donegal in ulster final?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/10/2013 15:50:39    1497886

royaldunne

Sam. I'll look forward to reposting your comments near easter :)

Way better than the rest you say? Then how did Monaghan humiliate Donegal in ulster final?

I didn't say way better.I said better. Please don't lie.

Why did Monagahn beat Donegal? Because they played better than them in a one off knock out game, on a day where Donegal failed to perform and won convincingly. Are West Brom a better team than Man United because they beat them a few weeks ago.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 08/10/2013 18:49:36    1498039

Probably too good to get relegated but promotion is not a certainty by any means. I'd say Laois, Monaghan, Meath and Down will all challenge for Div 1. I'd fancy promotion for Monaghan and Meath.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 08/10/2013 20:05:45    1498088

royal dunne Meath, Monaghan beat Donegal fair and square, a Donegal team, tired, injuries,etc, lets not forget also Cavan had the beating of Monaghan,and how come Cavan,Monaghan, trounced Meath in the league, but hats off to Meath they had the beating of Tyrone, what i am saying is on any day in Ulster any team can win,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 08/10/2013 20:45:17    1498116

of course Jim will take the league seriously,will go back up to div1, looking forward to the Monaghan game,and Ulster next year,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 08/10/2013 20:50:40    1498118

I think he will take it serious in terms of preparing his squad, and getting promoted.

Division 2 will be very tight next year and contains a few teams that would certainly rival the top flight sides, so it will be no easy task for Jim's team.

His main focus will be of course on Derry. May 25th is the only thing that will matter

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 13/10/2013 18:42:46    1500252

Down, Donegal, Meath, Louth, Monaghan, Armagh, Galway and Laois. Decent teams and it should be a very competitive division two. Donegal even in 2011 were slow starters drew with Sligo and they may find it more difficult if they fail to take the first couple of games seriously.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 13/10/2013 19:15:54    1500272

Sam you are comparing Donegal to man utd?
Ahh let's get real here for a minute. Donegal won ulster and a all ire for one reason because of their system. Not cause they had the better players. O'Rourke put it right . Donegal proved you no longer have to have the best players to win. Just the best system.
I'd argue galway Monaghan Louth and Meath and down have as good as or more than likely better than Donegal.
And here lays Donegals problems, they've been caught out their system is no longer effective. They have to play football and going on all known form they just don't have the talent to play football.
There is teams in division 2 that I am not looking forward to playing. Donegal unless they completely change would not be one of them at this stage. I think play open with plenty of pace and Donegal are very beatable.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/10/2013 08:18:49    1500400

royaldunne

Sam you are comparing Donegal to man utd?
Ahh let's get real here for a minute. Donegal won ulster and a all ire for one reason because of their system. Not cause they had the better players. O'Rourke put it right . Donegal proved you no longer have to have the best players to win. Just the best system.
I'd argue galway Monaghan Louth and Meath and down have as good as or more than likely better than Donegal.
And here lays Donegals problems, they've been caught out their system is no longer effective. They have to play football and going on all known form they just don't have the talent to play football.
There is teams in division 2 that I am not looking forward to playing. Donegal unless they completely change would not be one of them at this stage. I think play open with plenty of pace and Donegal are very beatable.

Interesting points RoyalDunne

How come Galway, Monaghan, Louth, Meath and Down have not won anything in the last 12 years? If it is a system that won donegals all ireland and nothing else, then surly half the teams around the country would have been using it long before McGuinness did, after all it was Armagh and Tyrone who introduced the template.

Monaghan winning an All Ireland? I dont think so. In fact, of the teams u listed, Galway will possibly push hard in a few years, but I cant see the field doing anything. Meath looked good for half a game against Dublin last year, but wernt good enough in the end, by 7 points. Bit to go yet, system or no system, if you want to win an all ireland. Donegal beat Kerry, Cork, Tyrone and Mayo, I would argue that you need at least 8-9 top class players on your team if you are going to do this in 1 season. Donegal won 8 all stars last year as well.

As for the topic of this thread, it is going to be a tough job to get out of division 2 for any team in it. It is all one game at a time, and I am looking forward to some cracking matches. I think that the likelihood is Galway and one of 4 other sides will go up. Monaghan are hungry enough to do it, Meath likewise. Good luck to whoever makes it, it wont be easy.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/10/2013 09:22:57    1500417

if he can drum up enough support,he might get division 1 restructured to make it a 9 team league....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/10/2013 09:35:31    1500424

If Donegal can't find their way out of that mediocre group of teams they'll struggle come the summer!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 14/10/2013 09:36:16    1500426