Another Son of Eireann lost to Aussie Rules

The only Sam hell be getting close to is Sam Spudz,so fingers crossed hell make it Down Under.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/10/2014 13:13:55    1659724

I can't get my head around all these Kildare players going to Oz rules teams , if they were all that good surely they wouldn't be getting hammered in Leinster every year?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/10/2014 13:18:30    1659726

Let's try to stop portraying emigration as a tragedy all the time; we're not all leaving on famine ships. Chances are that these guys will spend a few years in Oz, live the life of pro sportsmen, earn a few dollary-do's and then come back to Ireland, like most GAA players before them. Their counties would then benefit from their progression as athletes.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/10/2014 13:26:56    1659730

Three of Kildare's best young prospects lost to a professional game.

If only Kildare could arrange a nice little earner for them at home, maybe working as a special ambassador, travelling around the world and giving after dinner speeches.

Then again, nah, that would never happen in an amateur game.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 03/10/2014 13:51:16    1659742

theyv all got good size clondalkin more than anything..quite limited as footballers from what i have seen

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 03/10/2014 13:55:36    1659747

I can't get my head around all these Kildare players going to Oz rules teams , if they were all that good surely they wouldn't be getting hammered in Leinster every year?

Sure what's the point in staying at home anyways? Apparently the Dubs have the five in a row already wrapped up...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 03/10/2014 14:00:13    1659757

Best of luck to any young fella who's givin' the opportunity to play professionally in Oz. From memory I thank that makes 7-8 IC players that have left this year from various counties. Lifestyle, climate, and a chance to see a different part of the world, never mind gettin' paid to do so as well. Big loss to the counties concerned no doubt, but personally I'd be gone like a shot if I was they're age and the opportunity presented itself.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 03/10/2014 14:27:20    1659777

Good luck to him....he is dead right. Tough on the supporters as we have lost the two Hanleys here in Mayo but its the lads life to do with it what he wants. Would anyone here turn down a pro contract to play professional sport down under?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 03/10/2014 14:53:22    1659789

I go back to what Ciaran Kilkenny said last year, Irish lads grow up dreaming of winning All-Ireland's, not AFL titles. Most don't even watch Australian Rules. Ultimately I feel guys who do go over take it cos it's a job(and it's Australia), not because they love the game of Australian Rules football. At the end of the day, it's very hard for Irish lads to make it over there, you're competing with lads who've been playing since they were 4-5, whereas the Irish lads have only just begun. But hey, good luck to them ~ PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 03/10/2014 15:47:03    1659818

Terrible news for Kildare, they certainly can do without this!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/10/2014 16:20:08    1659836

I wish the lad well. Hes obviously going in the hope of making enough money playing sport to either come back in a few years with a few bob, or make a life for himself over there. Plus its a new challenge to hope you succeed where others failed. For a GAA lad our game doesnt offer the opportunity to make a fulltime living out of it ,( you can do well , but not everyone can make good money, for some with a good career ahead this is not important and the love of the game is enough , but for others with the commitment required nowadays to be an intercounty player it can pose a dilema , Aussie rules is a sport where a Gaa Players skill sets are suited and offers the opportunity to making a full time living .Its a big decision but its completly understandable .
Personally i hate seing it happen and i feel the Aussies get a free ride because we are amatuer , but it certainly aint the players fault and i dont think we have a right to second judge their reasons.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/10/2014 16:31:24    1659838

Pope_has_spoken - Thats grand for the likes of Ciaran Kilkenny...go down have a look and come home if it doesen't work out. Win an All Ireland with Dublin and have no problem getting a job. That is not a case for many others. I don't think any Irish lad dreams of winning the AFL but if the opportunity arises then you go for it and try it anyway.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 03/10/2014 16:37:26    1659840

Teams lose games, not individuals

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/10/2014 16:48:09    1659848

I think plenty of lads dreamed of becoming professional sports people all over Ireland, although GAA is my preferred sport I would have had no issue with getting paid to play any sport....shame I was crap at all....

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 03/10/2014 16:52:30    1659852

i think brophy has more of a chance of making it than hurley, he was often seen around celbridge practicing with the aussie rules ball as well as the gaelic football. Find it mad how one rural club in Ireland, Johnstownbridge, have had 3 players in and around the same age (dan flynn one year younger than Hurley and Cribbin) been offered pro contracts in the Afl.

hgzfxh (Kildare) - Posts: 317 - 03/10/2014 16:53:58    1659855

I'd definitely agree with the sentiments expressed by moylagh, yew_tree and Rosineri1.

It's a once in a lifetime opportunity. Live abroad, experience a new culture and way of life, develop and grow both as an athlete and on a personal level.

And get to do it all in the sun. You'd be mad not to at least give it a go.

hgzfxh

Find it mad how one rural club in Ireland, Johnstownbridge, have had 3 players in and around the same age (dan flynn one year younger than Hurley and Cribbin) been offered pro contracts in the Afl.

Has Rapture closed down and left the young lads with nothing to distract them at the weekends?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 03/10/2014 17:16:15    1659866

Brophy is almost three years younger than Hurley. He has a far greater chance of making it. Hurley is quite old to be heading out there at this stage.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 03/10/2014 18:01:35    1659880

fabio8
County: USA

theyv all got good size clondalkin more than anything..quite limited as footballers from what i have seen

The Aussies don't care about a GAA players footballing ability, it's about repetitive sprint endurance, vertical jumps or whatever position it is they see the lads playing long term with their outstanding attribute, most Irish players are picked because GAA naturally produces strong runners, then you have fellow's like Ciaran Sheehan whom was probably one of the best fielders of a ball in Ireland and seems tailor made for the game.

These lads are picked because they are exceptional physically - The Aussies freely admit the AFL isn't the most 'skillful' sport, it is, undoubtedly the most athletic though.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 03/10/2014 19:38:17    1659907