Can anyone stop Kerry lifting Sam in 2014?

Here's the evidence:

1. Dublin will be suffering from 'second season syndrome'!
2. Donegal are suffering from a 'total systems failure'!
3. Tyrone are building and are just shy a player or two!
4. Mayo!.....!!!

Whilst Kerry on the other hand still have their so called 'ageing team' of former stars still intact with no retirements pushed Dublin close this year to prove that they were still dangerous!
You will not hear of any Kerry retirements because next year whilst the Dubs are suffering from 'second season syndrome' as it will be a great chance for Kerry to reclaim SAM from the rest of whats left in the Championship!!

Kerry will go bald headed after SAM in 2014 for their best chance in years now!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 18:43:40    1490143

winning two in a row ...the mark of a really good team

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 26/09/2013 19:17:41    1490173

Snuf, you're a funny man!! Dublin won't suffer from second season syndrome, those players had enough desire to win a 2nd all ireland in 3 years, nothing to stop them from a 3rd in 4. Cork are ye're main opposition I reckon, presuming they get a half decent manager! I think Kerry only have a chance if they do have a few retirements! And even though I'd be inclined to I don't think you can rule out Mayo.

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 26/09/2013 19:26:27    1490181

Snufalufagus

Easier to win a third than a second!....The hardest struggle of all must be having the heart to go at it again after winning yer first, so to get the second means you have shown some mettle for it and the fortitude needed for the third will follow easier!

Up the Dubs!

And sounds here like you think Dublin have a chance Snuf ;)

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 26/09/2013 19:28:19    1490182

For a start Cork will probably win Munster..

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 26/09/2013 19:37:50    1490191

Reasons they may well do it:

1: The Gooch has shown he is still as good as ever
2: James O'Donoghue is top class and will probably improve, and Donnacha Walsh seems to be finally justifying his selection
3: The seeding system is coming in in Munster so they begin a round later than most
4: Kieran Donaghy surely can't have as bad a season again
5: Kerry are Kerry and it would take a fool to rule them out

Reasons they may not:

1: As mentioned, Cork are probably stronger at the moment in Munster and Tyrone, Dublin, and Mayo (yes) would put it up to them also
2: Key players such as T. O'Shea, O'Mahony and Galvin are pushing on
3: They are lacking a good goalkeeper
4: The black card won't work to their advantage even tho it is apparently suited to their style of play - not a slight on Kerry here, the rule itself will just be a disaster, full stop.
5: Fitness. They faded badly in ALL their games in this years championship

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5021 - 26/09/2013 19:57:59    1490209

JMK,

Yes, I am totally confident of a third and fourth SAM for this team!....2015, 2017, 2019!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 20:06:01    1490214

snuf, u really know how to wind up the ole flatcaps fair play to u--LOL LOL

luimneachboy (Limerick) - Posts: 242 - 26/09/2013 20:09:49    1490219

Posted this elsewhere but my thoughts on 2014.

Bit early yet to be predicting but sure why not, I guess?! Has the draw been made yet?? Would be interesting to see the semi final draw, always plays a big part in the championship.

All due respect to Tyrone, Donegal and Monaghan but I can't see any of these 3 (or any from Ulster) winning the AI next year. I think Tyrone are still in transition, Donegal were shown up for their lack of depth and Monaghan are still building. Would love to see Monahgan make a semi final though and have a right crack off it. Depending on Ulster draw I think it's down to Tyrone and Monaghan for Ulster.

In Leinster, you can't look past Dublin. Any shocks that have happened in the past, I can't see them being repeated with Dublins depth. Hoping Kildare can start to rebuild and Meath can continue to build was impressed this year.

In Connacht, was delighted to see Galway improve through the qualifiers. Wouldn't get too carried away yet though they came close to a Cork team that lacked conviction this season. Mayo still the kingpins and would expect them to take another Connacht - not as convincingly as this year though, Galway will put up a better fight.

Munster, Cork should win with home advantage in another close game that hopefully benefits both sides. Depending on who the Cork manager is I'm expecting a big year from Cork next season. If anyone will knock Dublin off their perch I think they are most capable. Kerry to go through back door.

And finally for the big one. Dublin are favourites and rightly so. The back to back is tough but in counties with winning mentalities, it's that little bit easier. The Dublin players grew up looking up to guys with 3 or more All Irelands. Just like the Kerry lads looked up to lads with numerous all irelands. Look at the commitment players like MDMA put in this year even though they already had an All Ireland. As someone else mentioned it's much easier win a 3rd than a 2nd. Dublin's depth and desire puts them in my top 3 for next year.

Mayo, I really do hope they come back strong, but they're attack is a little lacking for me. James Horan should stay, he has changed their mentality and to win an All Ireland I think they need him. I don't think they'll do it next year, I think 2015 could be a good year for them. Didn't see the minor campaign this year but if they have few good forwards coming through, they could be a major force in a couple of years. 4th favourites in my opinion next year.

Cork, would be my 2nd favourites for next year. If they have any sense they will bring in a manager with a good defensive system experience. If Cork can tighten up there defense I think they have enough depth to really challenge this year. I also they think need to shed a few "experienced" heads too. Canty and co have served their time, time to step over. Colm O'Neill to comeback as FOTY would be a good bet in my opinion.

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 26/09/2013 20:20:46    1490227

Kerry, are my 3rd favourites. It's possibly my heart speaking but they aren't as passed it as everyone is saying. Their defense is very young. I think Marc will stay on as the experienced head but Tomas, Brosnan Aidan are probably at the end. Great young talents coming through. With Fitzgerald, Lyne & Young as attacking options. And Enright, McGuire, Griffin and Crowley as more defensive players. Our midfield is what could win an all ireland. Buckley, Maher, Moran and Sheehan are great options to have. As far as the forwards go, Fitzmaurice has to bite the bullet and shed a few "reliables". Gooch to lead the attack from the 40, with options like Sheehan, Donnacha Walsh and Darren O'Sullivan on the wings. Inside Declan has at least one good season left in him, O'Donoghue is a star for the future. Darren could be in the corner again but I think he's needed out further. Some half decent young other forwards lurking around who need to step up. I'll be disappointed to see Galvin and Donaghy come back. Thank you for your service but time to go lads. Kerry can still win an All Ireland but need to get very lucky and work on defensive skills. Pity Buckley went to Mayo.

Sorry rambled on about Kerry too much. But ya I think it's between Dublin and Cork next year. Throw Kerry into the mix if they can get lucky and have a good run. I think two hurts could be too far for Mayo unfortunately. Can't see anyone else really challenging outside of that.

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 26/09/2013 20:21:00    1490228

@ cavanman47

I agree with a lot of your points. Responses:

Reasons they may well do it:

1: Couldn't agree more.
2: Again agree, Walsh has been picked for a lot of unnoticeable work in the past. With Galvin fading I think he's now standing out more.
3: Helps, but is a shambles really. At least if it was put as the previous munster finalists get seeded.
4: Disagree with you on this one - Yes, yes he can. Should be dropped in my opinion unless he can out perform Buckley, Maher, Moran and Sheehan in midfield.
5: I guess. They have still have class players but history hasn't anything to do with it.

Reasons they may not:

1: I agree Cork are better placed to take SAM next year. I think Tyrone would put it up to Kerry but beat them I'm not sure. Dublin and Mayo well placed to beat Kerry.
2: All 3 should retire in my opinion and replace them with young lads coming up. Kerry have some good young defenders that need more game time.
3: I don't think Kealy is that bad, on a good day he's only second or third best to Cluxton (on all round performance).
4: I agree with ya, but would Kerry have as many "black card fouls" if the older legs were gone?
5: Not sure if I agree with you here. Cork and Cavan games were over at half time. Fitness or mental? Dublin only pulled away on the 70th minute in fairness.

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 26/09/2013 20:32:15    1490237

I don't give Kerry a chance at all next year, I don't think they will get to the quarter finals. Cork will win Munster and Kerry will get beat by a good back door team The one team I will watch closely next year are Mayo. Don't forget Munster play Connaught in the semi next year and Mayo can easily beat Kerry or Cork my prediction ------ All Ireland final 2014 Mayo v Donegal. Jim McGuiness has a point to prove and if Donegal get anywhere near the Way they played in 2012 they will be a match for anyone including the Darlings of the Sunday game crowd ---Dublin

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/09/2013 21:18:31    1490279

Not a chance are Kerry going to win Sam next year. To be honest theres going to be a long famine in Kerry. They are an old team and they don't have much top young talent coming through.

KingOfJacks (Kildare) - Posts: 361 - 26/09/2013 21:38:10    1490301

Ye the plastic Dubs and Joe Mac

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 26/09/2013 21:38:36    1490302

Said earlier in the week that the winners of next years Sam will come from the winners of the Munster vs Connacht semi which will more than likely be Kerry and Mayo. Looking at the teams that either county could face in the quarters based on Dublin winning Leinster, both will get through to the semi. After that, whomever wins that game will lift Sam.
Kerry's new players all look decent especially O'Donoghue, Gooch stays playing as well as he did this year and they hold onto the likes of Marc O'Se, Galvin and the 2 O'Sullivans they'll still be contesting big games. Kerry's defence is there to be got at but Dublin aside and the obligatory 15 minutes we usually see from Cork against them, there are very few teams in the country good enough to test their defence.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 26/09/2013 21:49:24    1490310

@ SamOnErrigal

Has the draw been made for next years championship?? I thought the championship draws are taking place on October 3rd??

And Munster made a final decision on the Munster championship being seeded also. Press release came out this evening.

You'd be that definite to rule out Kerry?? Fair enough. I think Cork are better than you think though. They had a bad disjointed season this year and only lost to AI champs by 5 points. I think Colm O'Neill is the best player to grace the GAA since the Gooch also, he will make a massive difference.

Can Donegal do it again?? I just don't see it. They have some very talented footballers but as a lot of average players too. In 2012 they had a desire and togetherness that was unmatched, and as a whole were a very good team. Can they get that back? Nothing this year gave any sign of it. If they can up their game - could be another interesting championship.

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 26/09/2013 21:50:15    1490312

Dublin have to be favourites to win Sam next year. Firstly they are All-Ireland champions and deservedly so. Dublin are a young team and their younger players will perform better next year. Alan Brogan will be available next year and they have a number of younger players who will be challenging for places. This will focus the current players. There will not be the same celebrations this year as there was in 2011. They will have the right man in Jim Gavin in charge who will focus them and steer them away from the celebrations. The team will also want to emulate the great Dublin team of the 70s in winning 3 All-Irelands in four years and there is the huge incentive of a third All-Ireland medal. They will also have a belief that they may not have had in 2011 that they can do back to back titles.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 26/09/2013 22:00:20    1490325

The appointment process for a new coach is under way down here. I hope we get John Cleary. I hope he gives the young talent that is definietly about a chance. I hope the likes of Canty/O'Leary and Kissane (all great players in their day) are no longer the go to half backs. I hope Colm O Neill is fit. I hope Aidan Walsh is playing in midfield and midfield only. I hope Fintan Gould is restored to the half forward line and he is allowed to do more than just solo and handpass. I hope Daniel Goulding gets told he needs to work harder or he will be sitting on the bench.

A lot to hope for. If they can happen though, I think we could win it.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 27/09/2013 10:42:49    1490382

Rule out any ulster county bar tyrone, and less so ourselves. Any one of the 3 counties would have to get thru ulster and then face dublin in the semis. Too big an ask.

Rule out connaught, bar mayo although they will face an up and coming galway, as well as having to beat both cork and kerry before a final place next year if they are going to do it

Rule out Cork, they will have to get something that has not been there for the past 3 championships.
Rule out all the leinster teams bar dublin.

So that leaves kerry. They are he only team left capable of beating the dubs, and they would most likely have to do it in a final.

Dublin are not invincible, but they are very strong and young. A lot will depend on luck if a team is going to have a full deck available to play them.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/09/2013 11:05:36    1490398

Very early to be thinking of this but Dublin have to be bookies favourites for next year. Younger players that struggled in semi and final should improve and their options off the bench are way ahead of everyone else. Same as this year in Leinster, easy Dublin win.
Cork have been the disappointment from the last number of years. Loads of talent but haven't got it together at all on the big days, 1 AI and they very nearly blew that against an average Down. Serious clear out required so I don't see them challenging next year. Kerry for Munster.
Mayo have very little in the way of options off the bench and need to unearth 2-3 forwards who can fight for and win their own possession in order to win an AI. Galway this year still depended on the old heads, too many iff's and buts about them. Mayo for Connacht.
Like Mayo, Donegal have a limited squad with few options off the bench but they have a proven game plan and the players to execute it, if they get their act together over the winter. Change in the back room should be good for them. Like the way Monaghan are going about developing a serious team but don't see them replicating the Ulster win. Tyrone simply don't have the players at the moment to be credible AI contenders, but with MH in charge, he may unearth a few more gems and a revised system. Still it has to be Donegal for me, but this is by no way certain.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 27/09/2013 11:08:59    1490400