Jamie Clarke

Jamie Clarke has revealed his frustration at referee

In fairness to your forward Jamie Clarke I too questioned some decisions that were made by the referee. I was totally surprised by he the referee calling him back in the first half when clearly he had beaten the Cavan defender and he had a clear run at goal, the goal he scored in the second half would have been allowed 99.99% of the time.
However in fairness the decisions by your mentors to have one on one with our forward was a blatant error how in fact they allowed a whole match to be played and make no effort to solve it baffles me.
I heard on the radio this morning they are sticking with plan A and that to try and implement a plan B would take years. That being the case you are in trouble. Time to get your county board to look into the management set up.

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 23/05/2013 11:06:03    1389519

Once the referee blows his whistle which he did, you cannot allow an advantage, simple as that, the game has stopped. Its as clear as day in the rule book son.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 23/05/2013 17:32:00    1389961

P.Mus read the post point me in the direction where I mentioned rule books. Were you at the match well depending what area of the park you were in dictated if he would allow advantage or not. But hey its over for I have no desire to talk about rule books but if he did enforce the rules how many would have been left on the park with all the jersey pulling and over the shoulder tackles surprised our midfielder and full back were not given their marching orders, one did but with three minuets to go. Armagh will manage things okay going forward for block defending is three years behind Donegal's stile of play so we will be playing catch up year on year and never get there ????? Fermanagh beat Cavan in the league and will have this advantage over us and Peter will have done his home work after Sunday for he took all on board along with his back-room staff.

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 23/05/2013 20:46:06    1390112

He pulled the play back for the goal. These things happen. I'd be willing to let that one go. But there was constant pulling of Jamie Clarkes jersey as well that was let go. Jamies a marked man in every game now for Cross and Armagh. All in all Armagh did not deserve to win. The decision to leave one on one with Dunne was a big mistake. Cavan seemed more fired up for it. You cant blame a ref for Armagh loosing. The defence was shocking. If you havent that right you can forget about it. Even the worst county teams in Ireland have decent defences, its up in the fowards they have the problem converting scores and thats what marks most teams apart these days. I would totally forget about the game until we see how Cavan and Armagh fare in their next games.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 24/05/2013 14:41:55    1390601

No other forum,so I'l post on this one.
In light of Brollys remarks concerning the Armagh management I really hope ye make a serious impact on the qualifiers.
You have a guy trying to inject some positivity into the game and he is hung by a Derry man!!! Not on!! Best of luck with the rest of the campaign lads!

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 25/05/2013 13:39:34    1391014

A lot of people in this county are annoyed at Joe Brolly's very personal attack on Paul Grimley; it doesn't have to be personal.

OK there were tactical mistakes made by the Armagh mentors but a lot of Cavan people were surprised themselves at the step up in
competitiveness in the Cavan team compared to last year. No one including Joe Brolly himself predicted that so I think Paul Grimley can't be
blamed for everything.

That said it was a disappointing Armagh performance and I think we'll see a different attitude in the qualifiers.
As has been pointed out on this page, Jamie Clarke is often targeted in his own county too -that's the way football is. Still Jamie is a
stand-out player of pure class as we saw in the few scraps of possession that he got. Best of luck to Armagh in the qualifiers

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 29/05/2013 19:57:16    1394746

Declan McKenna, Gavin McParland and Peter Carragher are heading to the US, while Michael Stevenson is also travelling overseas.

From a May 30 posting on the Laois Hoganstan after some of their players left also.

Am wondering if the various managers have the same thoughts going through their minds as me.
How much effort was put into the first round of the All-Ireland championship by the defecting players?
Where does their loyalty lie?
As some of the players played on Sunday last obviously prior contact had been made by the US clubs to have arrangements made already.
How soon before Croke Park sits up and denies sanctions?

dirra2 (Mayo) - Posts: 181 - 01/06/2013 17:09:55    1396568

Jamie is a fine young player lads, will he be back for the championship ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2013 21:41:22    1516367

Cross will b disappointed in Clarke leaving,is this d third time he has left.i don't think cross will win Ulster club this year with out him.

geardlines (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 15/08/2014 20:39:30    1637454

Glad to have Jamie back in the fold, I hope he sticks around for Armagh campaign too but only if geezer starts playing football and using players skills.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 03/12/2015 10:54:39    1811195

lads is Jamie available for the league? Fantastic player.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/01/2016 19:28:26    1816432

Ruled himself out again....

Sam2002 (Armagh) - Posts: 6 - 20/03/2016 10:33:52    1836054

great to see him return!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/03/2017 07:59:53    1967745

Would anyone on here have good knowledge of the Armagh club scene?? I run a small tipping group - well-run, organised, a bit of a craic, we win a few bob too. If you are interested send a message to GAA - For Club and County on Facebook and I'll add you to my group. Thanks and good luck.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 22/05/2017 06:42:43    1989107