Hollymount-Carramore

Hollymount and Carramore played together for the last 20 years underage using the name St Gerards. Roughly 90% of all the managers and coaches came from the Hollymount side. Also it was Hollymount members who coached and trained the local School teams, with Roundfort being the biggest. Last year carramore members took over some of the underage teams. They were able to do this as they have the voting power now in the club and are pretty much running the Holly/Carra club now. 3 sets of parents complained during the year last year that their son was verbally abused. ie shouted and sworn at during games and training. this happened at under 12 and under 14. these complaints were made to club officers. Also the under 16 team only had 1 training session during the year last year. These Hollymount 'old timers' that people seem to be giving out about are actually trying to do good for the club and community. People should know there are 2 sides to every story and not just listen to the propaganda that the Holly/Carra pro say. Its their lies that have got the club into the mess it is in.

SouthMayo77 (Mayo) - Posts: 15 - 25/02/2013 19:38:18    1339109

Will ye kop on and go to a club meetin to air yer grievances and stop washin yer dirty laundry in public,it's embarrassin

GAAPAJO (Mayo) - Posts: 51 - 25/02/2013 20:00:22    1339125

Alot of facts seem to be coming out here which makes a change from some if the 'press releases' on local newspapers. For the record this club has been ran behind closed doors since it was set up with no club meetings and now that there has had to be meetings recently members were told things that turned out to be untrue

blueandwhite13 (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 25/02/2013 20:13:31    1339135

The issues that the people from St Comans(Hollymount)had were relating to boundaries, Outstanding Loan and Unity Of Parish. The mediation team solved the loan issue, called on Mayo Co board to re-instate boundaries and the unity issue is for the St Comans people to come to the meetings and get involved again. The Officers of Hollymount Carramore have at all times stressed that it is a club for everyone and anyone interested in the promotion of GAA for our youth are more than welcome to get involved.
The St Comans people say that changing the name of the club to 'St Comans' Hollymount would solve everything, but it must be remembered that Carramore were a club in their own right for nearly 40 years and as half of the membership is made up of Carramore people, we feel that it is not alot to expect that we want that history recognised in having the Carramore name retained. It is the one piece of identity of a club that we were all proud of.

peacemaker2013 (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 26/02/2013 11:56:09    1339295

peacemaker, that sounds very reasonable. what happened at county board meeting last night

rober (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 26/02/2013 12:26:13    1339313

Peacemaker, good points but not totally correct.

The Mediation team didn't sort the loan issue. They recommended that Holly/Carra get a new loan to clear the Hollymount Loan but that the pitch and property was to be vested in the Gaa. This is not possible as the pitch is a community pitch and cant be vested.

Yes they have called on Mayo Co board to re-instate Carramores bounderies. Claremorris Gaa Club and Garrymore Gaa club have all ready fought and won that the boundery agreement that they signed up to with Carramore is now null and void since the almalagation. They have also said they will appeal and fight any re-instatement of these boundaries.

As for Holly/Carra being an all welcoming club. There was two (yes 2!) club meeting last year and some club members at one stage last year had to sign a petition and give it to the chairman to call a club meeting. Hardly very open.

Yes Carramore were a club in their own right from 1977 to 2011. Before this Hollymount and Carramore played together under the name St Coman's so is this not fair to go back to that name again?
Also the Hollymount St Comans side has said that to reconigise both clubs that the name Hollymount/Carramore would still be used for Jerseys, Scoreboards, reports in all media, lotto books, posters, T Shirts, Training tops. adverts, signs, sponsorship etc. the only place St Comans would be seen is that it would be the registerd name. like St Patricks Westport but we all know the club as Westport.

The Hollymount side would have over looked all the rule breakages and that the club was almalmaged illegally (Croke Pk also said this...but you forgot to mention that part!) if Carramore agreed to register club St Coman's with the 'media' name Hollymount/Carramore. What is not fair about that?

it amazing pre almalagation that Carramore were down to 12 paid up memebers (thats from county board figures and accounts) but now they are so proud etc etc etc....

SouthMayo77 (Mayo) - Posts: 15 - 26/02/2013 13:48:12    1339369

This is getting very tiring! Sort it out or else get out! Yer slowly becoming one of the most hated club/clubs/whatever ye are in the county.

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 26/02/2013 14:44:31    1339413

Southmayo77. I think from most of your comments that you like me would like to see an end to this sad series of events. Just to put it on record, I am not a member of Executive and have only access to the information given out at club meetings.
From what we were told, if the club could not get agreement with the Bank to amend the name of the loan, That Croke park could facilitate the loan at an interest rate comparable to what is currently being paid. I am sure the the club will take up that offer if needed.
I agree with you that the Hollymount pitch is a community field that the whole community have equal right to. My understanding was that the club facilities(ie Dressing Rooms Etc;) must be vested with the Gaa because the aforementioned loan is for those dressing rooms and I suppose Croke Park wants this before they will underwrite the loan.
As regards membership in Carramore, emphasis was never put on membership but if you care to look at Co Board records we used to sell in excess of 150 Co Board €100 tickets which was the clubs main source of income.
In relation to boundaries, If a player does not want to play for a club, you are as well off without them. I would be more afraid of other sports taking players than other clubs.
I didn't come on this forum to take sides one way or the other. I am just a parent interested on my children having a prosperous, successful club into the future and I will do anything in my power to help solve it.

peacemaker2013 (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 26/02/2013 15:15:18    1339430

Lads, there's so many amalgamations that don't seem to work out, this being a prime example. Does anyone have any ideas on how to make an amalgamation successful? It's a problem that will only have more emphases with further emigration of 18-30 year olds from the West.

Jimmy192 (Mayo) - Posts: 107 - 26/02/2013 15:32:55    1339443

Rober. Didn't hear any update from Co board meeting but according to mayo news today, St Comans delegation are meeting Co Board on Thursday night to seek affiliation for St Comans Hollymount.
Bord Na Nog registration for Hollymount/Carramore Club on tomorrow evening with training commencing soon after, and second round O'Mara Cup game being played next Sunday against The Neale, so it seems Hollymount/Carramore are being given the green light to proceed by Co Board regardless of whatever else is happening in the background.
I don't know what the need to cancel the championship draws was for, because whatever the outcome it is going to be Hollymount/Carramore or St Comans Versus whatever teams they are drawn against. This is only upsetting other clubs for no reason.

peacemaker2013 (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 26/02/2013 15:48:45    1339449

It is not like Carramore and Hollymount are strangers....as one poster said the underage teams "St Gerards" have been together for 20 odd years. Here is a wildcard for ye....could the snior team not be called "St. Gerards" ?

Amalagations will rise as the rural population of Ireland decline's - even Garrymore have had to join to with Kilmaine at underage level.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 26/02/2013 16:00:14    1339457

Along with Kiltane + Ballycroy, Parke/Keogoes/Crumlin + Balla, Killala, Ballycastle, Lacken, Kilfian, and Bonniconlon and Ardnaree underages... It's a bad sign for the future!

Jimmy192 (Mayo) - Posts: 107 - 26/02/2013 16:24:26    1339473

Fair point Jimmy192. From reading the above we see similar issues arising again and again. I would say in the above example, they should forget about the st comans name. What is to be gained from it? It might have been ok 40 years ago, but things change. Carramore had their own club and now this is a new amalgamation. Come up with a different name where both can meet in the middle. Why not St Gerards? Pushing a name that means more to 1 than the other is not the way to go.
Secondly, if management of underage teams is inadequate, the answer is sort the management, not split up the club. Maybe these guys need another chance, maybe they can take these points and improve? Maybe someone else is a better fit. Or maybe a mixture of the above.
The club meetings thing isnt on, but at the same time people need to be more understanding of an inevitable bedding in period. Caramore were a junior club, so maybe they werent as far along and well organised as hollymount. But then hollymount need to understand that, and furthermore that hollymount is gone and this is their new club.
In reality, the thing that needs to be done is forget what happened at club A or club B. This idea of 'this wouldnt be happening if we were still on our own' is a disaster, and helps nobody. They then need to sit down and come up with a list of procedures that is right for club C and then stick to that. Obviously, if one team was noticeably doing better than teh other club then their procedures are probably going to be a better starting point, but they shouldnt get their way in every call either. Also, it is important to get the opinion of the players into the mix. They are the guys who know how the amalgamation is really going, because they are the ones on the field, and generally, when a team is playing well and doing well, you see a lot of these issues fall away.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/02/2013 16:25:31    1339474

Southmayo77. Can you tell me why changing the name from Hollymount/Carramore to 'St Comans' Hollymount would make such a difference. The only thing that we can see from it is that ye want to drop the 'Carramore' from it. Its past time for this 'us' and 'them' mentallity to leave the club. In an ideal world, of course no one wants to amalgamate and lose their own club, but in these times in rural Ireland it is inevitable and we will all have to put pride and stubborness to one side and work together to make it into the strongest club in South Mayo(To Start With Anyhow).
From alot of the previous comments, it seems that the Hollymount side feel that the Carramore side have taken more than their share of the control of the club. If this is the case, become members, get involved and get on the Executive at the AGM and have your say there.
In reply to 'The Master' I didn't realise that there were so few meetings last year, but surely the Club Executive meetings should take care of running the clubs affairs. If items arise that need a full club meeting, then that is for the 'Executive' to make that call. I can assure you that since these grievances started again, there has been more club meetings than I can count. Most clubs have memberships in the hundreds, but can someone tell me a club that will have 20 people at an ordinary club meeting. Of course everyone turns up when there is agro.
As regards the running of the underage teams, I can honestly say that the two officers over the Bord Na Nog(One from Hollymount and One from Caramore) have made huge improvements from the previous 'St Gerards' set up. A code of practice was drafted and implemented by all managers and coaches of underage teams. Nearly 80 youngers were at the presentation night, all happy with their progression throughout the year and huge credit is due to all that helped and coached those teams. It would be a crying shame to let these youngsters scatter to Claremorris, Garrymore, Mayo Gaels etc; They are the future. Lets all see sense and work with them.

peacemaker2013 (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 26/02/2013 20:28:08    1339606

But peacemaker2013, obviously they are not all happy when there was complaints coming from player's parents. Either way, if a young lad was f'd out of it or whatever then the issue is with the individual manager, not the amalgamation. I mean that could happen in any club. The real issue seems to me, from the outside looking in, is that every issue that arises there are some factions who want to put the blame on the amalgamation, when in reality these are just issues within the club.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/02/2013 14:45:50    1339852

Looks like this issue has been passed over again unresolved. Pity there are such narrow minded people at the top table of this club & the county board. Hard to see how this club can be a success with such an internal split. Would be in the interests of the people involved in the hollymount Carramore club to sort out the problems here rather than move on with such a mess

blueandwhite13 (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 05/03/2013 12:23:08    1343146

Ah no1 cares anymore blue and white ,get over it and look forward to the neale and kilmaine comin to town this summer

GAAPAJO (Mayo) - Posts: 51 - 05/03/2013 17:28:06    1343461

Well what seems to have been a turbulent join up has now settled down? Best of Luck to them in the final on Sunday. Be a good bit of interest in this game with Connelly over them.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 03/10/2014 15:57:06    1659822

This was a pretty good Carramore/Hollymount team, but Connelly failed them in my estimation. If this is an example of Mayo's Co manager in waiting, it might be that the wait will be an awfully long one. Hard to see where any coaching at all was used in this teams forward play, never mind implementing any type of strategy to change things around during the game. It really is hard to believe that the Co Board got away with the selection. The worst ever abuse of power by people involved with football in Mayo and aided and abetted by club delegates. Shame on all of you.

davittsman (Mayo) - Posts: 336 - 06/10/2014 18:06:50    1660802

Replying To Tomlangan:  "So anyone like to shine a light on the hollymount/carrowmore amalgamation? News on the grapevine is hollymount have pulled the plug on it and are going solo for 2013"
4 years after this initial post it looks like these issues haven't been resolved and are cropping their heads up again....

imonmyway (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 23/10/2017 11:00:27    2057170