Division One 2013

Kildare have won both of our away games (our game with Dublin being a home game).

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 18/03/2013 20:08:30    1351632

Dublin have won both their "away" games :) woop !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/03/2013 20:16:16    1351643

sorry lads yeah your right long day in the office how could i forget them matches :-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 18/03/2013 20:20:46    1351647

Don't worry lads, our home comforts are coming to an end, the away game from hell awaits us in Ballybofey!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 18/03/2013 21:07:56    1351700

Ha I'm not looking forward to it realdub, there bad enough at parking the bus in Croker imagine what there going to be like up there on there own small tight pitch heaven help us ha. Here comes MuckrossHead now haha

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/03/2013 21:47:00    1351739

waynoI

supples kickouts were terrible,in the first half he cost us 5 or 6 points and could have been worse had tyrone got shooting boots on as they kicked 6 wides in first 10 minutes coming from his kickouts!!!
first off he was far too slow getting the kickout taken,we had runners and by the time he got the ball put on tee and looked up they were in a standing position and his soccer style kickouts of lofting the ball like a golfer chipping onto a green made it impossible for our midfilders to win clean kickouts and easy for tyrone midfielders to break every time,some of them he kicked out were towards one dublin player being marked by two tyrone players

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/03/2013 08:35:47    1351755

I left McHale Park in bad form on sat night but not totally surprised we were beat. We went 7 - 1 up and squandered two goal chances. I felt they might haunt us and low and behold Kildare woke up and we collapsed. Despite Kildare being the better team for the reminder of the game, we could have won it were it not for inept free taking and what must have been six balls dropped into the keepers hands.

I said last week that we are hard to beat in McHale park which is the case but it ain't no fortress. We have only won 2 out of 12 Home league games under horan which is not a good home record in the league.

Its only the league I hear you say.....well yeah but we look clueless at the minute. rushed aimless passess, running into tackles and of course kicking from the wrong position. It was also clear whenever we got a free or sideline ball, players were not inclined to come forward looking for the ball.

Donegal can now relegate us next Sunday. I hope to see a fired up Mayo win but going on form we wont beat Donegal or Cork. Worrying times ahead as I don't think we have improved from last year which we needed to do.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 19/03/2013 10:31:12    1351812

I'm after having a good cut off Mayo's tactics there on the Mayo board and some of the craic they got away with. And that's coming from someone with a lot of relations in Mayo who would support them as a second county. That nearly everyone is giving out about the decsion before the goal (which was in Kildare's half) is worse. The free count ended up 38-17 in Mayo's favour! Wasn't impressed at all by their antics or by Martin Higgins who bought into every dive or tussle as an offence. He is the most fussy ref around. Clearly the kerfuffle after last year's Westmeath-Kerry game hasn't changed his style any!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 19/03/2013 10:54:01    1351834

yew_tree

1351812 I left McHale Park in bad form on sat night but not totally surprised we were beat. We went 7 - 1 up and squandered two goal chances. I felt they might haunt us and low and behold Kildare woke up and we collapsed. Despite Kildare being the better team for the reminder of the game, we could have won it were it not for inept free taking and what must have been six balls dropped into the keepers hands.

I said last week that we are hard to beat in McHale park which is the case but it ain't no fortress. We have only won 2 out of 12 Home league games under horan which is not a good home record in the league.

Its only the league I hear you say.....well yeah but we look clueless at the minute. rushed aimless passess, running into tackles and of course kicking from the wrong position. It was also clear whenever we got a free or sideline ball, players were not inclined to come forward looking for the ball.

Donegal can now relegate us next Sunday. I hope to see a fired up Mayo win but going on form we wont beat Donegal or Cork. Worrying times ahead as I don't think we have improved from last year which we needed to do.

What about the point that wasn't? You see that? I was gobsmacked they waved it wide.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 19/03/2013 10:55:37    1351835

sedico
What about the point that wasn't? You see that? I was gobsmacked they waved it wide.

I know the point you are on about sedico but as I was the far side of the stand, we would not see for sure. The reaction of the crowd in the stand suggested it was a bad decision. Kildare I assume will be happy with the win and in fairness showed bottle to come back. Another stat, we are the lowest goalscorers across all four divisions even though we have created the most scoring chances after Dublin. We are not clinical enough and lack conviction. It better change fast or we will be in Division 2 next year and face an early qualifier exit.

All this talk of Mayo ploughing through Galway in Salthill in May is not holding any water for me. Galway are bad themselves but Mayo never had it easy in Salthill and I have only witnessed us win their once ever.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 19/03/2013 11:15:21    1351845

Ha I'm not looking forward to it realdub, there bad enough at parking the bus in Croker imagine what there going to be like up there on there own small tight pitch heaven help us ha. Here comes MuckrossHead now haha

Au contraire Clonhalkin, Ballybofey's wide open expanses should be very much to your liking, after all it's where Donegal's total football ethos was conceived.
No effort has been spared to make you blue clad Dubs feel at home. We have open terracing on not just one side, a la Croke Park, but on three sides, our burgers will have just the right amount of horsemeat in them for you & we have bumped up the price of a pint to stop you drinking yourself into oblivion. The fresh air & spectacular scenery we could do nothing abou,t but I'm sure you'll survive!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/03/2013 11:55:23    1351873

And plough through Galway we will and furthermore destroy the new optimists after the club win , they think they are the new kids on the block .

All these league defeats could of easily of been wins with maybe the exception of croke park encounter. We are still playing excellent in patches albeit not long
Enough patches.

The alarm bells ringing for a lot of supporters will just be a faded memory come August weekend. That is Mayo s target in reality , I believe Horan looked at the league and thought " stay up" and experiment in these games, its not worked out in the manner he wanted but its no big deal . Be no surprise to me if we beat Donegal on Sunday and up the ante from what we have been playing at.

Under 21 game in tuam on sat is important to Mayo football.be there lads and lassies.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 19/03/2013 13:41:37    1351973

Hi guys,

Tactical preview of Kerry vs Cork up here http://action81.com/blog/?p=7006

Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 21/03/2013 09:14:56    1353153

Predictions this weekend:

Well the great thing about a bank holiday is the week after is short so here we go again:

Dublin v Down - I fancy the Dubs to bounce back here despite last week's defeat to the Tyrone men.

Mayo v Donegal - Nobody will be backing Mayo and my head say's no too but feck it il go with my hear and say Mayo will prove us wrong and get some revenge over Dun na Gall.

Kildare v Tyrone - Tough one to call. I have seem both teams beat us in Castlebar, Tyrone were more impressive but Kildare have good things going for them too. Il go for a draw

Kerry v Cork - I think the Cork men will relegate their near neighbours and friends ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 21/03/2013 11:25:10    1353258

Dublin v Down.........Dublin
Kerry v Cork...........Cork
Mayo v Donegal.......Mayo
Kildare v Tyrone......Kildare

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/03/2013 11:45:28    1353285

Jeez my lungs and liver will be thanking me so Muckross :-)
Looking forward to the trip up Northwest on the 7th.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 21/03/2013 11:55:44    1353295

Dublin v Down.........Dublin Too much in the armour
Kerry v Cork...........Cork The fightback starts here
Mayo v Donegal.......Donegal Heart more than head on this one
Kildare v Tyrone......Tyrone Tyrone to bounce back

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/03/2013 12:00:43    1353302

Au contraire Clonhalkin, Ballybofey's wide open expanses should be very much to your liking, after all it's where Donegal's total football ethos was conceived.

Really? When are they going to start using said ethos?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/03/2013 12:01:28    1353304

Dublin v Down - Dublin
Kerry v Cork - Cork
Mayo v Donegal - Donegal
Kildare v Tyrone - Tyrone

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 21/03/2013 12:19:04    1353326

Really? When are they going to start using said ethos?

We use it sparingly so as not to make others feel too bad about themselves. The first 10 minutes of last years Final was more than enough.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/03/2013 12:23:19    1353329