Sam is between Dublin, Cork and Kerry..

Seeing double is not a bad thing for most Dubs Jackeen; two sets of gold chains, sovereign rings, pitbulls, horses, social welfare cheques and Man Ooo tops!

_______

Haha very funny ..

Ah the craic is mighty lads.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/03/2012 17:28:22    1128742

And not a Weightwatchers Membership card in sight either on the Hill LOL!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 13/03/2012 17:29:40    1128743

Connolly has always been a marvellous footballer at club level. Seems to struggle to make any sort of regular impact on the scoreboard when he wears the county colours though take.yer.pints. But maybe now we are starting to see a more consistant Diarmuid Connolly. Unfortuneatly i still feel for every great game he plays , an absolute shambolic display isnt too far away but thats only because its what we are used to seeing. Its frustrating because we can all see the potential and the talent the fella has and we just want him to show it consistantly. Im sure its frustrating for him too. Im sure we will start to see better performances sooner rather than later and hopefully more consistant ones.

As for the wing backs and wing forwards - I dont think its an issue , I actually feel we are very strong in the wing back position , You have Michael Fitzsimons , Darran Daly , Cian O'Sullivan , Johnny Cooper , Davy Byrne , Kevin Nolan , Philly McMahon and Craig Dias all vying for positions 2,4,5 and 7.. I think Pat as i have said on other threads on the Dublin page , Is just using the league to experiment in certain areas and these areas are two of the ones he has looked at. As All Ireland champions you would have to presume that 10 or 11 of last years starters' positions are safe as houses , Players like Stephen Cluxton , Rory O'Carroll , Bernard and Alan Brogan , Connolly , Cullen , Flynn , Fitzsimons and one or two others will start this years championship , Its the rest of the lads who have to show what they are made of and that is what Giller is doing when giving the likes of Byrne , Savage , Cooper , Dias etc more time on the pitch. And to say most have impressed would be an understatement.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/03/2012 17:38:15    1128751

And not a Weightwatchers Membership card in sight either on the Hill LOL!

______

What is it your insinuating here ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/03/2012 17:40:09    1128756

Just that some Dubs are so big wayno that they have their own postcode; you could play handball/paint a mural on their backs; they don't have a bloodgroup just gravy; four of you get up and give him/her a seat etc etc!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 13/03/2012 17:46:12    1128764

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

1128687 Rebel.Og

It should be a good year of football. I think with O' Neill, Sheehan & Goulding back this year we should have a great chance. Dubs will be tough to beat though. Connolly looks razor sharp.

What's the latest on Sheehan and Goulding?

Not 100% sure about Sheehan, but I know Goulding should be back in a couple of weeks, I tink Sheehan will be back around May. Both will be back to full fitness for the Munster Championship anyway Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 13/03/2012 17:56:54    1128789

What our you on about ulsterman? Is he saying we're fat? Waynol give Connolly a break. The man is playing well and has shown how good he can be. It's like no matter what he does in the league you won't give him a break. Don't forget he was off the panel in ten and was only finding his feet last year. He will be the main man come the summer I guarantee you that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/03/2012 19:31:57    1128872

Maybe a little premature with this thread! Dublin deservedly beaten by Down and Cork looked very poor for long spells against Kerry. Kerry too looked very poor against Armag in an earlier game although currently look the best team in Ireland. Still the 3 favourites but all beatable if the opposition has a good day and they don't.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 19/03/2012 13:00:25    1132162

I fancy Cork to win it this year, very capable side who should have at least another one in the bag by now, a tad unfortunate to be caught out by an average Mayo team last year, injuries played their part in Corks defeat in fairness.

Kerry and Dublin won't be far away either, the op is correct imo.

On a sidenote, why do posters on here form this b/s opinion claiming Mayo supporters think we are in with a shout with Sam.
I have followed my county like most on here since I was knee high, mayo fans if anything are the complete opposite of optimistic, of course there will always be young bucks who give it all the bravado but honestly nobody in Mayo is thinking all irelands. A good win in connact ,maybe even retain the nestor with a day out in croker, is fantastic for Mayo with the present set up, very average side.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 19/03/2012 14:11:46    1132221

Joe Brollys comments on RTE last summer that the Cork team were "Dumb Footballers" was never more evident than in Sundays first half display against the Kingdom. It looks like our lads still dont know how to kick good quaility passes into our fowards, which Kerry can do with great excution into Declan Suillvan & co.

While the Cork team continue to have this problem, it looks like our awful record against the Kingdom in Croker will continue this summer.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 20/03/2012 10:34:14    1132884

Ulsterman

1128728 Seeing double is not a bad thing for most Dubs Jackeen; two sets of gold chains, sovereign rings, pitbulls, horses, social welfare cheques and Man Ooo tops!

Says someone from a British colony (as accepted by all other than tiny number of 'dissidents') where a ridiculous number of people are claiming Disability Nenefit in order to avoid work.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/03/2012 10:51:27    1132902

There doesnt seem to be much between the loot of them this year looking at the league. Results are all over the shop and just acase of teams clicking on the day.

mayobridge (Down) - Posts: 4 - 20/03/2012 11:00:09    1132909

Very early to be ruling teams in or out of the All-Ireland but to me, Cork have been the most erratic of the big three so far. 1-07, 0-06 and 0-11 in three of their games. In the other two they score 4-11 and 2-14. Sublime to the ridiculous - but that's always been a Cork thing. It seems like getting some consistency in their performances could be the big issue they have come summer time.

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 20/03/2012 11:07:50    1132913

League form counts for little come the championship. Remember Down came within a kick of the ball of winning the all Ireland in 2010 and they had just come out of div 3!

I would say however, to discount Tyrone is foolhardy. They have demolished all comers this term and must be in with a shout. People will say its div 2 football but there winning margins are massive. I would say right now they are the most impressive squad in the country

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 20/03/2012 11:46:09    1132930

ballybannongael Down actually finshed their 2010 league campaign 1st in Division 2, with the best points difference in all 4 divisions I believe.

peter_venkman (Down) - Posts: 320 - 20/03/2012 12:08:08    1132954

League form counts for little come the championship. Remember Down came within a kick of the ball of winning the all Ireland in 2010 and they had just come out of div 3!

_______

I disagree, The proof is in the pudding lads, In recent years the team who has finished top of the NFL division one has gone on to win the All ireland

Dublin 2011
Cork 2010
Kerry 2009

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/03/2012 12:22:23    1132968

Fair & indisputable point made there Wayno, but I think the intensity of the League differs from the championship. I personally could not see Dublin losing to Down like this in the AI in the Summer if their crown was at stake

Neither League title is going to the Dubs now by the look of it, but I think both will have big says in both All Irelands this year regardless, whether they'll be wearing either crown at the end is another matter

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 20/03/2012 12:37:05    1132987

HurlingDub
Says someone from a British colony (as accepted by all other than tiny number of 'dissidents') where a ridiculous number of people are claiming Disability Nenefit in order to avoid work.

Oh I think there's alot more than a few dissidents would agree with your nonsense.
Are you related to George Osborne - your certainly a Tory?

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 20/03/2012 15:04:10    1133179

dublin will be no where near winning all ireland this year

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 20/03/2012 15:27:09    1133212

Sorry Tyronetim but did people not vote to accept British rule by consent within the 6 county state?

I am a republican by the way. Main point of post was to provoke Ulsterman in his relentless assault on my fellow citizens of the City of '16 ;-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/03/2012 15:33:56    1133219