Cadbury GAA U21 Football Championship 2012

realdub

1124923 Well are Dublin brilliant or are Laois rubbish, 2-21 0-4??!

bit of both maybe?

Tommo1 (Laois) - Posts: 113 - 07/03/2012 21:51:35    1124935

Was it just me or were Longford favourites for Leinster?

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1581 - 07/03/2012 21:56:59    1124943

Good win for Louth against their more fancied Longford counterparts last evening.

The referee was very very fussy to put it mildly, where he got the 5 minutes he added on at the end of the first half and the 6 minutes he added on at the end of the game I'll never know.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 08/03/2012 09:48:42    1124995

AH SURE . Just you . who do ye all think will win provincials ?
for me . CONNACHT- Galway : have a good team and wont be stopped easily . have gary sweeney , jonny duane , tom flynn , fintan o cuirann , paddy sweeney and eric monahan from last years team !

NOTtoday (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 08/03/2012 09:53:53    1124997

Apparently it was said on here that Longford had 10 or more of their starting team available from last years Leinster final defeat? Surely that would make them favourites?

I'd say Mayo for Connacht anyway.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1581 - 08/03/2012 11:11:31    1125052

"Well are Dublin brilliant or are Laois rubbish, 2-21 0-4??! "

I'd say Laois rubbish afterall Dublin only beat Wexford by 3 points in the last round.

Have Galway only 6 of last years team left??

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 08/03/2012 15:35:24    1125295

we had an easy win but hard to know where were at carlow were terrible they went 35mins with out scoring really awful stuff

eyebolt (Westmeath) - Posts: 12 - 08/03/2012 18:55:12    1125484

ahsure...longford were obviously not favourites...had a decent team but dublin will always be favourites in leisnter...just because you heard one or two things about longford doesn't make them favourites..were missing most of their backline from last year

shermaninator (USA) - Posts: 285 - 09/03/2012 18:30:14    1126110

sorry lads dublin wont be beat in leinster and perhaps after

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2851 - 09/03/2012 19:30:15    1126148

it's between offaly and dublin i'd imagine, i have seen offaly play, they are a good side, i seen westmeath on wednesday and while they were alot better than carlow a better forward line would have punished them, i haven't seen louth or dublin but i'd imagine dublin are strong but i would not judge them on the laois game as from what i seen of them they were as bad as us

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1600 - 09/03/2012 20:34:18    1126194

Mayo having a very good pre-season I hear. Westmeath should also be strong now they have Heslin back. Armagh had a handy minor team three years ago, does anyone know if Eugene McVerry is underage for them this year? He was a handy minor a few years back.....

Galway would have to be my favourites though, last years team was one of the best footballing sides I ever saw. Total football full of speed and power, with very accurate forwards. Does anybody know if Danny Cummins is underage this year? Deadly accurate with a serious burst of pace.

Dublin and Cavan should also be strong....

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 09/03/2012 20:37:42    1126196

Full time:

Dublin 2-21 Laois 0-4

Shockin - how poor have laoise sunk?

tcm (None) - Posts: 162 - 10/03/2012 18:00:57    1126411

"Galway would have to be my favourites though, last years team was one of the best footballing sides I ever saw. Total football full of speed and power"

Would be favourites if they had the same 15 & manager this year but they don't.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 10/03/2012 18:08:44    1126418

Gaa_lover
County: USA

"Galway would have to be my favourites though, last years team was one of the best footballing sides I ever saw. Total football full of speed and power"

Would be favourites if they had the same 15 & manager this year but they don't.

Who are they missing from last years team? I know Colin Forde is overage, I was wondering is Danny Cummins still available?

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 10/03/2012 20:00:30    1126488

Not sure about Danny Cummins but seen it written else where only 6/7 of last years team remain.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 10/03/2012 20:17:33    1126501

very little mention of tyrone? yous are clowns to thinks to think anyone other than the red hands will win the under 21 all ireland this year. fact ...

Goals_Will_Come (UK) - Posts: 375 - 10/03/2012 20:27:29    1126505

Took a look at the Kerry panel, some top standard players in that panel. They could win munster this year.

romanl292 (Kerry) - Posts: 22 - 11/03/2012 21:46:39    1127202

Tonight's fixtures:

Munster U21 Championship Quarter Finals
Limerick v Clare - Gaelic Grounds @ 7.30pm
Tipperary v Kerry - Semple Stadium @ 7.30pm

Connacht U21 Championship Quarter Final
Mayo v Galway - McHale Park, Castlebar @ 7.30pm

Ulster U21 Championship First Round
Fermanagh v Tyrone - Brewster Park @ 8.00pm

CadburyGAA (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 14/03/2012 10:15:36    1129077

romanl292

Took a look at the Kerry panel, some top standard players in that panel. They could win munster this year.

Who would you call top standard? James Walsh is the only one that stands out for me. Possibly Kilkenny but too early to say on him yet. Looks like a very average panel to me and some strange decisions in the forwards. I wouldn't be surprised if they are turned over by Tipp tonight.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 14/03/2012 10:33:16    1129088

1129088 romanl292

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Who would you call top standard? James Walsh is the only one that stands out for me. Possibly Kilkenny but too early to say on him yet. Looks like a very average panel to me and some strange decisions in the forwards. I wouldn't be surprised if they are turned over by Tipp tonight.

What about Jack Sherwood at centre back? I played against him a few times at college level and I think hes a class footballer. Also do ye rate Paul Murphy from Rathmore at wing back? I think hes another very good footballer.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 14/03/2012 11:47:17    1129161