Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Sparrowhawk

moomoo. Simple really. If you see someone being assaulted it would be very natural to try and intervene. Remember the old lady in England who came accross a gang robbing a bank. She waded in and caused them to give up and run.. She achieved hero status - not a 48 week ban.

Oh ya that has alot to do with this....

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/02/2012 12:29:11    1108422

moomoo

1108422 Sparrowhawk

moomoo. Simple really. If you see someone being assaulted it would be very natural to try and intervene. Remember the old lady in England who came accross a gang robbing a bank. She waded in and caused them to give up and run.. She achieved hero status - not a 48 week ban.

What kind of a response is this?. Can you not engage in rational debate.

Sparrowhawk (Tyrone) - Posts: 107 - 09/02/2012 12:43:35    1108433

I have no affiliation with Derrytresk club, but I am a GAA man. I think all people who have lambasted Derrytresk should have a read at the following article. Don't believe all the diatribe you read in some southern papers. I would rather be hit with a handbag than a fist any day, I don't think Declan O'Sullivan has much of a leg to stand on judging by this photo.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0209/1224311519762.html?via=mr

Would also like to wish the lads all the best on Sunday and bring the cup back to Tyrone, they deserve it.

thehallion (Tyrone) - Posts: 63 - 09/02/2012 12:44:43    1108434

Sparrowhawk

moomoo

1108422 Sparrowhawk

What kind of a response is this?. Can you not engage in rational debate.

What does it have to do with it?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/02/2012 12:53:21    1108441

Superglue

1108420 First there was little outrage or condemnation about a player with concussion and another with a broken cheekbone. But there was plenty of the same about a trial by southern media
Now it's all condemnation because of what? The southern media's picture.

Nobody is saying that it wasn't wrong that a player got a broken cheekbone, or concussion, or that subs enterred the field. It was most definitely wrong. And the GAA has the procedures to deal with such events, and it does so on a worringly regular basis.

The media (both southern media and british media) was selectively drip fed by Dromid, and others (notably the Kerry County Board, to the delight of the non-GAA fratenity. And with the drip-feeding came the finger pointing at other Tyrone teams (to the delight of the baying mobs from the anti-Tyrone fratenity). Followed by some cheap shots at certain successful Ulster club and County teams, notably the dredging up of dirt from the Crossmaglen v Dr Crokes match played 5 years ago.

But to scapegoat Derrytresk for all of the ails in our Association, this is wrong. And that is what has occurred during this trial by media.

muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 09/02/2012 13:27:56    1108474

Speculation mounting on other forums that the pic is photoshopped, is that even possible?
Pardon my ignorance, i know very little about the technicalities of photoshop or how it works
(for the record, i dont think anyone would be silly enough to try it so i doubt its true)

mmcartan (Cork) - Posts: 17 - 09/02/2012 13:30:32    1108479

First there was little outrage or condemnation about a player with concussion and another with a broken cheekbone. But there was plenty of the same about a trial by southern media
Now it's all condemnation because of what? The southern media's picture.
Oooh! Suits you Sir.

Superglue, the photo was taken by a Derrytresk club photographer, not 'the southern media'. At least get your facts correct before you post.

Derrytresk held all their evidence to be given only directly to the GAA authorities. I believe they have now released it as they are absolutely disillusioned by the way they have been treated by the GAA. Muffin I think it was hit the nail on the head with his earlier post. The drip drip approach of Dromid have painted them as the victims, reality is both clubs were involved but one has been hit with a much harsher punishment than others, for trying to do things the dignified way.

Great message that sends out.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 09/02/2012 13:35:05    1108483

Seems pretty clear to me. Declan O'Sullivan is the victim of a vicious attack here. Can hear the sobbing children in the stands: 'Mummy mummy, why is that thug headbutting my daddy's fist?" The trauma those poor wee precious Kerry kiddies must feel after witnessing such naked aggression.
No doubt in my mind it was the vicious Ulster team that is at fault here. If Joe Duffy says it, well it must be true.

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 09/02/2012 13:35:24    1108484

Goodfella,Tir I know it's a derrytresk photographer but it appeared in the irish times. Southern media only gets credibility when it suits.
This picture now is telling several different version of what 'Obviously' happened.
The video on youtube was by a Kerryman and so it was part of the so called trial by southern media.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 09/02/2012 13:47:41    1108491

just about to tune into joe duffy, and hear him doing a special on St Declan...how he landed that haymaker on the derrytresk player, and the "justice" that has been handed out over this past week....no?..didnt' think so..ah sure i was hoping liveline would try and balance things up, but not a hope

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 09/02/2012 14:01:05    1108501

So I think we can be clear about one thing. To select a single image or short video and claim it to be definitive or representative is deeply flawed. Continually throughout this post I have asked people with strong opinions where they at the match and in most cases got no response.
The most revealing version was the guy who watched the whole DVD and formed an opinion in totality. This view was corrobarated by the sanctions taken by the match official who presumably wasn't blinkered by North/South Anti Tyrone/Kerry views.

The result as we have seen is that if you leek your version first (And don't naively place your trust in the GAA judiciary) - that becomes the conventional/accepted truth.
Maybe Derrytresk were a bit naieve in this respect and we now have further proof of the "Cute Kerry hoor".
Sub Judice springs top mind.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 09/02/2012 14:20:53    1108523

A picture is says thousand words. At last an impartial view from the republic's media.

Any thoughts on today's picture moomoo?

An auld chink in the propaganda machine!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/02/2012 15:52:39    1108598

TheGateKeeper

A picture is says thousand words. At last an impartial view from the republic's media.

Any thoughts on today's picture moomoo?

An auld chink in the propaganda machine!

Whos to say its not fake or a photoshop job? The Ulster boys were very fast to say the video was edited were they not? Where the Declan Sullivan arm is the other lad should already be on he's ****. And why the woman laughing at it? Or the two to the right strolling by as if nothing was happening?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/02/2012 16:29:22    1108636

Unbelievable!....i actually never thought our kerry friends would be in such denial...isn't it strange that many posters on here a few weeks ago who were castigating derrytresk and tyrone football are strangely silent today. Whats wrong boys?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 09/02/2012 17:30:01    1108678

Moomoo
Whos to say its not fake or a photoshop job? The Ulster boys were very fast to say the video was edited were they not? Where the Declan Sullivan arm is the other lad should already be on he's ****. And why the woman laughing at it? Or the two to the right strolling by as if nothing was happening?

Kerry paranoia.
Please disregard the rantings of this man in future ...there a touch of the mad cow about him. Alert Kerrygold before the whole herd gets contaminated

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 09/02/2012 17:48:07    1108689

Yeah tyronetim.Its the Kerrymen who are suffering from paranoia.Good on ya.I dont think Ive heard a single Tyrone poster even admit that the Derrytresk players MAY have acted out of order.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 09/02/2012 19:19:58    1108764

technically the photo shows o sullivans arm/fist NOT in contact with the derrytresk player.. the video clearly showed striking taking place.. suck it up.. both clubs got fined, and had players banned. just because derytresk are in an all ireland, and i know its such a blolw to them losing so many, but there subs climbed the hoarding so tough. no matter how ye whinge, on both sides - i think both clubs/players had to be disciplined, it was a disgrace what happened. and dont go on with this idea of southern media bias. rubbish.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 09/02/2012 19:28:03    1108773

may i ask for a second time - no one on either side answered the first time, but what bans etc would you have given on the evidence availbale (even just go on whats in the media, not what was reported at the meeting by ref etc)??

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 09/02/2012 19:35:54    1108779

Read the last 2 lines of the latest irish times article on this matter.. shows how much people on here actually know about the rules etc with regards to investigating match incidents..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 10/02/2012 08:37:51    1108866

Tyronetim

Moomoo

Kerry paranoia.
Please disregard the rantings of this man in future ...there a touch of the mad cow about him. Alert Kerrygold before the whole herd gets contaminated

Where are the other pics, before and after the alleged brawl? This man seems to be a regular camera man, so surely he took a series of pics, rather than a once off image..strange they aint been shown yet.

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 10/02/2012 09:28:05    1108877