New Kerry Crest

Here you go Snuff, I can't find much on the actual handshake but here's an article to give you an idea anyway.

http://www.examiner.ie/opinion/columnists/ryle-dwyer/many-old-scores-were-never-settled-in-the-kingdom-thanks-to-football-40798.html

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 25/11/2011 10:22:57    1075494

Cute_Kerry_Hoor, thanks for that,very interesting read plus it's also a good way to remind the Dubs that in 76yrs, they only managed to beat Kerry less than a handful
of times.Just joking Snuf,it beggars belief why the crest is being changed.Obviously merchandising is more important than history and symbolism.

bernard3 (Kerry) - Posts: 106 - 25/11/2011 13:05:37    1075596

cute hoor. The general theme of the article is pretty accurate. I think where it is a bit off is that a handshake was not needed because during the Civil War Con Brosnan was in charge of the Munster section of the Free State Army and John Joe Sheehy was fighting against him in the Republican side . John Joe was on the run when Kerry were to play the Munster Final in Limerick. Con arranged a free passage both into and out of Limerick for John Joe for the match, and yet were on opposing sides again on Monday. The divide never interfered with the County team despite a number of bitter politically rivals playing together.Football helped a lot in the healing afterwards.
Cany see though the relevance of Sean Kelly though.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 25/11/2011 13:48:19    1075625

Thanks CKH,

A fond man of history I am! Books I have read from your parts 'Kerry during the civil war' and 'Kerry Landing' about the Dublin Guards at Fenit.

Interestingly, Kildare at the time had a great team due to Free State troops being trained at the Curragh Camp etc often came up against Kerry irregulars. The book relating to this from Kerry is called 'When youth was mine'!

Was down in Kilorglin about 2 years ago and seen the pier that the lads drove their carr off and some of the story was in that civil war book!....I had never known about that and like discovering the quiet local stories no matter where I go!

Even on TG4 on Thursdays they have great stories Scéalta m'B'Áth Cliath and last nights one was about Ivan Beshoff (the chipper) and that he may have taken part in Easter Week!....brilliant that TG4 finally decided to get out of the west and realised that we love the language and have our stories elsewhere in the country too!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/11/2011 13:52:00    1075627

Yes snuff. The lads were on the way to take over the trans Atlantic Radio in Valentia when took wrong turn near Killorglin. Con Keating from Cahirciveen has the park named after him. Opened in the early fifties with a Kerry v Dublin match.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 25/11/2011 14:06:17    1075637

Thats right, read all about it in the deadly lookin RIC Bks museum in Cahirsiveen.....run by a Lucan woman of course!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/11/2011 14:15:26    1075643

Japers snuff you were too close for comfort to my patch. Lucky as you may have not survived.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 25/11/2011 15:18:15    1075682

rkf,

Where is your patch?

Sure I be down in kerry often with the mot, but dont worry im not lookin to have a pint with ya!!!

There was a great storyboard about the closure of the rail line on the penninsula out to Valentia. A delegation came up from Kerry to Dail Eireann to demand a meeting with the minister for transport to complain about the closure of the rail line and as he was walking away from them he turned and said: "How did ye travel up to Dublin from Valentia today Gents?" and they answered "By car!" and he replied "Well theres your answer!" and walked off!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/11/2011 15:34:28    1075691

Well I wouldnt expect you to buy me a pint you miserable git although far cheaper down in South Kerry!. Ten miles beyond Cahirciveen. All Ireland Junior champions 2009.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 26/11/2011 20:39:42    1076131

should never chance your crest

Derry_Hurler (Derry) - Posts: 8 - 28/11/2011 11:26:12    1076578

Here's a link to what looks like the new jersey for 2012 with the new crest.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/2011/1118/1224307765309_1.jpg?ts=1322422158

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 28/11/2011 12:28:13    1076615

I prefer the old crest meself...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 28/11/2011 18:43:40    1076842

Dont worry lads it will always remain the same crest on HS!.....the Dubs one is still the 3 flamin towers!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/11/2011 16:06:23    1077273

They haven't even changed the crest on the official Kerry GAA website run by the County Board!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/11/2011 17:14:04    1077337

Snufalufagus

Dont worry lads it will always remain the same crest on HS!.....the Dubs one is still the 3 flamin towers!!

Are they not 3 burnt out cars? ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 29/11/2011 17:15:43    1077341

superglue,

There is a specsavers in tralee!.....visit it!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 30/11/2011 11:25:23    1077730

Snufalufagus

1077730 superglue,

There is a specsavers in tralee!.....visit it!

Result Pages: 1 2
Very good snuff...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 01/12/2011 10:33:10    1078352

Cheers Snuff but tis too far north for me

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 01/12/2011 19:40:27    1078737

This is an interesting old thread, is there anyway of accessing older threads on here admin?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/09/2017 16:40:49    2044646

Jez most if these posters no long contribute

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 10/09/2017 19:24:43    2044679