New Kerry Crest

Any opinions?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 17/11/2011 14:52:37    1070714

I think it's horrible and not a patch on the old one. The "C" also looks like the one used by a well-known lager!!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/11/2011 16:52:20    1070842

Why does it have the silver fern like new zealand rugby do. Whats the connection?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/11/2011 18:08:48    1070942

It is terrible looking but the symbols have a meaning for Kerry since Sept 18th 2011

1. The 'Matterhorn' represents the size of the task and mountain kerry now have to climb to get back anywhere near the top again!
2. The 'Viking Longboat' is taken from the Dublin crest and represents the mastery the Capitalsmen have over Kerry lads!
3. The 'NZ silver fern' represents the rugby tackles that kerry resort to when Dublin lads are on for goal (like sheehan in the final etc)!
4. The 'Deer' represents a throw back to the old days when kerry were once masters of the territory of Croker but the new young 'Stag' has now toppled the old Cheiftan!
5. The 'bird' flying represents how kerry mots must rise high and look beyond the county to find themselves a nice Dublin lad if they want to be happy in life!

Not as nice as the old crest but times have changed for kerry and they have done well to represent the county with this crest...so well done!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/11/2011 21:41:25    1071112

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

Why does it have the silver fern like new zealand rugby do. Whats the connection?

There's heaps of the stuff down here.
A lot of it would have been imported from NZ a couple of hundred years ago so it's common to the county.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/11/2011 09:33:27    1071196

There's heaps of the stuff down here.
A lot of it would have been imported from NZ a couple of hundred years ago so it's common to the county.

---------------------------------------------------
Oh dear!!!....This is so funny I am actually in shock and stunned as opposed to laughing!!

....Please tell us the story of the maori boatmen who sailed 12000 miles in their canoe to trade that most valuable commodity of 'fern' with the monks on the skelligs in return for the bales of shamrock that we gave them to bring back!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 10:15:18    1071214

Snuff. I though a man of your knowledge would have known that ships that brought passengers and convicts to the southern hemisphere didn't come back empty.
Someone must have had a brainwave when the were heading back with an empty ships to fill it with goods.
These days people use words like 'import' and 'export' to describe such goings on.
It's simple yet brilliant

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/11/2011 10:59:37    1071249

superglue,

I admire your attempt to save face but your only making thing look worse for yourself!!

1. Ships bound for the southern hemisphere didnt leave from Kerry!
2. Ships returning from the southern hemisphere didnt return to Kerry!
3. Ferns are not and never were an internationally traded commodity!
4. Ships returning from the southern hemisphere brought their loads from SE Asia.
5. Fern is found all over the world and is not confined to NZ (just because it is their emblem) and you will find that the species of fern that is most common in this country is actually refered to by us all as 'BRACKEN'!!!!!

Bringing a ship full of Bracken to County Kerry from the other side of the world is as useless and exercise as bringing a ship load of ice to Antartica!!

.....please feel free though to tell me who bought this bracken when it was landed at fenit and what the purchaser then did with it!!....I can twait to increase my knowledge in this area!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 11:34:50    1071275

1. I didn't say they did.
2. I didn't say they did
3. The import of exotic plants including ferns was very common in Victorian times
4. And Australasia
5. I know. They even named a show after it.

The 19th Knight of Kerry and the Blennerhassets to name two.
They did this with it

http://www.gardenlovers.ie/glanleam_house_and_subtropical_garden_.garden.7122.html

http://www.kellsgardens.ie/

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/11/2011 12:16:10    1071306

Superglue,

Well done, but having the fern on the crest is more to do with the native common 'BRACKEN' found all over the country rather than any historical imports to a rich guys garden in Kerry!!

Surely the likes of Gallarus Oratory would have been better!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 16:15:06    1071527

Tis more a general rep of Kerry flora.

I like your story about the Maoris coming to Kerry.
I'm sure there's a few quid to be made out of that somehow.
There's a lifetime pass for you if I ever setup a theme park.
Better make a start on my grant application before someone else does

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/11/2011 16:38:20    1071562

Lads,

I see there is more drama about the new crest there!

It is an awful shame indeed about it because yer normal crest is very beautiful indeed. The latest one lacks the colour, depth and vividness of the old one!

I was furious when Dublin changed from the '3 Flamin Towers' (not castles), probably the most recognisable crest in the GAA to the current single tower with viking longboat, book of St. Tamlacht and the Fingal raven!

All to do with image rights and all that as many teams from all sports use the 'old' crest: Lansdowne RFC, Kings Hospital School, City Council, Dublin Fire Brigade, St. Judes GAA, and many more!!

Ahh well!.....the times that are in it I suppose!!

Actually, I just thought, back in the great Kerry team days ye used to simply use the CLG crest, worn by Paudi and the lads, so the question is: When did kerry start wearing the one they wear now and was it invented for the GAA or was it out beforehand!.....(some counties use their 'county council' crest)!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/11/2011 11:19:05    1074865

Snuff, I think you're think of Centenary year when Kerry had the CLG crest on the right and the old, old crest on the left.
The last one came in around 88/89 I think. I always though it was for copyright reasons that they did it back then.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/11/2011 14:08:36    1075001

You're right superglue, twas around 88/89 when the old one was introduced. What bugs me most about the new one is that there is no connection with the GAA in it. It looks like a car tax/insurance disc!!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/11/2011 14:42:15    1075028

superglue,
what was the old old crest on the left like?....always thought it was the oul 'g' for guaranteed Irish!

ckh,
Seriously, thanks for the reminder about my car tax!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/11/2011 15:10:21    1075049

Anytime Snuff!!! The old crest that was used in 1984 was gold, with the image of a football, two crossed camáns and I think a hound in the centre, with a gold crown at the top.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/11/2011 15:26:33    1075064

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Anytime Snuff!!! The old crest that was used in 1984 was gold, with the image of a football, two crossed camáns and I think a hound in the centre, with a gold crown at the top.

That's the one. I think a lot of people gave out when the 88/89 one came out.

I think the non sport reference besides the Celtic Cross on the sail was a good idea.

Best idea I heard was using the Sheehy/Brosnan handshake in the design. It would have been a very powerful symbol.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/11/2011 16:07:32    1075108

Yea an image of that handshake would have been very powerful, afterall, it was football that helped heal alot of wounds after the Civil War in Kerry...........pity this wasn't put to the Kerry GAA public back in April when the change was first announced.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/11/2011 16:40:47    1075156

Lads, I've tried to get the crest a bit to settle in my own mind but no, hate it even more, it's so plastic and cheap looking, the old one had style and class and was very pleasing on the eye, something tribal and proud about it, if ye get my meaning, bit like your family coat of arms, history and pride etc. Again I do not see the need to "merchandise" the crest. Surely the GAA can make enough money on the prices they charge into games and all level. But back to the new crest again why do the public not have a say in the design does the gaa not pride itself in "community involvement" Best suggestion I have heard is Superglue with the incorporation of the Brosnan/Sheehy handshake, now that's real history and typifies everything that Kerry GAA stands for.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 24/11/2011 19:37:41    1075304

Ah Jeez lads, tell us more about this Brosnan/Sheehy handshake!!....post a link/pic!!....Ye know Ol Snuffy loves the history stuff!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/11/2011 09:17:36    1075461