Slán Patrique.....R.I.P.

I've been away for a few days and just found out. I am stunned, I knew Pat had been unwell but didn't realise how seriously until this appeared. We have lost a great Irishman and Gael who made us all think and question our own beliefs, bias and selfish thinking. He pulled me up on quite a few occasions but I never felt chastined, annoyed or offended because he said it in such a way that made me think about what I had just posted. Pat if you can still hear me remember that many of us and this site are far better for having known you. So long friend, may you rest in peace!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 16/10/2011 21:41:49    1053079

Not been on here for a while. Just saw this. Condolences to any friends or family who may be reading the thread.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 17/10/2011 08:20:56    1053105

Who knows who's next?

RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 17/10/2011 08:24:29    1053107

Unbelievable news. Just, tragic. What a legend. RIP Pat, RIP.
God Bless You and yours.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/10/2011 09:36:37    1053120

RIP my friend.... one of the better posters on here and seemed like quite the character. His baiting of Man Utd fans was brilliant!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 17/10/2011 09:58:12    1053130

Very sad news. My condolences to his family & friends.

RIP

Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 17/10/2011 10:01:38    1053133

Holy God. Iv been away for the past while and have only dropped in now and again. When I read this late Sunday night it knocked the wind out of me. I never met the man, nor did I ever have a long meaningful debate with the man. In fact when he talked of his age or his achievements I mostly thought he was winding everyone up,and not everything he was saying was true. However, 99% of the time I agreed with him. Iv lost count of how many messages I wrote agreeing with him - "He's right lads" was my favorite. I learned a lot from a man behind a computer screen, but the thing about it was..... He never HID his identity!! He did all his posts under his own name and I presume everyone in Antrim if not Ulster knew who he was.
Rest In Peace old chap.You will be sorely missed by this ABU
Blue Moon Rising etc etc,
Rhodejim

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 17/10/2011 10:35:47    1053160

May he RIP.

Genuinely sorry to hear of his passing, shocked to tell you the truth.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 17/10/2011 11:18:39    1053206

There was no better fella to rufle a hornets nest. Always a good debater.
May he rest in peace

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 17/10/2011 12:40:54    1053278

RIP Pat.

When he wanted to be, one of the most intelligent posters on here.
When he wanted to be, one of the best at winding others up (and despite admitting to it, he'd still get people's back's up time and time again).

A loss to HS, (a loss to numerous other boards), a loss to Antim GAA, and I'm sure a huge loss to his family and friends.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 17/10/2011 12:53:05    1053292

Sad news.

He always had a soft spot for the cats. And was a great poster on here. One of the very knowledgeable hurling heads. A sad loss to the forum.

RIP.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 17/10/2011 13:35:46    1053345

RIP - very sad.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 17/10/2011 14:38:57    1053424

theres not much more to say that hasnt already been said...R.I.P

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 17/10/2011 14:56:13    1053439

rip patrique

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/10/2011 15:21:26    1053470

Just returned from laying our brother to rest. Amazing to see the diversity of those at his funeral and how many lives he touched. Near sure I heard an oul snigger when he came past me and the wind whistled blue moon. Eternal rest grant on to him O Lord.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 17/10/2011 16:24:46    1053523

Patrique was an articulate,knowledgeable and witty poster ,I will miss his posts from this site.RIP Patrique.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 18/10/2011 16:32:37    1054181

Sad news... Rest in Peace....

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 18/10/2011 17:29:28    1054237

Was looking up data on Paddy and saw he was also a regular contributor to a forum on trad. music, going from the comments I think he might have been calling himself bodhranbliss on that one. They also have an appreciation thread going and the comments and remarks are a mirror image of what posters have been saying here. They seem to have picked up and commented on this Hoganstand thread and a poster there said he was going to ensure that all comments were passed on to Paddy's family.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 18/10/2011 17:30:23    1054240

May He Rest In Peace

danpaddyandy (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 18/10/2011 17:50:07    1054257

Sad News wasnt on here myself in a while but a good poster & will be missed but not forgotton.

There would have been mighty craic here with him if his beloved Saffron had won the Liam McCarthy!! I can just picture some of the stuff he'd say what a legend.

May he RIP & my condolences to his family.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 18/10/2011 18:16:45    1054285